We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place - good location, clean, helpful owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainforest Haven Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

An old colonial building on the top of the hill and main road in San Ignacio beautifully done up. This was one of my favourite 2 places when visiting Belize. We had a lovely, clean room with 2 big beds and an adjoining bathroom. We didn't get the shower to be very hot. The wifi worked fine. The rest of the building was also nicely done with a sitting room, a cosy kitchen with beautiful wooden furniture and big open hallways. Everything is tiled. The roof terrace is old and could probably do with some paint but many of the colonial buildings in San Ignacio are like and it makes the charm of the city. The view over the city is great.
The hotel is a bit difficult to find at first as people have stated but only because of the way cars have to drive. You can easily walk up from one of the 2 main roads in the city and it takes about 10-15 min. Shamera, the owner of the hotel, was incredibly helpful when we arranged our tours and also very nice. She was always up and around, no matter what time it was. :)
I would definitely stay here again when coming back to San Ignacio.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Rainforest Haven Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 258 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I didn't have reservations, but heard about them through Lonely Planet. The owners of the Rainforest Haven Inn are amazing! When we arrived tired and worn out, they took us in on Christmas Eve. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in Suite 5, which is very spacious and has a fantastic view of downtown San Ignacio. The communal kitchen and dining area also have the same spectacular view, and are fully equipped. The room was spotless and the two queen size beds were very comfortable. I highly recommend the Rainforest Haven Inn for anybody visiting San Ignacio or the surrounding areas!

Room Tip: Suite 5 has a fantastic view of downtown San Ignacio, plus direct access to the roof top area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A little hard to find initially but once you do you will appreciate it. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. The price was reasonable and the location is convenient to walking around town and to the shops and restaurants. The room was simple but very clean and had wifi which was a plus. I had a rental car and the owner gave me a special safe spot to park behind a metal gate. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Conveniently located, less than 5 minutes from the bus station, in a quiet street. Large rooms with simple furniture but enough if you don't look for luxury. Upstairs there is a nice and spacious living room, very sunny, with a refrigerator, coffee maker with all the components, and even a kitchen ... available to customers. But best of all is the unlimited hospitality and friendliness offer by the host Mde Shamera (even facilitated us to use the room the last day past noon). Reasonable price. Perhaps they should improve the entrance. Place to come back, no doubt.

Room Tip: Speak with Shamera. I only know one room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llampec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The owners of this inn were so friendly and accommodating. We were in a double queen room that was quite spacious. The bathroom was large, a bit worn but very clean. It's was great to have access to a common dining area and living room. Access to a traveler's kitchen was a bonus! Quaint verandas that wrap around the building with some seating. The roof top patio was a great place to hang out at night drinking beer - it could use more furniture up there, though.

Great location in walking distance to many amenities in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here in November in Room 5 and was very impressed with the place. We paid $60 a night for a very large room with two queen beds and large bathroom. Since we were the only room on the top floor, it was extra quiet, but the whole building only has 5 rooms anyways so I expect all the rooms are like that. Our room opened to a super large balcony with easy access to the roof with a great view of San Ignacio. A/C was very appreciated, and I was pleasantly surprised at the number of channels on the TV (even Food Network, what?). There is a kitchen, which is located on the same floor as Room 5, which I did not use but the refrigerator came in handy for storing Belikin.

We were about 5 minutes walking from all the restaurants and shops. The location is great for getting a feel for the local culture and people. I think especially if you are going to be gone all day on a tour like we were, this is the perfect place for you to just come back, relax, and grab some dinner. I would definitely recommend staying here.

PS: They will wash your laundry with dry and fold for $6 US. It is very worth it if you need some clothes washed.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very large and more than enough space for two travelers. Includes a bonus rocking chair to...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

It was a pleasure to host you guys. We really appreciate your kind feedback and it gives us great happiness to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in room 1. AC great, room pretty comfortable though you might start hearing roosters around 4:30a. Nice location close to town center though not so well known so be prepared for some blank looks if asking people on the street for directions.

WiFi barely works in the room. Upstairs kitchen great with bottled water to cook with or drink and free do it yourself coffee/tea. After check-in I never saw any staff again in the 3 nights that I stayed. At check in they directed me to the tour desk at Flayva's down the street for help with tours which was great though definitely not the cheapest or largest agency in town.

Room Tip: For same price they have bigger rooms with just a fan or smaller rooms with AC...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate learning our weaknesses and improving them for future guests. We really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 32 in San Ignacio
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#4 of 32 in San Ignacio
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Haven Inn

Address: 2 Victoria Street, San Ignacio 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike a new hotel with standardized rooms, the Rainforest Haven Inn in San Ignacio, Belize is an antique structure with varying room configurations. It was built as a private home and the three storage building with only seven-bedrooms has a more rustic feel. Each room is unique but aiming to make you feel at home. Rooms are equipped with air conditioned, cable TV, hot and cold bath and free WiFi. What makes us unique is that we are the only accommodation in the downtown area that offers a roof deck pool. Our guests have access to a full kitchen on the third floor which is perfect to make a quick meal, warm your food or make some coffee. We also feature a terrace that has a 360 degrees view of San Ignacio and is a lovely place to have your coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. There is also a beauty shop on the ground floor. The Rainforest Haven Inn also features daily room services for free, car rental services, and laundry services for a fee. We are about a 3-5 minute walk to restaurants, grocery shops, banks, tour agencies, bus terminal etc. Everything is very close without feeling like you are in the thick of it. Our attitude is to treat everyone as an individual and provide them with friendly and respectful service. We are passionate about making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rainforest Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Haven Inn Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing