We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, and convenient to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumors Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rumors Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and convenient to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I agree with what has been said. The hotel is a great value. We were 3 and found the room to be lovely and very clean, with tiled bathroom and spacious shower. Francisco offered to put out a 3rd bed in the room so we could all sleep comfortably and it was set up when we arrived. It was great to have air-conditioning after a hot day of touring and lie back and watch something on the big screen TV. Francisco and Rosie were very caring and accommodating, calling for taxis for us and checking in about our day. We loved being just a $5 cab ride from town which made the decision to go in for dinner very easy when we wanted to. We also liked the breakfasts sitting out on the patio in the front of the hotel watching the Belizean life go by. Francisco arranged our tours and was extremely prompt in E-mail correspondance before we came.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a porch and enjoyed listening to and watching the birds in the morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    52
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
101
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have spent 2 nights at Rumors and were well taken care of by very attentive staff. We were upgraded from a premium single to a premium double in the new section of the hotel. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. It had a coffeemaker and refrigerator and they even provided the coffee for the pot. The view is beautiful from high on the hill. They arranged a tour to Tikal for us and since it left at 7:30 and their restaurant didn't open til 7,so they said they would have our breakfast prepared by 7 so we could eat before we left. We had the Belizean breakfast and it was very good. We also ate one dinner in the restaurant and was very pleased with it. It is a quiet place not far out of town. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

On my last trip to Belize in August 2012, we went straight to San Ignacio. After spending the first week in three different hotels, a local recommended Rumors. Since I was traveling with my daughter and a friend who was confined to a wheelchair, we drove out to see the hotel. As soon as I met Frankie and Rosie, I knew we found the right place. When we returned the next morning to check in, we found the fence had been opened to to accommodate the wheel chair and a ramp built in front of the room door. Rosie cooked most of our meals for us and each one was more delicious than the last. We even enjoyed our meals on the patio outside our rooms. From there you can see mountains in both directions and surf the internet on their free WI-FI while the breeze keeps you comfortable. Rumors tops the long list of why I love San Ignacio. Thank you folks for being there. On my next trip, I'll call ahead and make reservations and plan my trip according to Rumors' availability. Rumors is now my favorite place to start out each morning and wind down each night in Belize! It is the best value in San Ignacio with all the modern creature comforts and excellent ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at Rumors hotel with my father in late January. I made reservations directly through the hotel instead of the other websites. Francisco was very prompt with his replies to my e-mails, offered great rates and made reliable room recommendations. Upon our arrival at the hotel, Francisco checked us into one of their new rooms. The room was CLEAN, spacious and very comfortable (the only downside was that we found a bunch of ants by the nightstand. We had to spray the area with bug spray. After that, we had no more issues.) Once we got settled in, we spent the next two days checking out the Mayan ruins. Rumors hotel is conveniently located close to both the Xunantunich and Cahal Pech sites, and not too far from the access road that takes you to Caracol (approx. 2.5hrs each way from the access road, but WELL WORTH IT). The hotel is also very close to San Ignacio (approx. 5-8min drive), so you're away from all the busy areas but still close enough to pop into town for supper or shopping. The hotel grounds are very nice, well maintained and clean. I really enjoyed and was completely satisfied with my stay at Rumors hotel. It was well worth the price and I would recommend it to any budget-conscious travellers.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new rooms (or the newly renovated rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_My_Opinion11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rumours Hotel is a fantastic, friendly and quiet place to stay just outside San Ignacio - a great place to crash out and relax after your Sightseeing/tubing/caving/hiking/jungle bashing tour in the surrounding area!

If you're arriving in San Ignacio by local bus - DON'T get off at in the town centre - Rumours is about 2 miles out of town and brilliantly all the buses heading to Benque pass by the main gate of the hotel. Just tell the driver/ticket collector to give you a shout when you get there. Taxis can take you there from the town centre (10BZD by day, 15BZD after dark) or of course the local bus runs about every half hour for 1.50BZD (it's one bus route from Belize city to San Ignacio and through to Benque at the border)

The Hotel is run by Frankie and Rosie who take care of everything you need! They can book tours for you (seemed to be through Mayawalk tours which are one of the biggest and best in town), call for taxis, recommend restaurants and give you tips for things to do in the area.

During my stay there the hotel was very quiet with only a few rooms being used - it gets busier at weekends with locals having a weekend off and coming for a bit or R&R from Belize City and elsewhere. This suited me with peace and quiet at night and waking up to Birdsong from the Jungle in the morning!

The hotel restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner and all the dishes on the menu are hand cooked by rosie to her own recipes - which are all very, very tasty!

The room and en-suite were both very clean and modern and the room had a small kitchen area with a fridge and mini worktop. There was also a mini coffee percolator - but only instant coffee provided and tea bags provided, which I suppose could work?!

All in all I had a great time here - I had tours booked during the day and by the time I got back to town after a full day out and about I was ready for a hot shower, dinner and beers and a good sleep!

Thanks Frankie and Rosie - you are fantastic!

Room Tip: They're all good - but some have a small patio looking out over the jungle in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Maison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is a hidden gem! I stumbled upon Rumors through a link on one of the tour operator websites in town. I knew I found the right place when the hotel manager, Frankie, replied to my initial email inquiry so quickly, answered all my questions, and added so much additional helpful information and tips about San Ignacio and the area in his reply.

My biggest concern was that I was traveling alone, and because of that it was hard to book tours for just one person and I wanted to make sure that I was able to do all the Mayan tours I had my heart set on during my stay. Frankie completely put my mind at ease by offering to take care of all the tour booking on my behalf. That saved me a lot of trouble! And he did a fantastic job! Not only did he book all my tours, but he also made sure that each tour operator was top notch. I ended up getting such amazing tours and service, which I doubt I would have had I tried booked everything on my own. He listened to my requests carefully and arranged everything from taxi pickups, to a horseback ride to Xunantunich (amazing) including packing me a lunch to go, arranging a trip to Caracol, a trip to Tikal, and the ATM Cave Tour. Every single tour was incredible! Frankie also offered me rides into town whenever possible, pointed out his favorite eateries, and gave me a lot of background info on the town (since he grew up in the area), adding so many personal touches to my trip.

It felt like I was staying with old friends, rather than just staying at a hotel. And that meant a lot to me, since I was traveling alone.

The hotel is very clean and the grounds are beautifully landscaped with gorgeous tall palm trees all around, views to the mountains and jungle, and away from all the noise and traffic of downtown. The food in the restaurant/bar is also excellent. Rosy is a great cook and I enjoyed all the meals and snacks I had, especially breakfast. (get the breakfast Quesadilla) But I also recommend dining at the Running W steakhouse and Hode's Place. I had great meals there as well.

One important thing to note is that this hotel is a family run business, and they take a lot of pride in everything and it really showed. They attended to all my needs and requests immediately, whether it was an extra towel or blanket, or glasses and ice for my room. I was even able to use their laundry facilities, which is a very useful benefit after coming back from an adventure tour! I really felt like a VIP there and got service above and beyond my expectations.

At first I wanted to stay right in downtown San Ignacio, but I'm so glad I found Rumors because I ended up having a much more personalized travel experience. In addition, after a long day of hiking in the jungle and climbing Mayan pyramids, it was so nice to come back to a quiet little oasis and just relax on my balcony overlooking the lush green landscape or enjoying a drink at the on site bar and sharing my tour adventure stories with Frankie, Rosy, and other guests at the hotel. And it was only a 5 minute ride into town, so being a little out of town was never an issue, if anything it was an advantage.

They have free WiFi which was very useful, and they have future plans for a pool and possibly even a jacuzzi and an outdoor bar next year, so keep checking up on this place, because it's just gonna keep getting better! I intend to go back and see more of the area sometime soon and will most definitely be staying there. This place is an unbelievable value for the price! I highly recommend it! If anyone has any questions, don't hesitate to message me. I'm happy to share more info on my experience!

Room Tip: They are in the process of renovating all the rooms, but for now I suggest you ask for a renovated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Rumors and it was the best place we stayed at our whole vacation. It is in a great location not far from town. We rented a car so it would take us about 3 minutes to get into town. The rooms were very clean and had everything you need. I usually don't care for a tv on vacation but at times it was raining so hard we had to camp up inside for a bit and wait for the rain to pass. My boyfriend didn't seem to mind with the timing because since they have direct tv he was able to watch his football playoff games he thought he was going to miss. Fransico was great at responding to all my email inquiries before we got there and Rosie was so friendly and gracious! Dispite all the rain we had while we were there, I loved it all. I can't wait to go back and stay at Rumors again. I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumors Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumors Resort

Property: Rumors Resort
Address: Mile 68 Western Highway | mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumors Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumors Resort Hotel is a proud Belizean family-owned and operated hotel Conveniently situated just 2 1/2 miles from San Ignacio Town. Elegantly perched on a hilltop, we offer a relatively fresh/windy ambiance with impressive panoramic views.We cater to travelers seeking a tranquil getaway from the buzz of town in an eco-retreat setting while keeping keeping you well within easy access to town's conveniences. Situated near all major attractions in the Cayo District, we're an ideal outpost for the adventure travelers seeking to experience the best of Belize's cultural, historical and eco-adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rumors Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumors Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing