We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ride, great guide”
Review of Hanna Stables

Hanna Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hanna Stables offers horseback riding, adventure tourism and eco-farm stay for travelers of all ages and abilities in the San Ignacio, Belize area. One of the country's oldest horseback riding establishments, Hanna Stables is currently operated by Santiago Juan.Located not far from Hanna Stables is Nabitunich (The Stone Cottages), a 400 acre spread of land which has been in the Juan family for four generations. Nabitunich has 20 rooms available for accommodations for travelers in Belize and is open to eco-farm stays as well.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had already been to several Mayan ruins (which is not to understate that Xunantinich is an amazing site), so were really more interested in a chance to see the countryside. We were not disappointed, but the best part is Santiago who is a great ambassador for San Ignacio and the country of Belize. If you are worried that this will be a dusty trail ride with a dozen other tourists on a sad old nag, rest assured. Our ride was small (just the 2 of us and Santiago), leisurely, personal and on well cared for horses.

Thank KBF E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spratt504, Public Relations Manager at Hanna Stables, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great Trip Advisor review! We hope you had an enjoyable time and return again soon for another ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horseback ride"
in 37 reviews
"mopan river"
in 18 reviews
"hand cranked ferry"
in 14 reviews
"clarissa falls"
in 8 reviews
"great ride"
in 11 reviews
"xunantunich ruins"
in 15 reviews
"own horse"
in 4 reviews
"an experienced rider"
in 4 reviews
"well taken care"
in 11 reviews
"skill level"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful ranch"
in 3 reviews
"howler monkeys"
in 11 reviews
"local village"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this experience"
in 3 reviews
"hour ride"
in 4 reviews
"archaeological site"
in 3 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 5 reviews
Filter

187 - 191 of 241 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned home from our second visit to Hanna Stables. After last year's overwhelmingly awesome trip, (my wife actually tears-up when we reminisce ) we were ready for our second experience at Hanna Stables to be less engaging. We were wrong. Santioga once again wowed us with great horses, great staff, unbelievable scenery and an equally awesome lunch. Beyond the tangibles, Santiago himself is an excellent host and conversationalist. He is intelligent and passionate about his work which is reflected in his commitment to be a good steward of the land.

We are already planning our next trip to Hanna Stables. This is a MUST trip while in Belize.

Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spratt504, Public Relations Manager at Hanna Stables, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

SO very good to see you again, Rob! Thank you so much for your return visit and definitely make sure you come back for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you have one day in Cayo take an early morning or a sunset ride with Hannah Stables. I can't say enough about the horses, the staff and the scenery. This is not a typical tourist trip. Beyond amazing views riding across farmland, jungle, along the Mopan River, to the ruins and through great openspaces, you will view spectacular wildlife and learn about the local culture from a very knowledable Santiago. If you love learning, the outdoors and horses there is but one place in Cayo - Hannah Stables. If you stay at the stone cottages on the Juan families working farm, you will find you do not want to go home or anywhere else. The cottages are nestled between grassland for cattle, the jungles surrounding Xunantinch (which you can see from the grounds) and the Mopan River. I came for 3 days and stayed over 10.

Thank Carolinegeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spratt504, Public Relations Manager at Hanna Stables, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for writing the kind review, Caroline. Very happy you were able to visit and get a taste of local culture and our lovely farm. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent horses, wonderful guides, outstanding trails . . . tops in my book for riding adventures and awesome historical trails to Xunantinich and along the Mopan River. Mr Guy takes excellent care of the horses and may let you ride Sky King, the only Mustang in Belize and Malakai, an Arab friend of Bedouin, Santiago's most excellent Arabian.

Thank MixChelCamalote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spratt504, Public Relations Manager at Hanna Stables, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! Very happy that you interacted with Mr. Guy and our most excellent Sky King :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Whether you are a experianced rider or not, this is a visit you must make. I had not been on a horse in over 15 yrs. My ride for the day was a very sweet gentle horse named Zack.... Do not miss the chance to see the beauty of the backwoods of this country and the chance to explore Xunantunich Maya Temples.

Thank PatriciaBurford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spratt504, Public Relations Manager at Hanna Stables, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for the review, Patricia! We are glad that you had a chance to bond with Zack and experience the Mayan temples. See you soon, hopefully!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanna Stables also viewed

 

Been to Hanna Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing