We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rumors Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windy Hill Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
188
64
16
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
64
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaya tourssister companyfamily ownedcab ride from townbelize citydelicious lunchesbook toursmayan ruinscave tubing and zipliningbelizean foodroom was clean and comfortablebeautiful poolnice propertyclose to townstayed nightswater bottlesair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 275 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at Rumors in early December 2013. What stuck us first about our experience was how knowledgeable, open, and gracious Francisco was, the family member in this family-owned guest house who runs the business. Francisco personally picked us up from our guest house in Belize City and drove us to Rumors, in San Ignacio (about a 2 hour trip). Although of course we paid for this transport service, we really enjoyed the experience. Francisco made the ride informative, engaging and personally meaningful.

When we arrived at the hotel, we met Rosy, a staff member, who was also friendly, well-informed, and responsive during our stay. For example, Rosy arranged taxis to take us to Mayan sites and then, after our check-out, back to Belize, for a stop at the extraordinary Belize City Zoo, and on to the airport. We also were delighted that the taxi drivers were warm, knowledgeable, and completely trustworthy.

The hotel itself is like a small but vibrant retreat center. It is up on a hill, and the view toward Guatemala is lovely, lush and peaceful. The colors of the hotel's exterior walls are warm and vivid, without being loud. Our room, which included a balcony, was spacious and clean, and the AC, Internet and TV worked well. The price was very reasonable.

We also ate a couple of breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Our server, like everybody else, was friendly, and the food was good.

San Ignacio is a welcoming village (we especially liked the Farmers' Market and the Ko-Ox Hannah restaurant), and the Mayan sites surrounding it are very much worth seeing. Staying at Rumors helped us to fully appreciate our time in San Ignacio. We highly recommend it.

Glen F.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 484glenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here three nights in December 2013. The place is nice. The room we had had three beds in it. We only needed one but it was great to have space to put our luggae. We had a refrigerator, coffee pot, good AC, good shower, good tv, good internet, and good lighting. The place is extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. All the folks here are friendly. The price is right. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Disclaimer: I am not paid by owners or any employees of Rumors Hotel for my post.

Please don't hesitate. Just book this hotel.

Pros:
1. Great communication via email. Francisco and Rosie replies to all emails in a timely fashion. Rosie is doing most of the communicating and booking of rooms now. Both were extremely pleasant to speak with and very nice in person. Very professional and will help in whichever way possible.

2. Rumors hotel is clean, has functioning bathroom, safe in the room, television, microwave, refrigerator, and air conditioner that works. Floors were clean, bed sheets were clean, and working alarm clock.

3. Easy access into town. 5 BZE per person to travel to town which is a 5min ride by taxi. It is not noisy and you actually get some piece and quiet. Every cab driver knows where the hotel is.

4. Location is key. It is about a 10-15min drive to the Guatemala border. It is 5-10min drive to Xunantunich, 5min drive to Cahal Pech, 1hr drive from San Ignacio via tour guide to ATM caves.

5. Food was excellent. I ate breakfast there only and the food was delicious. It is moderately priced, very affordable as food in NYC are very pricey. I do recommend.

6. Hotel help calls cab, help with scheduling tour. Francisco is hoping to get his own tour business up pretty soon. I am certain it would be fantastic.

7. Offers $100 USD for 2-4 people transportation from Belize International to their hotel each way (if money is not an issue, its a reasonable deal. I am sure you can always find things cheaper, but then you will never stop looking). You can always get on a bus or rent a car.

8. Bed was comfortable. The mattress did not feel cheap. The mattress did not feel overused and abused. The springs were still very sturdy. There were no stains seen, no food, no bugs on the bed. The sheets were white.

9. Family owned, which means they want their guest to feel comfortable and come back. They take pride in their work and want to see guest satisfaction. The employees were mostly if not all family members. Everyone was very pleasant and polite. Almost all if I remembered spoke English.

Cons:
1. None

Overall, I had a very good experience. Initially I had difficulties in deciding where to stay when I was looking for hotels. San Ignancio is a good destination if you plan to visit Belize. DO NOT STAY IN BELIZE CITY. San Ignancio and Rumors Hotel offers you a prime location for destinations in Cayo district. I had some reservations at first due to the low numbers of reviews, however after speaking with Francisco, they just started this hotel business not too long ago. If they keep up, I am 100% certain it would be very difficult to schedule a stay at their place. If you are visiting Cayo district and planning on visiting some of those sites I've mentioned, including Jagur Paw for Cave tubing and ziplining, I would definitely stay at Rumors Hotel.

If I could have done it all over again or visit Belize next time, I am definitely staying there again.

Thank you Francisco and Rosie for such a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were 3 girls on this trip and this was our first stop in Belize. We stayed 3 nights. It's affordable and clean and the staff were friendly. The tours through the hotel are cheaper than the tours offered by other companies and Diego the guide is extremely knowledgeable. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. Francisco was exceptional. Tip: Xunantunich ruins is only a 10min drive. You can cab it and hire a guide once you get there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumorsmanagement, General Manager at Rumors Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will continue to offer the best service possible to our future guests as we had the pleasure of doing with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

At first, I was lured by the idea of being a bit outside of San Ignacio, in the wilderness. Perhaps I was too ambitious—there's not much to see or do at Rumors, so you're forced to take a cab into town whenever you'd like to get away. Fortunately, you can book day trips through the hotel (a third-party provider), so I was able to visit Tikal, a Mayan site in Guatemala, and a nearby cave (ATM was closed due to flooding). The staff was friendly, if a bit slow when it comes to the restaurant. Food was excellent.

The room was a triple, which was odd since it was me and just one other friend and we had booked a double. The third bed was located in a bathroom area, which was open to the rest of the room area, so don't expect any privacy when it comes to showering. The sink and toilet are also located separately. The beds were a bit too firm and they lacked any substantial bedding, only one thin blanket. Thankfully there was another blanket on the third bed, which my friend was thankful to have.

Probably would not stay here again. It felt a bit too much like a hostel, but maybe that's what you get for $75 USD per night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumorsmanagement, General Manager at Rumors Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

We regret to know of our dear guests' dissatisfaction with their reservation at our hotel and we certainly will take measures to ensure that our future guests do not have a similar experience.

As stated on our website, and we do make it known to our potential guests upon inquiry; we cater to travelers seeking a tranquil retreat away from the buzz of town, while keeping within easy access of San Ignacio Town's conveniences. Our guest made his reservation decision with full consent of this fact.

As for arranging adventure tours, we are always willing and glad to make free calls on behalf of our guests to any tour operator of their preference. We do wish to inform our future guests, however; that as of the 3rd week in December 2013, we will be launching our own tour company as part of our hotel's continually increasing line of services. Our guests will now be able to experience quality personalized tours at very competitive rates.

We are glad to know they enjoyed our restaurant's food and our staff's friendly service. We do apologize for the slow service at that time as we were in the slow season and our restaurant was a bit understaffed.

As for the room our guests chose to book, it was indeed supposed to have been a double room and I must apologize for our staff's failure to remove the extra 3/4 bed that was in the room before their arrival. We had just previously hosted a group and the extra bed had been put in to accommodate an extra person in that room. We have addressed this problem and will ensure this does not happen in the future.

As for the layout of the room's amenities, while this is something we cannot change; I would like our future guests to know that we have our rooms categorize into Standard and Premium rooms. While our standard rooms are our older rooms and did not follow a master plan, they are quite functional and have just recently been renovated. Only 2 of our Standard Double Rooms have this layout. All the rest have Restrooms/ showers with private door access. Pictures of these rooms will be posted on our website very soon to avoid this type of dissatisfaction as our guests will now be able to make a conscious decision based on the differences between these room types.

These Standard rooms are our economy rooms as our guest clearly testifies to. His choice was economy. We certainly wish he would have opted for our nicer Premium Rooms which cost a bit more but are well worth your buck for the comfort. We would have happily granted him a free upgrade if he would have approached us with his concerns.

As for our bedding, I must inform that we follow the Belize Tourism Board's new standards (1 mattress protector, 1 fitted sheet, 1 bed sheet, and 1 blanket) for all beds. I am not sure how our guest's description deviates from this fact so drastically, we have this as a standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews