We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Max made our vacations fantastic and un-belizeable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maximum Adventure Tours

Maximum Adventure Tours
Ranked #11 of 31 Tours in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maximum Adventure Tours takes trips to Belize's best and most exciting spots. Caves, Ruins and Rivers we do it all.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Max made our vacations fantastic and un-belizeable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I met Max just because of that day was our lucky day. We booked Caracol and our guide (Johnny) was a outstanding guide, he walked us through all Caracol ruins explaining a lot of architecture, and history . Also, we stopped at the Rio Frio Cave and the Black Ridge Pool. Then, we booked another tour to ATM. Our guide was Louis and it was another exceptional tour. Louis is very funny and knows a lot! Belizean people is extremely friendly and Max, Johny, Douglas, and Louis are not the exception. We definitively recommend Max and if we come back to San Ignacio (hope to come back soon), Max and his crew will be our first option.
Regards!
Federico and Sylvia.
St. Louis, MO

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Federico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    18
    3
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Max is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We toured ATM cave through Max Tours. Our tour guide,Louis was above and beyond what we could have ever expected! Our tour began as soon as we got into the van. He shared his knowledge with us during the entire trip. If you are in nearby, Maximum Tours is THE tour company to use!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful ATM Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose to go with Max as tour operator for ATM mostly because we were tired and didn't have the energy to shop around, but it turned out to be a great choice. However, that was mostly because they guy who actually took us around was great, and it's not clear that he works for Max everyday (unfortunately we didn't get his name but he has a big belly and is in his mid 40s). There are only 22 guides certified to take tourists around ATM and I think they may be employed by all the operators. In any event, the tour rocked! It's amazing to be wading through the water of the caves peering around the huge rooms inside which have tons of Mayan ruins including full skeletons. Don't wear crocs! We wore them and regretted it. I point the finger at Max for not advising us against that. You have to hike in and out to the cave, nearly and hour each way, so you want water shoes with hiking bottoms, like TVs, or sneakers you don't mind getting wet. But don't miss ATM, it's a very unique experience. We paid $95 each for the tour including transportation and lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytrails3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome guides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'd chosen Maximum Adventure Tours based solely on the reviews of other travelers staying at the same accommodations. You know you're going to have a good time when people come back from their day's adventures positively RAVING about how great it was. Their enthusiasm for the tour to ATM and for their guide was so infectious, I couldn't *not* go with Maximum Adventure Tours.

Our guide for ATM, Luis, wasn't the guide that we'd been told about, but he managed to exceed even those high expectations. Even after many, many, many years of giving tours to ATM, you could tell that Luis still loved his job and really wanted to educate and inform. (The same can't always be said for other guides who sometimes don't even try to hide their boredom and burnout.) We watched multiple other groups stream past us into the cave and then pass us again on their way out. I have no idea how they were actually getting anything out of the tour as they were just being herded through like cattle. Luis, on the other hand, really spent a lot of time with us - we were in the cave for more than three hours when some groups got less than half that.

I appreciated, also, that Luis took the site seriously as a sacred, religious place. He very politely and tactfully let people from other groups know that going into the cave without shirts on was unacceptable because it was a sacred place. I suppose it's possible that some people might be put off by this kind of thing, but I think ATM can only benefit from people like Luis.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adaptable, friendly, and all around amazing experience of cave tubing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I will give a long description of our cave tubing tour, but since I sympathize with those who want a short summary, it's at the bottom;

We did a bit of research on tour companies and left our hotel (Venus). We went to the tour company right next door and talked to Buzz and Jonny (Johnny?). We asked for their sales pitch and they threw a pretty solid one offering additional fun exploring part of the cave. We paid $75 US per person since it was just my wife and myself. We left at about 9 am the next morning to head out to the caves. After traveling for about an hour, we reached a disappointing sight. The cave tubing was a very, very touristy attraction. Not to be discouraged, we went along. Jonny picked several plants out of the jungle for us to taste which definitely added an element of adventure to what the herd of cruise ship tourists were getting. We got to the entrance and began the mind blowing cave tubing experience. The vastness of the entrance is incredible and the water was beautiful. Once we were under way, I understood why we paid a little extra. The cruise ship tours flew past us in the river as we explored the walls and ceiling of the cave. This is where it gets good. All other tours were floating along, but Jonny stopped ours. He could tell we were a bit disappointed with such a touristy experience since we tend to be much more adventurous than others. So what's a guide to do? Take us spelunking instead! We climbed up stalagmites, through rock formations, and under vast pillars. We made a very long circle around the cave and returned to a tall platform rock hanging over the river. He pointed at the water and said, "Let's jump!" So of course, now we got to add cliff jumping into our experience too. At this point, there are no other tourists on the river so we deemed it safe to resume our adventure.

In short; Our tour was exceptional only because we went with Jonny and Maximum Adventures. Jonny added a minimum of an extra hour to our tour, as well as adapting to our personalities to keep us pleased and enthralled. As he said, we were not tourists, we were his guests.

Thanks for an unforgettable adventure, Jonny!
-Adam and Crystal

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ObiWonKaTobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximum Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Maximum Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing