We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for group of 5-7 people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bella's Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for group of 5-7 people”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We rented out the whole cabin up the stairs for a group of five of us, but we could have fitted two more to make the price even better. We paid $10 US each for our own huge cabin that included a loft with two beds, two beds in main room, and private bedroom with a queen. There's roof access with a great view, a communal kitchen (and they make GREAT dinners and breakfasts you can pay to enjoy) and the staff is really really great! The woman who owns it helped us figure out renting a canoe and having an adventure up the river, and the little girl, Bella, who runs around the place is delightful. It's in a great location by lots of great restaurants. We are recommending this place very highly.

Room Tip: Up the stairs past the kitchen is a fantastic guest house with roof access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks for the great review, we are working hard to keep you returning any time your close.
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    36
    10
    14
    17
See reviews for
2
32
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hostel was a suggestion from a previous stay over at a hostel in Belize City. After discussing the venue with it's owner Bella- she said that they had just been built and established six or so years ago. The building and amenities represented this, as everything was very well kept and there was a large kitchen and dorms. In addition, the upstairs patio areas were great for just hanging out with your fellow travelers or just having a few Belikin Stouts. Definitely recommend this as a base of operations for visiting the Mayan sites in Cayo.

Room Tip: The quality of these amenities seemed to be similar, however I would ask for the upstairs dorm as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Glad to get you review, thanks for the encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed there one night. The price is very reasonable (20 Belize Dollars/10 US dollars for a dorm bed), from what I've seen around San Ignacio, it seems to be the cheapest option. The rooms are very clean, the sheets are clean and the beds are comfy. I stayed in a room with 9 bunk beds, but the room is so big (it's actually divided in two sections) and there's so much space, it doesn't feel cramped at all. There's no hot water, but it seems to be the case in every hostel/cheap guesthouse in Belize so I guess this is standard. The staff is very helpful and nice. What I liked most about the hostel is that it's about 5 mins walk from the main street with all the touristy restaurants/tour operators/bars etc. (this street is very loud with music and noises), so you can actually sleep well without hearing the music at Bella's Backpackers, whereas, most other hotels, which are located on the main street, would be less convenient because you would hear the music and noise all evening.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to see you again at Bella's Backpacker's, San Ignacio, Cayo District, or our sister property at Caye Caulker. We now now have laundry facilities for the guest and a new extended dorm going to a new garden chill out spot. in addition to the rooftop verandah chill out area where we have BBQ and star watching, you can enjoy your days at our jungle farm, with a canoe ride from downtown San Ignacio to the jungle, watching iguanas, flocks of parrots, and smelling the exotic tropical scent of the Macal River. Enjoy our private or dorms style family run accommodation. Ask for Tweety when you arrive and she can set you up with a clean, safe, a centrally located room in San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize, Central America. You Betta Belize It!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Bella's is a really well set up backpacker hostel with an excellent staff and friendly atmosphere. With a beautiful patio and comfortably seating make it a great social experience while you travel. We stayed in our own room with a big comfy bed and was and big open windows to catch the morning sunrise. While we were there it was raining and would not stop so most of the activities around the area were closed, the staff at Bella's found something for us to do every day and even drove us to the border to Guatemala for us. All around good experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prairiepancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bxl
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay, clean, cheap and relaxing. The rooftop terrace just rocks, perfect place to watch the moon rise while meeting others backpackers.
Thanks Céline and Leslie for everything.

E&R from Belgium.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vanhoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Love this place. The rooftop lounge- complete with hammocks, a canopy, and a great view- is a great place to chill out with other travelers and worth the trip alone. Quintessential backpackers haven; has everything you need, nothing you don't. Great location, walking distance to everything.

Leslie knows everyone and everything in San Ignacio, and was a phenomenal host who took care of any requests. Having him as a resource was a huge help, and I couldn't have been happier.

If I get the chance to travel through Belize again, I will definitely be stopping by. One of my favorite hostels worldwide for the ambiance and friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Bella's is only a couple of minutes walking from the bus station so there is no need in taking a taxi. The house itself is also quite nice with a really cool rooftop terrace. The staff is very nice and they even gave us their blender for making our own pina coladas. There are, however, a couple of but's:
- The downstairs dorm has only 3 lockers for 9 beds and there is a window to the kitchen area. You would need to take all your valuables with you if the lockers are taken. Also they are tiny and normal sized padlocks don't fit.
- There is one bathroom / shower for the dorm downstairs so I have no idea what it is like if it's crowded.
- Check very carefully for bedbugs. I know this is not necessarily the staff's fault as you never know who brought them in the first place. BUT the downstairs dorm was full of them when we were there and we moved upstairs (where it was fine then). Just be sure to check carefully.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie-and-Celinie, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind compliment and yes these bugs can be a nuisance but there is no need for exageration my friend we do our best to avoid situation like this and do beds inspection twice a week but as you know its a continous work because these creatures come and go with travelers...we appreciate your stay with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels...peace and love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 34 in San Ignacio
649 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lower Dover Field Station & Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#3 of 34 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Property: Bella's Backpackers
Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella's Backpackers hostel has both private w/private bath and semi private with shared bath. The dorms are a mix of semi-private connecting rooms with three to five beds per room. We have a centralized kitchen and social areas with comfy chill-out couch, hammocks, chairs, and a BBQ grill for your use. High speed wifi, nice people, communal dinners sometimes, hostel outings sometimes are offered. We have tour recommendations and courtesy bookings are possible. We are your base for your adventures while in San Ignacio with information about the rest of Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bella's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing