We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Curry Dish”
Review of Serendib

Serendib
Ranked #14 of 81 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Right next to the mall and by Polly? Pizza restaurant. I am Indian and not a huge fan of Indian food -- but randomly this was the BEST SOUTH INDIAN food I have ever eaten!!
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprising Curry Dish”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

After speaking to the owner Sam who is from the US, we were anxious to try these authentic recipes that the previous restaurant owner left behind. All chicken dishes are leg and thigh only, no breasts to be had.

This is my 54th country that I have vacationed in and I have had curry of all kinds over multitudes of decades. The chicken curry here was majorly disappointing. What arrived was a healthy portion of rice as ordered, but the chicken, a leg and a thigh, sat on the side in a pool of curry sauce. The chicken was chewy, so it was fortunate that there was not a significant amount of meat on the bone.

My partner's dish, also the chicken curry was similar. We were not willing to try the restaurant a second time to see if other items were better choices.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    87
    39
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Standout Curry in San Ignacio”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our family of four stopped by Serendib for a late lunch on our last day in Belize. We loved the curry, which tasted different depending on the "meat" it was cooked in - beef, chicken or shrimp, as ordered at our table. We opted for the saffron rice, which was perfect. The curry plate contained potatoes and salad, which both complemented the curry very well. We sat at a table across from the counter, where we enjoyed a lovely cross breeze between the front door and the door to the patio, where you can also eat outside. Our server was very friendly and responsive to our questions. Overall, we felt welcome and comfortable, and the meal contributed to our memorable afternoon in San Ignacio.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venividi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Serendib is a Special Treat”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Serendib is the place to take that special someone for a lovely birthday or celebration meal... their menu is quite exotic for Belize, the place has a nice atmosphere, and the downstairs outside patio is romantically lit... just pray it doesn't rain, the patio's not covered!

Helpful?
Thank Kayo713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Curry in San Ignacio”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This small restaurant is owned by a Texan who knows food and drink. My wife loves curry and she found her dream dish. The daughter makes homemade brownies not to be missed...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank frankrothgeb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, friendly hosts, tasty food”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have visited restaurant over the past 10 years, with smaller and larger groups of people and by myself. I read the different comments and get upset about what people write: first of all the menu and the prices are absolutely the same as what they were 10 years ago, even with the new owners. I think it doesn´t state anywhere that a Sri Lankan Restaurant should have a massive variety of curries, and only curries. I have loved the curries at Serendib as well as the Belizean and American choices on the menu. The T bone steak is fantastic. The food tastes very fresh and I can tell the recipes are all ´made from scratch´. The service is like what one can expect in Belize, not too fast, but definitely very friendly. The hosts are wonderful people. I like the fact that they have not changed the interior nor the menu. The garden in the back is a lovely hang out different from any other restaurants in San Ignacio. If you come to expect a curryhouse, go to India or Britain. If you want to have a nice variety of food for a decent price, great strong drinks and friendly service go to Serendib. I can´t wait to go back there, have a curry with one of the side orders, all yumm!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yazzieyazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendib also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Serendib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing