We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative, low-cost, and awesome”

Green Iguana Conservation Project
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel, the Project is a continuous effort that aims to conserve and look after the endangered Green Iguana species in Belize. The hatchery uses interactive exhibits and programs to help educate and create awareness among international and local visitors. Here, you are given the opportunity mingle with these wonderful reptiles and also, learn the about the incubation, hatching, rearing, and releasing process
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informative, low-cost, and awesome”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I went around 11 on a weekday, so it ended up being just me and the tour guide. He was super chill and knew exactly what he was talking about. And he is very skilled in using cameras. Had no troubles using my dSLR. Pics turned out great. Great spot to stop in at!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankieSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    227
    37
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

There were 6 in our tour group with Ernie as our guide. Not only did we see iguanas, we had the opportunity to hold one, or in my case, about 8 of them. It was a once in a lifetime experience. I highly recommend it for all ages.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome iguanas”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you get a chance spend some time at the San Ignacio resort, Iguana farm... lotsa fun and the let you hold a huge iguana named Gomez. then you go to the juvenile pen and the will put like 10-15 iguanas on you and let you take pics. very informative and fun time

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nolakerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Iguana Love”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very cool way to support this project which helps to keep up native Iguana numbers in the wild. Got to have lots of little baby iguanas crawl all over me. The guide was very nice and informative.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Eddie was our guide and his love for and knowledge about the iguanas was evident. Great for kids of all ages and lots of fun photo ops.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Iguana Conservation Project also viewed

 

Been to Green Iguana Conservation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing