We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but informative museum”

Chaa Creek Natural History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Macal River Canoeing and Rainforest Medicinal Trail
Ranked #17 of 38 things to do in San Ignacio
Attraction details
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Small, but informative museum”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I were staying at Chaa Creek and decided to take the free tour offered to the Natural History Museum and the Butterfly Farm. According to the Chaa Creek website, the tour is $5/person for people who aren't staying at Chaa Creek. The guide was very informative and answered all questions that we had. The butterfly farm and the museum are located next to each other. The museum is split in half. Half covers Mayan history and the other half covers natural history. There was a lot of information about the native animals and conservation projects. The Mayan section had a display of a traditional Mayan home and info about the Mayan ruins in the area.

The butterfly farm had screened in building that contained the adult butterflies. There were only a few at the time we visited. There were also enclosures that had the pupae and larvae. The morpho butterflies are beautiful. I wished that we could have seen some in the wild!

Overall a nice visit with a good guide. We definitely recommend visiting if you are staying at Chaa Creek. However, I wouldn't drive all the way from San Ignacio just to see the museum and butterfly farm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chaa Creek Natural History Museum”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The museum is small but packed full of information pertaining to the surrounding area. The naturalist who gave us a lecture was knowledgeable and was encouraging of questions. The only reason that I didn't give this five stars is that the butterfly farm is in the middle of re-populating the butterflies (blue morphos). We were able to see and learn about the whole life cycle (from eggs to butterfly), but there were only two blue morphos rather than a large cluster of them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Morph Butterfly”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Having a guide show and explain the life cycle of the butterfly. The natural history maps were very informative.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelor432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Lovely area with beautiful landscaping and many interesting activities and cultural exhibits. So much to learn about the history of this area in BZ!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“All the nature you'd want - and a luxury ecoresort too!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Chaa Creek is a short drive from the heart of San Ignacio (if you're visiting Belize and plan to rent a car, make it an all-wheel drive as most roads range from marginal to bad). We checked out the Medicine trail with plants used by Mayan medicine men and then toured the butterfly display. All very interesting and as a reward for our strenuous activity we had a wonderful lunch at the resort restaurant by the pool. Excellent Mojitos!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank schmidbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaa Creek Natural History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chaa Creek Natural History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing