We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rosy is the best!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumors Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rumors Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rosy is the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Rumors Resort Hotel.

Positives:
- Our host, Rosy, was super responsive and very helpful. She even helped us organize transportation in Belize after we had left the hotel. Great service and recommendations.
- Room was spacious and tidy
- Shower and bathroom were great
- Organized tours and transit through front desk which was really convenient

Small negatives:
- The location is pretty far outside of town so you cannot walk anywhere. We knew this ahead of time, but didn't comprehend the distance until there.
- The food at the restaurant was less than ideal. If you go, order Belizian dishes (not American) as they were significantly better. Wait times for food were also pretty long, so plan accordingly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelspinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    52
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
101
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family of four recently stayed at Rumors Hotel (not really a resort) while visiting for four days in San Ignacio. The purpose of our trip was to visit the Mayan ruins nearby---the "jungle adventure" portion of our 10-day visit to Belize.
Francisco and the staff were great to work with from the very first email, to our pick-up at the Belize airport and to drop-off at San Ignacio airport.
The property is squeaky-clean and pleasant, although not a fancy "eco-resort." We appreciated how close it was to town since we had several excellent meals in town (see separate review of Ha-nah's) and to the excursions we had planned (Caracol, Tikal, ATM, Zip-lining).
There is no central "lobby" or lounge so the rainy days during our visit made staying in our hotel rooms rather cramped. That's the one suggestion I would make to the owners ---- make room in the large party/reception room for some sofas and tables.
Taxi to town was $5 USD for four, each way, which was not bad.
This property is a choice for visiting groups. While we were there a group of college students were doing community health outreach for the local town folks. We enjoyed interacting with them and getting their daily updates. That was a nice plus.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is preferred over standard, just for the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frgjms2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Francisco and Rosie were very accommodating and genuine. Francisco was very prompted in responding via email, and this is very important to start to build the rapport and trust before getting to a foreign country.

I booked one single room standard with one double bed, it only cost $50 US per night which was less than all the other comparable type hotels in San Ignacio. My room had a ceiling fan, A/C, TV, mini fridge, and free WiFi, it met my expectations for the cost of the room. The room was clean, nothing special about it, looked like an old attic storage area made into a guest room as I was told that Rumors was once a dance club. The room worked for what I needed, as I don't spend much time in a hotel room while I vacation. This was the only hotel where I forgot to take a picture of the room, probably due to the hustle and bustle of getting here from the two flights and shuttle from the airport which made for a long day of travel.

The only things I didn't like, was the extremely low water pressure for the shower, more water comes out of my kitchen sink vegetable sprayer. The other thing was an event going on, and the pounding of the base from the music in the main hall was a bit much. However I was reassured that the noise would subside by 11PM, which it did.

Here is a tip, as for full or partial A/C, just remember what season you will be in San Ignacio, as I stayed in late November at Rumors and for the time of year I didn’t “need” the A/C as the ceiling fan was enough for me during the night as during the day I was doing tours and activities.

Rumors is closer to the Guatemala border, Xunantunich and Maya Flats Airstrip than most of the other San Igancio hotels, and within reasonable distance to Cahal Pech and the Iguana Conservation Project.

It was less than $5 US cab fare to San Ignacio town. Here is a tip, always ask the driver from town back to Rumors how much, as some drivers quoted me $15 BZ and as high as $10 US, however it is easy to find a driver who will take you for $10 BZ.

I hope this review helps you out, like the previous reviews before me helped me out.

Room Tip: Read my full post for many tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to flying home from Belize City. Was the best budget-range hotel we stayed at on our trip through Belize and Guatemala. Got upgraded to a premium room at no extra charge. Rooms were very clean, new and well decorated. Had the best washroom on our trip as well. Beds were super comfortable. Management was amicable and helpful.

There was nice outdoor seating around the perimeter of the hotel. The food (breakfast and dinner, no lunch available) at the onsite restaurant was good, if a little salty. It's called a budget resort, but it's more so a hotel as there aren't really activities that you can engage in on site (but we were there during low season. I assume the bar and dance floor are put to use during other times of the year). If they installed a pool onsite, guests would be set. They also arranged airport transportation for us that was cheaper than then quotes we got from agencies in town.

Rumors is located about 5-10 minutes from town via car. We tried walking it but I wouldn't recommend as there is not much shoulder to that highway and cars zip by at high speeds, so it wasn't the pleasant country stroll we wanted. Cab rides were $10BZ one way but some drivers in town try to charge $15BZ. If you don't mind being out of town (or want to be out of town but close) Rumors is a great mid-range option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at Rumors in early December 2013. What stuck us first about our experience was how knowledgeable, open, and gracious Francisco was, the family member in this family-owned guest house who runs the business. Francisco personally picked us up from our guest house in Belize City and drove us to Rumors, in San Ignacio (about a 2 hour trip). Although of course we paid for this transport service, we really enjoyed the experience. Francisco made the ride informative, engaging and personally meaningful.

When we arrived at the hotel, we met Rosy, a staff member, who was also friendly, well-informed, and responsive during our stay. For example, Rosy arranged taxis to take us to Mayan sites and then, after our check-out, back to Belize, for a stop at the extraordinary Belize City Zoo, and on to the airport. We also were delighted that the taxi drivers were warm, knowledgeable, and completely trustworthy.

The hotel itself is like a small but vibrant retreat center. It is up on a hill, and the view toward Guatemala is lovely, lush and peaceful. The colors of the hotel's exterior walls are warm and vivid, without being loud. Our room, which included a balcony, was spacious and clean, and the AC, Internet and TV worked well. The price was very reasonable.

We also ate a couple of breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Our server, like everybody else, was friendly, and the food was good.

San Ignacio is a welcoming village (we especially liked the Farmers' Market and the Ko-Ox Hannah restaurant), and the Mayan sites surrounding it are very much worth seeing. Staying at Rumors helped us to fully appreciate our time in San Ignacio. We highly recommend it.

Glen F.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 484glenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf shores
Level Contributor
254 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here three nights in December 2013. The place is nice. The room we had had three beds in it. We only needed one but it was great to have space to put our luggae. We had a refrigerator, coffee pot, good AC, good shower, good tv, good internet, and good lighting. The place is extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. All the folks here are friendly. The price is right. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Disclaimer: I am not paid by owners or any employees of Rumors Hotel for my post.

Please don't hesitate. Just book this hotel.

Pros:
1. Great communication via email. Francisco and Rosie replies to all emails in a timely fashion. Rosie is doing most of the communicating and booking of rooms now. Both were extremely pleasant to speak with and very nice in person. Very professional and will help in whichever way possible.

2. Rumors hotel is clean, has functioning bathroom, safe in the room, television, microwave, refrigerator, and air conditioner that works. Floors were clean, bed sheets were clean, and working alarm clock.

3. Easy access into town. 5 BZE per person to travel to town which is a 5min ride by taxi. It is not noisy and you actually get some piece and quiet. Every cab driver knows where the hotel is.

4. Location is key. It is about a 10-15min drive to the Guatemala border. It is 5-10min drive to Xunantunich, 5min drive to Cahal Pech, 1hr drive from San Ignacio via tour guide to ATM caves.

5. Food was excellent. I ate breakfast there only and the food was delicious. It is moderately priced, very affordable as food in NYC are very pricey. I do recommend.

6. Hotel help calls cab, help with scheduling tour. Francisco is hoping to get his own tour business up pretty soon. I am certain it would be fantastic.

7. Offers $100 USD for 2-4 people transportation from Belize International to their hotel each way (if money is not an issue, its a reasonable deal. I am sure you can always find things cheaper, but then you will never stop looking). You can always get on a bus or rent a car.

8. Bed was comfortable. The mattress did not feel cheap. The mattress did not feel overused and abused. The springs were still very sturdy. There were no stains seen, no food, no bugs on the bed. The sheets were white.

9. Family owned, which means they want their guest to feel comfortable and come back. They take pride in their work and want to see guest satisfaction. The employees were mostly if not all family members. Everyone was very pleasant and polite. Almost all if I remembered spoke English.

Cons:
1. None

Overall, I had a very good experience. Initially I had difficulties in deciding where to stay when I was looking for hotels. San Ignancio is a good destination if you plan to visit Belize. DO NOT STAY IN BELIZE CITY. San Ignancio and Rumors Hotel offers you a prime location for destinations in Cayo district. I had some reservations at first due to the low numbers of reviews, however after speaking with Francisco, they just started this hotel business not too long ago. If they keep up, I am 100% certain it would be very difficult to schedule a stay at their place. If you are visiting Cayo district and planning on visiting some of those sites I've mentioned, including Jagur Paw for Cave tubing and ziplining, I would definitely stay at Rumors Hotel.

If I could have done it all over again or visit Belize next time, I am definitely staying there again.

Thank you Francisco and Rosie for such a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumors Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumors Resort

Property: Rumors Resort
Address: Mile 68 Western Highway | mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumors Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumors Resort Hotel is a proud Belizean family-owned and operated hotel Conveniently situated just 2 1/2 miles from San Ignacio Town. Elegantly perched on a hilltop, we offer a relatively fresh/windy ambiance with impressive panoramic views.We cater to travelers seeking a tranquil getaway from the buzz of town in an eco-retreat setting while keeping keeping you well within easy access to town's conveniences. Situated near all major attractions in the Cayo District, we're an ideal outpost for the adventure travelers seeking to experience the best of Belize's cultural, historical and eco-adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rumors Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumors Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing