We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainforest Haven Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in room 1. AC great, room pretty comfortable though you might start hearing roosters around 4:30a. Nice location close to town center though not so well known so be prepared for some blank looks if asking people on the street for directions.

WiFi barely works in the room. Upstairs kitchen great with bottled water to cook with or drink and free do it yourself coffee/tea. After check-in I never saw any staff again in the 3 nights that I stayed. At check in they directed me to the tour desk at Flayva's down the street for help with tours which was great though definitely not the cheapest or largest agency in town.

Room Tip: For same price they have bigger rooms with just a fan or smaller rooms with AC...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate learning our weaknesses and improving them for future guests. We really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Rainforest Haven Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 258 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Clean room, good price, awesome customer service – what else you need to make your vacation excellent. Nice place to stay. Very close to restaurants, stores and farmer market. Hotel has good kitchen and there everything what you need to cook or warm your food or just make coffee. You can cook your breakfast or dinner if you feel to. Open terrace on the top of the building where you can have your morning coffee and enjoy a city few. The hair salon located first floor of the hotel and I got very nice and not expensive haircut.
We left this hotel with excellent mood.

Room Tip: I hade a room on the top with entry to terrac. BIG room. A litte noisy, but I was a good sleep anywa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussianTurist64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

We hoped that you enjoyed the remaining of your trip in Belize. Again, thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate customers feedback so we can learn improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel in San Ignacio based on a Lonely Planet review as we wanted a good inexpensive hotel in Cayo to stage our excursions from. I base my high marks partially on how well the hotel is run by Shamera Williams. Her attention to our needs and accommodating attitude was a real win.

The hotel itself only has 5 rooms and was built as a private home. There is a kitchen up on the 3rd floor and access to the roof which was a lovely place to have coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. To keep it in perspective this is not an "American" style brand new hotel. Built as a private home, it had a more rustic feel. We really enjoyed the wrap around porch and the fact that it was located about 4-5 min walk to the main drag. Everything is very close without feeling like you are in the thick of it.
There is also a beauty shop run by Shamera's sister on the ground floor where I partook of a manicure. Additionally they run a laundry business so for about 6USD we had a substantial load done (wash, dry & fold). All in all this is a truly well run establishment delivering EXCELLENT value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sreifel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

I really enjoyed our conversations and getting to know the both of you. Thank you very much for your contributions and we are always looking for ways to improve future accommodations. I'm happy you enjoyed our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Rainforest Haven Inn was a very nice place to stay. The owners are extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms are very large and clean. Some have private bathrooms and air conditioning. The Inn is located only a few minutes walking distance from San Ignacio's restaurants and bars. It has a shared kitchen, a common living room with comfortable couches and a rooftop with breathtaking views. All in all a great place to stay and extremely good value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventur0us-N0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time our to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments and look forward to improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Looking for a beautiful home style inn... RainForest Haven Inn it is!!!... Great price, view, rooms, space... & most importantly CUSTOMER SERVICE was Ecstatic!!!... Great place for tourist!!... They have it all at the Inn... Even a hair salon & nail shop downstairs. Book your stay at RainForest Haven!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayJayKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W, Owner at Rainforest Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

As we say in Belize, muchas gracias (thank you very much) for your feedback. We were happy to host you guys and hope you visit us again when in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rainforest Haven was our favorite place we stayed during our time in Belize. The location was perfect, the room was very nice, the price was more than reasonable, and Shamera made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

It's located just up the hill in San Ignacio, so it's easy to walk down to the main drag, but it's nice and quiet for sleeping. We especially liked being able to use the full kitchen on the top floor, as well as the balcony that overlooks the town. Sitting on the rooftop with a cold beer and looking down at the city was a great way to end an adventurous day.

Room Tip: We loved Room 5. It's the only room on the top floor, so there was a great breeze. It also had e...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kms789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location & Good value for Money! owners are very helpful & can assist you with laundry service, Vehicle rental haircuts & cell tel. setup. They assisted me with all of this. Location is also quite near to town but not right on top of it. I'd book here again, great couple and personable too.

Room Tip: I stayed in the cabana across the street however the main house units looked good too! They have a f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0renz0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
818 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 32 in San Ignacio
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#4 of 32 in San Ignacio
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Haven Inn

Address: 2 Victoria Street, San Ignacio 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike a new hotel with standardized rooms, the Rainforest Haven Inn in San Ignacio, Belize is an antique structure with varying room configurations. It was built as a private home and the three storage building with only seven-bedrooms has a more rustic feel. Each room is unique but aiming to make you feel at home. Rooms are equipped with air conditioned, cable TV, hot and cold bath and free WiFi. What makes us unique is that we are the only accommodation in the downtown area that offers a roof deck pool. Our guests have access to a full kitchen on the third floor which is perfect to make a quick meal, warm your food or make some coffee. We also feature a terrace that has a 360 degrees view of San Ignacio and is a lovely place to have your coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. There is also a beauty shop on the ground floor. The Rainforest Haven Inn also features daily room services for free, car rental services, and laundry services for a fee. We are about a 3-5 minute walk to restaurants, grocery shops, banks, tour agencies, bus terminal etc. Everything is very close without feeling like you are in the thick of it. Our attitude is to treat everyone as an individual and provide them with friendly and respectful service. We are passionate about making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Haven Inn Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing