We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're in great hands with Destiny Tours!”

Explore Inland Tours
Ranked #10 of 32 Tours in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us at Destiny Tours help guide you through the amazing Mayan world. Let our professional and certified guides help you walk in the foot of the Maya and learn their culture, religion and much more. Our aim is to give our guests the best and most comfortable experience in Belize.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You're in great hands with Destiny Tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you want to relax and enjoy your trip to the mainland in Belize you head right to Destiny tours. You have many tour companies to choose from but if you don't like wasting time then head right to them. Located in Flayva's in San Ignacio, Sergio takes care of all your needs. He is a great person who makes you feel comfortable when making decisions. After doing research before i got to Belize, i found their prices to be very good. While at first speculative since you never know what you will get, the experience over the next 3 days far exceeded my expectations. We did the ATM tour the first day (a must do), Tikal the second and cave tubing/zip lining the last day. They were also nice enough to take us to the boats on the last day, making sure we got over to Ambergris Caye. All of the tour guides on each tour were great and very knowledgable. Transportation was great all considered with some of the rough roads. You receive lunch each day, stopping at a great little place in Guatemala and then again at the cave tubbing place. Sergio Jr. took us out on two of the days and did a great job. He is very enthusiastic and enjoys adding his own personal touch.

Sergio/Serio Jr. we thoroughly enjoyed our 3-4 days we spent with your tour company. You made our trip very relaxing by planning everything, always being on time and making us feel like we were part of the family. Anyone that heads to Belize will be sent in your direction. We look forward to coming back ourselves sometime in the near future. The experiences make you really enjoy your vacation but its the people that make you want to come back! Thanks again for everything!

Bryan and Karen

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    11
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Destiny Tour takes care of you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our first night in San Ignacio we dined at Flayva's. Sergio warmly greeted us and asked if we were interested in any tours. We knew we wanted to go to Tikal and ATM. Sergio provided us with fair prices and no pressure to book. We got a few quotes from other Tour companies, but decided to go with Destiny Tours.
First trip was Tikal. It had an earlier than usual start at 6:30a to avoid the crowding at the border. Sergio Jr. picked us up and we breezed right into Guatemala where we met our Guatemala driver, Anastasio. They were both informative and fun to ride along with. We stopped for breakfast at a little eatery to fuel up and hope for the rain to pass. The restaurant had the best tortillas ever!! We then picked up our Tikal guide, Miguel. Miguel took us through the site while the drivers waited with the vehicle. Miguel was an excellent guide. I highly recommend him! He was very knowledgeable about the Mayan history and all the wildlife/birds. Tikal is an amazing site, you have to check it out if you get the chance.
If you want a real adventure, take a tour of ATM. We also used Destiny tours. Danny picked us up and was our guide. The vehicle was a little rickety, especially 30 minutes down an unpaved road. I prayed that we didn't break down, luckily we didn't. We had a small group of 3 which made is much better to all stay together as it is quite rigorous. Danny provided a lot of humor throughout the tour, I would've preferred a guide with more educational commentary as opposed to humor. To each his own. He got us through it safely and I loved every minute of it. We ate lunch back at the van. Lunch of rice, beans and chicken followed. I opted to not eat the chicken and mayo based salad due to them not being kept too cold in the cooler. But the rice, beans and fruit nourished after a rigorous adventure. They also were sure to cater to my dietary needs since I can't eat gluten.
We also had Sergio book flights for us to get to San Pedro, just the night before. Sergio Jr. picked us up early and took us to the airport too. They really took care of us along the entire way to make it easier on us.
Beware that there is a 3.5% fee for using your credit card to book the trip that was not disclosed until after the excursion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cave tubing was cool! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We did a private tour: cave tubing. Just us and the tour guide (the sun of the owner). It was cool, he showed us all kinds of things during the hike, was patient and took care that we had a great time.
Only thing to improve is the lunch. It was a simple sandwich with some fruit and a soft drink. We were still hungry after that.

Helpful?
Thank Hielwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfork, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Destiny Tours is the only tour company we use.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our third year returning to Belize and each year has been better than the last. We have the best vacation memories one could dream of and we have Sergio to thank for most of it! We arrange all of our travel and tours through Destiny Tours and always have so much fun. Sergio is an avid bird watcher and is quick to pick out birds by their song and has a lot of fun and exciting knowledge to share about history, plants, food...very easy and fun to hang out with. We've been on a few different tours, with different guides booked through Destiny Tours and each one is fun and relaxing - like hanging out with friends. We go to Belize to take it easy and Sergio and his people really make it memorable every time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 15nane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We ran into Sergio when we were checking out options for a free day. He gave us many options without being pushy and we ended up going zip-lining. He arranged the whole thing - loved our driver Manny (sp?) - learned so much from him during the drive. Destiny also transported us to the San Pedro water taxi the next day with the same awesome driver Manny. Good choice - let Sergio arrange the details and sit back and enjoy!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jallen1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Inland Tours also viewed

 

Been to Explore Inland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing