We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belize Botanic Gardens

Belize Botanic Gardens
Ranked #7 of 37 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belize Botanic Gardens is a great place to spend from a few hours to the whole day! Come and take one of our guided tours through the gardens and discover some of the secrets within the plants and trees. Do you know what perfumes Chanel No5? or what tree can colour your clothes? come and find the answers. Visit our Orchid house with over 120 orchids species of Belize.
Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The variety of plants was very interesting, but the birds and turtles were just as good. We missed the blooming period, but could imagine. The trail is well marked and the plants have ID tags to help identify.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    47
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful for plant enthusiasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed an extensive tour of the grounds with Josh, who was quite knowledgeable about the garden's collections, including practical and medicinal uses by the Mayas. Though we did not see the entire property, it impressed me more as an arboretum than a garden. The Garden also offers horticultural training programs, which is a great benefit to Belize.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PegDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Belize Botanic Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Since we stayed at duPlooy's this was included in our stay. The grounds are lovely, and include some very interesting plants. It is fairly large and you can spend an hour or more wandering the grounds. This time of year there were not many flowers, but the plants were interesting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Free admission if you stay at DuPlooy's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very nice botanical garden. Some of the identification signs are faded due to the temperature and humidity environment and should be updated. Nothing was in bloom when we were there. However, it was a nice afternoon walk

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCA_DG-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent place to walk around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Attached to the duPlooys Jungle Lodge. A wonderful botanical garden which has been well maintained and looked after by the duPlooy family for many years. Great variete of fauna and flora.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Belize Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing