We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile experience!”

Green Iguana Conservation Project
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel, the Project is a continuous effort that aims to conserve and look after the endangered Green Iguana species in Belize. The hatchery uses interactive exhibits and programs to help educate and create awareness among international and local visitors. Here, you are given the opportunity mingle with these wonderful reptiles and also, learn the about the incubation, hatching, rearing, and releasing process
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worthwhile experience!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very light hearted, easy and fun couple of hours that i really do reccommend. The work that they are doing to rehabilitate, educate and sustain the iguana community is very valuable. Plus, where else can you become a human jungle gym for 5,6,7 iguanas to climb on at the same time. The guide was very informative, knowledgable and passionate about his job.

The hotel is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the wild iguanas in the trees.

I really enjoyed this part of my trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeganAnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    230
    38
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Iguanas galore !!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The project is a wonderful way of keeping and restoring the iguana population, while educating the public. We got to feed and meet the creatures up close and personal. The handler allowed us each to hold the iguanas, large and small. Gomez was the star Iguana !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

the conservatory was beautiful , the guides were very knowledgeable and all those iguanas were absolutely cute. We loved it!!! If your in the area you should definitely go!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Time With The Iguanas!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This tour was perfect! Our family which included 3 teenage girls were there in the beginning of August and were delighted to find ourselves the only folks on the tour. We enjoyed getting to know all the iguanas - holding them, feeding them, petting them . One of them had a little leaf confusion and kept trying to eat my green shoelaces! We also had a bit of a "fear factor" moment when we went in the baby iguana cage and took turns holding 80 babies ALL over our bodies! Cool, but as soon as the picture was done some of us were relieved to discontinue playing our part as terrain for them. :) We also learned lots about their habitat, feeding particulars, threats and the conservation efforts taking place today. It was well worth our time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with iguanas!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel and were just THRILLED that the Iguana Conservation Project was on property. It was very easy to make reservations - tours left every hour on the hour throughout the day. The guide, Eddie, was amazing - we could tell how much he cared about the animals and their conservation. We really enjoyed getting to hang out with the juveniles, holding Gomez (the biggest iguana there), and playing with all of the little babies. At one point, I think we had 20+ baby iguanas all over our bodies! The walk up the hill to the hotel is TOTALLY worth the experience. This is a must-do while in San Ignacio!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Iguana Conservation Project also viewed

 

Been to Green Iguana Conservation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing