We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
197
74
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
74
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceshared kitchenrum tastingin towntwo bedroom apartmentchurch bellstop floorcommon kitchencommunity kitchenwalking distancehot saucewould definitely stay here againchocolate tourlaundry serviceminute walkfully equipped kitchenthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 284 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Luxury it's not, but it is a perfect gem. This was our only non-resort stop -- a one night stay as a stepping stone to Tikal in Guatemala. We chose it to have a different look at the country. The town feels out of the '50s with people and dogs wondering the streets together, cute restaurants and a friendly atmosphere. It is a walkable town that appears to be quite safe for tourists. Service is not lacking here. Being a stopover we didn't request much, but there was a clear interest in serving any need that should arise. As our ride was arriving early, we walked the town a little before dawn on the way to breakfast. Only a policeman on the corner and a few dogs out at that time. One of the few regrets on our trip was we didn't have more time here. Does have Wi-Fi and TV although you should be trying to getaway from them in this town.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different. We had Room 2 and would recommend it. Others may be better based on the makeup of your party.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Shamera, the owner was great in managing all aspects of this quaint hotel. We especially liked the large common kitchen for a few meals and gatherings. It was only a couple blocks from the bus depot so we were able to walk up the hill with our luggage and also were close to downtown. Shamera has some great ideas in running this inn, was available 24/7 and gave it a family feel. The only downside, which was no fault of the Inn and would be an issue throughout San Ignacio were the nightly dog fights, 6 am church bells and early morning garbage truck. Good luck Shamera in your business. We liked the personalized welcome note on our bed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had a great time. Shamera, the owner/manager, was lovely and so helpful, as was her husband. You could call them 24/7 and they were there to help. The hotel is in a good location, just a short walk from the main street with the tour operators/restaurants. The rooms are spacious and very clean with hot showers. We stayed in room 5 and 1. Room 5 is best. There is a communal kitchen and a bottle of water was supplied every day which was great. There is also a roof terrace which gives great views of San Ignacio from above.
I would recommend San Ignacio as a good base for arranging tours such as Caracol, Tikal, ATM caves and rainforest tours.

Room Tip: Room 5 is best-lots of space and on the top floor so close to the kitchen
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glampacker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed on three separate occasions at the rainforest whilst in Belize. The price was very reasonable, but the welcome and service provided by Shamera was second to none! We stayed in Room 1, 4 and 5 and all were very comfortable. There is a hammock on the roof terrace, and a communal kitchen

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drg28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was the first place we stayed at in Belize and Shamera set a very high standard for the rest of our trip!

We stayed in Room 4, where the bathroom is located outside the actual room. But the price reflects this minor inconvenience and consequently it is the most affordable room. There was a personalized note from Shamera when we arrived and bottled water (which was restocked daily)! We found the room to be very spacious, with a double bed, bunk bed, desk, armoire, tv and 2 fans. There was also an iron, alarm clock and cellphone that you could use to contact Shamera or buy minutes to make other calls. The bathroom was immediately adjacent to the bedroom, and you had to go into the hall to access it. Nevertheless, it was huge! There was a bathtub with only cold water and a separate shower with hot water. The communal kitchen was very clean and fully stocked. Drinking water was also available here. The terraces and other communal spaces were also a nice feature. The laundry service costs $12 BZE.

Shamera goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable. She let us quickly use her cellphone to contact our tour operator and when our wifi wasn't working in our room, without us even asking, she brought us something to make the signal stronger!

If you're on a budget, this is definitely one of the best places you will stay at in Belize.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ivona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews