We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay in San Ignacio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Guest House
Ranked #9 of 29 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in San Ignacio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying at The Western Guest House in San Ignacio. It was very clean, had nice beads, hot private shower and Internet all for a really good price. You can even have use of their kitchen and cook your own meals if you prefer. There is also a washer and dryer for a fee which is nice.
It is away from noisy streets but still close enough to walk to everything. There is a store across the street, and many restaurants close by.
There is also a nice big balcony and a common area inside which are great places to relax.
Owned by really nice and helpful people.
This place is highly recommended and we would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

An expat living locally recommended the Western Guesthouse to me, and I'm so glad. It was a great introduction to Belize! My room had a comfy bed, spotlessly clean linens (towels changed daily), and an excellent shower. The WGH provides safe, chilled filtered water ad lib and a delicious cup of coffee in the morning. Guests may use the fully equipped, huge kitchen and dining area to prepare their own meals.
Wifi is available in the common area and has worked perfectly in my room. It's included in your rate. There are, as they say, "no hidden extras."
The rates are very reasonable, and they're posted.
I would come back here any time I was in Cayo.

Room Tip: All rooms are in the rear of the building and you may pay extra for AC if you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonGCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband was a little nervous about staying at the Western Guest House in San Ignacio as he prefers the anonymity of a larger hotel when we travel. He has changed his mind!! Julia and Rodolpho are the perfect hosts - they made us feel welcome right away!! The location is excellent - just a short walk to the restaurants and bars - and the rooms are quiet, clean and cozy! There is a large balcony with a swing on it where we relaxed after a long day of excursions and the common areas, kitchen and living room, are clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Western Guest House to both family and friends and anyone else interested in a great deal at a great price. Say hi to Julia and Rodolpho for us - we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Offthebeatenpath54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This really is a perfect place to stay in San Ignacio. It's a few minutes stroll from the buzzy hub of San Ignacio and yet it's very quiet and peaceful. Proprietors and staff are delightful and the bedrooms and communal area are ultra clean. If you don't want eat at the restaurants then everything you need for self-catering is here. Turn left and it's a 40 minute walk through tranquil countryside to a lovely river where you can swim or have fun wobbling across the suspension bridge. Couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alasdair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A great place, clean, tidy, good size rooms, excellent communal areas, amazing kitchen and decent location. They have a nice big balcony as well as some comfy chairs inside which are great places to relax.

Julia and Rodolfo are lovely hosts and make you feel right at home.

Highly recommended....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I concur with all the positive reviews that have been expressed. I would add that Julia and Rodolfo (P) made us feel like we were friends/family during our stay. Julia was so kind to feed us (a family of 7) leftovers from their Christmas dinner on Boxing day. Rodolfo and Julia also were kind enough to spend an afternoon with us, and drove us to the nearby town of Spanish Lookout and a local hotsauce factory that we had mentioned we were interested in seeing. They made us feel comfortable, safe and welcome. I truly felt like we were staying in one of my best friends home. No matter were you are in the world the good people you meet make the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After previous experiences with budget guesthouses in Belize, coming to the Western Guest House was just what I needed! This place is a little more pricey than other options in town, we paid about $35 USD without aircon (which you don't really need during the autumn/winter months) and it was worth every penny.

The guest house is run by a Belizean family who were so accommodating and lovely. Basically the guesthouse is their humongous home with numerous private rooms running off the hallway. There's a giant living room space followed by a dining area and the biggest, most well-stocked home kitchen I've ever seen. It was a treat to be able to cook dinner after being on the road for so many weeks without a kitchen.

The house and rooms are immaculate. You could seriously eat off the floor the place is so clean and a maid comes daily to make your bed, give you fresh towels and spruce up your room.

The location is perfect, it's maybe 100-metres walk to the "tourist" area in San Ignacio and the location felt safe though we never strayed too far after dark. The guest house itself is like fort knox with a giant security gate so we never worried about our possessions.

Lastly, I cannot reiterate how kind this family is! Rodolfo, the owner, is a great bloke who let me share his hot sauce and his wife, is such a fantastic woman. I loved hearing her stories and learning about her family and she was kind enough to cook us fry jacks on our last morning in San Ignacio so that we had a snack for our bus trip/border crossing (they were greatly appreciated halfway through our never-ending collectivo ride to Flores!

If you're looking for a little luxury without having to spend the big bucks this place is it! It's amazing how much more value you get for money when you're willing to pay an extra 5-10 bucks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Headwealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.3 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#7 of 29 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 29 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Guest House

Property: Western Guest House
Address: #54 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Guest House is a nice little hotel located at the far end of Burns Ave. The Owners live on site, so security is never an issue. They offer free WiFi, a kitchen for guest use, and fully furnished room with private bath and A/C. If you are looking for somewhere to stay and feel like you are home - this is the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Western Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing