We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honwymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Honwymoon”
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Chaa Creek was excellent to say the least. The staff was great as was nearly everything else there. My only complaint of the entire time would be the cost of the tours. The tours are extrememly expensive compared to going to the cith to schedule them I was also on the All inclusive plan with 2 and 1/2 day trips that were supposed to be apart of it. When I checked out I was told that only meant transportation to the tours so needless to say I was somewhat surprised when I saw the bill. Other than that one problem everything else was great. I was told by the staff that they are going to build a pool in September I really hope they don't b/c it take away from the beauty of Chaa Creek

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Surprise Bill
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    141
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
413
508
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This Eco Lodge is Heaven. From the rooms to the service, everything is top notch. We arrived at the airport to find our driver ready to take us to the resort. Upon arrival we were over taken by the beauty of the property and our room!!!!!!! One of the Tree Top Suites (the rooms aren't in the trees - these rooms are on the steep river bank therefore one end is level with the ground and the balcony ,due to the steep decline, gives the sense of being in the trees) was stunning. We felt like Mayan Gods! The screens allowed all the wonderful sounds of the rainforest to enter the room. We enjoyed filling up the jacuzzi tub on the balcony at night and listening to the rain forest and the river below.
If total relaxation is your goal and escape from all the noise and bustle, this is your place.
Also, we did the all inclusive. This worked out for us. We only missed one meal as we decided to join some other guests and venture into San Ignacio for dinner one evening.
Must see/do:
Tikal
Cabling through the trees
Tubing through caves

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

People obviously love Chaa Creek, which is one of the reasons we went there, though it was a tough decision whether we went to Chan Chich or Coppolaworld instead. Our agent, Journey Latin America, urged Chaa Creek on us, so we went for three nights. And I’m still wondering why we went and, indeed, why it’s there.

We drove from Tikal, Guatemala - an interesting two-hour drive and the border crossing took less than five minutes. I think Chaa Creek succeeds or fails on what you want or expect from it. We wanted three days of relaxing jungle ambience with world-class birdwatching. We did not want spa treatments, canoeing, horse-riding or strenuous hiking. So maybe we were not ideal guests. Were we alone in our disappointment? Well, all the Americans we spoke to evidently loved it. The only British couple we met couldn’t wait to leave and they had just come from Chan Chich, which they rated highly.

At first glance, Chaa Creek is lovely. The garden is surprisingly manicured for a jungle lodge, perhaps too manicured. Our room - No.8 - was excellent, spacious, soaring roof, big comfy bed, nice modern colors, large terrace with two chairs and hammocks, good bathroom, no bugs. Not a patch on Uruguay’s Four Seasons or a top-notch safari lodge but still very acceptable. The meet-and-greet staff put you in a good frame of mind.

Doubts started to creep early on, at dinner. They have a system here - only two choices of main course, no choices for starters or pudding. I hate set menus - choosing your food from a menu is a pleasure and having no choice seems only to serve the restaurant, not the customer. Clearly, they have supply limitations, but not on the lunch menu and they must have freezers. My pork chops were dry, tasteless and smothered in a brutal sauce. Coffee was terrible. Not a good start. Subsequent meals were hardly better - I’m still chewing that conch steak. Another minus point was room servicing, often as late as 3pm and leaving our wooden floors soaking wet and soapy.

Much is made here of how the place got going, how its owners, Mike and Lucy Fleming, started up as a sort of agri-commune and went slightly hesitantly into the rough-and-ready B&B business. It’s now a full-blown, $700-a day luxury resort catering principally to stressed-out execs from the States - I expect the Flemings sometimes wonder how on earth that happened. Much is made, too, of its sustainability, its eco credentials, something I am always skeptical about. They trade in making you feel good about saving the planet, that you are doing your bit just by staying there, reassured that they recycle their typed menus every day. They tell you turn your lights off and leave your towels hanging up, only for the room maid to turn all the lights on and change all your towels anyway. And of course you fly there in a big fat jet plane and arrive at the lodge in a 4x4.

During the our stay we wandered the garden, we walked down to the River Macal, we did the Macal Camp river walk and we walked right around the property. And all the time we wondered, why is this place here? In our view, the landscape was distinctly ordinary - there was no outstanding feature and, fatally, the hotel lacks any kind of sweeping view of the river (really little more than a big stream) or any view at all. There is no wow factor, nothing to stare at in wonder, and relatively few birds - for instance, we saw more species in an hour at Lake Atitlan than we did in 3 days here. There is only this rather Beverly Hills-like manicured garden. It has a spa, internet access (on the slowest computer in the world) and I even spotted a TV. It’s all far too tame, too complacent in its environmental awareness. So why don’t they provide some seats on their walks, or a viewing platform on stilts overhanging the river? And - heresy, heresy - why don’t they bite the bullet and instal a lovely swimming pool so that guests can cool off in the sweltering heat?

I regret to say this, because we are aficionados of luxury hotels, but in many ways we rather preferred Jungle Lodge at Tikal. That was fun. This was boring.

  • Liked — A nice room and terrace
  • Disliked — Boring location, over-manicured setting
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed at Chaa Creek Feb 13-16, after 4 nights at MataChica on the Surf and Turf Package. After our disappointing stay there, we were nervous as to what we would find at Chaa Creek. For all future guests, no need for nerves or anxiety, you will find whatever it is you were expecting there. Our first two nights were spent in the spa villa, the most beautiful views, outdoor hot tub, and absolute privacy, and tv and airconditioning. It was quite a hike to get to the main area of the resort, but the butterfly farm and museum are right next door to the spa villa. The spa was directly below us. Both my husband and myself treated ourselves to massages, while not the most memorable, the price is completely reasonable.
Our last night was in cottage #16, which is located next to the bar and in the main area of the resort, The room was beautiful, with a double shower inside, and a private outdoor shower as well. You could hear the bar music, but if you turned the fans way up, it drowned out the noise. And I was told they stop the music around 10 at night. We never missed the airconditioning that we had at the spa villa.
Chaa Creek has tons of activities on their grounds, wonderful tours they can book you on, or if you prefer to just seit back and relax you can do that too.
Though not a bird watcher, I did go on the early morning bird tour, and couldnt believe all the birds that i had heard previous days were actually parrots and toucans. I also went to see the blue morpho butterfly farm. It is really a science what is done there and the guide (Daniel for both the butterfly and bird watching) was excellent. I also walked to the canoe area, along the river trail. My husband and I went horseback riding. It was awesome, you stop about 1/2 way and get to see yet uncovered (and will probably remain that way) Mayan ruins. Again, the guides made it so memorable.
Off the property we went to the Belize Zoo (all native animals), Xunantunich, Chumpiate Cave. Xunantunich is very close, if you are wanting the Mayan experience but not the 10 hour day, I recommend it. We were going to go to Tikal, but not being huge history people, Xunantunich was a wonderful way to appreciate the Mayan culture without traveling far. Chumpiate cave, while close, consists of driving 8 (looong) miles down a dirt road. The cave is on private land and definitely doesnt meet any OSHA safety codes. It was like we were discovering it for the first time. It is a mile hike(up and down hill) in the jungle to reach the cave.
I thought the food at all meals (all inclusive plan) was 100x better than MataChica. They offered a huge lunch menu, while dinner consisted of your choice of beef or chicke, a fish item,or vegetarian for the main course. Each evening the menu changed. Breakfast also offered quite a few choices. I heard a couple people requesting special changes to their meals and the staff was always helpful.
There is a business area with one computer that has internet access. The grounds are completely immaculate, as are the rooms. There can be lots of hiking/walking to get around the property.
I wish we could have spent our entire time in Belize at Chaa Creek. The lodge was wonderful, the service awesome, the experience totally memorable.

  • Liked — The entire experience(service, rooms, food, tours, activities)
  • Disliked — That they have a package with MataChica. The two resorts arent even comparable.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank yecarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed at Chaa Creek for 4 nights on the Dos Cayos package (3 nights at Victoria House in San Pedro--also highly recommended; see our other review). We booked everything directly through Chaa Creek and it was very easy.

We enjoyed the hiking, mountain biking, canoeing, horseback riding, and spa. We also just loved hanging out in our hammocks with our view of the river from our cottage. In particular, the guides and staff were wonderful. Everyone, from the horseback riding guide to the bartenders and waitstaff, was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We took the day trip to Tikal, which was quite an adventure. It was beautiful and exhausting (but completely worth the trip). Our guide and driver, Armando and Daryl, made the experience unforgettable. Overall, we can't think of any criticism. Just go and have a wonderful time! We also need to give a shout out to our driver to and from the Lodge, Joe, who was the perfect introduction to this beautiful and welcoming country.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DC-TripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Chaa Creek is the definition of paradise. After the 2 hour drive from the airport, (including several miles down a dirt access road) we had no idea what to expect, but when we arrived, we realized we had found paradise. The grounds are beautiful. The cottage we stayed in was large and very tastefully decorated. The food at the restaurant was quite good and reasonably priced considering how remote we were. We even had Internet access from the on-site public wi-fi at the "business center".

We loved waking up to the sounds of the amazing birds on the property. We were a bit concerned about the bugs, but they really weren't a problem at all.

The staff was very friendly and very helpful.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — natural beauty, helpfulness, outdoor shower was amazing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potomac
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

This is the place to go for a jungle experience with pampering! The grounds are beautiful, the look is exotic but groomed. The lodges were excellent and the food was terrific. The staff was very helpful and attentive. We did excellent day trips and had delicious meals. This is a great place for four nights.

  • Liked — access to mayan ruins and caves
  • Disliked — remoteness and poor roads
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lawyerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
377 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing