We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rumors Resort
Nearby Hotels
$175
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$57
$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rock Lodge(Black Rock)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
188
64
16
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
64
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaya tourssister companyfamily ownedcab ride from townbelize citydelicious lunchesbook toursmayan ruinscave tubing and zipliningbelizean foodroom was clean and comfortablebeautiful poolnice propertyclose to townstayed nightswater bottlesair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 275 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

San Ignacio and the surrounding area is HOT. You'll likely be spending a lot of time outdoors checking out caves and ruins. You'll be incredibly happy to have a room with A/C when you get back to Rumors each day.

The location is just west of San Ignacio on the Western Highway. Any bus heading west to Benque can drop you off here, just let the driver know you plan to stop here after leaving San Ignacio.

This place is rather new and is a great value for those wanting to stay in/near San Ignacio. Beautiful, minimal, landscaping surrounds this growing facility and you can count on waking up to the sounds of numerous beautiful native birds. There are around 10 rooms on site and a restaurant available to the public and guests. The rooms are charming and well maintained.

You can arrange for a cab ride into San Ignacio when needed, which only costs $10 BZ. Cabs coming back from town are plentiful.

Rosanna cooks up delicious food in the restaurant. Rosie and Frankie, the proprietors, were extremely accommodating and helpful.

We really enjoyed our peaceful stay here and would highly recommend others visiting.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tanner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rumors sits right on top of a hill just west of San Ignatio Belize. Mayan ruins, river tours, caves exploration, Guatemala, Tikal. All are within easy reach of this place and many others in the San Ignatio area. The thing that makes this one special is it's quiet! Air conditioning is included. Francisco and Rosy are as nice and helpful as you can ever imagine. They will find what you need and all they really want in return is a good review and for you to come again! Of course we always leave a tip when the service is good and we decided that this place deserved a bigger than usual one! We stayed in two places in the town of San Ignatio and they weren't that bad but the noise was terrible in both of them. It's a real party town! Lots of tourists. The only real reason to stay in town instead of at Rumors would be if you like that kind of loud atmosphere. On the other hand, Rumors has a great ballroom and live music and a wonderful restaurant! You can get a taxi from there to anywhere you want to go and it's often cheaper to take a taxi that to take a tour! The next time we go to San Ignatio, we will be staying at Rumors that's for sure!!

Room Tip: get the deluxe room. They are fantastic and worth the few extra dollars. The standard are a little on the sparse side. But still okay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordazall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I agree with what has been said. The hotel is a great value. We were 3 and found the room to be lovely and very clean, with tiled bathroom and spacious shower. Francisco offered to put out a 3rd bed in the room so we could all sleep comfortably and it was set up when we arrived. It was great to have air-conditioning after a hot day of touring and lie back and watch something on the big screen TV. Francisco and Rosie were very caring and accommodating, calling for taxis for us and checking in about our day. We loved being just a $5 cab ride from town which made the decision to go in for dinner very easy when we wanted to. We also liked the breakfasts sitting out on the patio in the front of the hotel watching the Belizean life go by. Francisco arranged our tours and was extremely prompt in E-mail correspondance before we came.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a porch and enjoyed listening to and watching the birds in the morning and cooling off with a breeze at night.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have spent 2 nights at Rumors and were well taken care of by very attentive staff. We were upgraded from a premium single to a premium double in the new section of the hotel. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. It had a coffeemaker and refrigerator and they even provided the coffee for the pot. The view is beautiful from high on the hill. They arranged a tour to Tikal for us and since it left at 7:30 and their restaurant didn't open til 7,so they said they would have our breakfast prepared by 7 so we could eat before we left. We had the Belizean breakfast and it was very good. We also ate one dinner in the restaurant and was very pleased with it. It is a quiet place not far out of town. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

On my last trip to Belize in August 2012, we went straight to San Ignacio. After spending the first week in three different hotels, a local recommended Rumors. Since I was traveling with my daughter and a friend who was confined to a wheelchair, we drove out to see the hotel. As soon as I met Frankie and Rosie, I knew we found the right place. When we returned the next morning to check in, we found the fence had been opened to to accommodate the wheel chair and a ramp built in front of the room door. Rosie cooked most of our meals for us and each one was more delicious than the last. We even enjoyed our meals on the patio outside our rooms. From there you can see mountains in both directions and surf the internet on their free WI-FI while the breeze keeps you comfortable. Rumors tops the long list of why I love San Ignacio. Thank you folks for being there. On my next trip, I'll call ahead and make reservations and plan my trip according to Rumors' availability. Rumors is now my favorite place to start out each morning and wind down each night in Belize! It is the best value in San Ignacio with all the modern creature comforts and excellent ambiance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews