We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic and Tasty Food!”
Review of Cenaida's

Cenaida's
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Authentic and Tasty Food!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently dined at Cenaida's and had amazing food. A true testament of a good restaurant is when the locals and tourists both choose to dine at this very affordable restaurant. They actually ran out of a lot of their most popular items, so I recommend dining early. There was only one person serving, bartending, and acting as cashier, so you may have to wait a little while for your drinks. I highly recommend the Stew Chicken as this is one of their staple items. Definitely would dine at Cenaida's again!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    53
    19
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Sweet Family Restsurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very fresh food
Great value
Johnny was a great waiter
Cenaida lovely
We had a group of 11 and they were able to accommodate us perfectly
Clean and quaint!
Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishmart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Authentic and safe with a fun atmosphere without all of the tourists. We loved it and my sons wanted to go back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank loveadventure78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were advised to try Cenaida's by a local and he was absolutely right. Cenaidas is just up the street from Martha's Guesthouse and restaurant. It certainly doesn't look as welcoming, at least to North American standards.
However get beyond the porch of what appears to be a wooden shack and you are in for a pleasant suprise. The restaurant is painted a lovely mustard yellow with burgundy tablecloths, plants and bromeliads decorate the lattice work wall.
The place is immaculate, service was fast, friendly and very helpful, the food is the best we have had in the 5 weeks we have been in Belize. The Belize staple... rice, beans and stewed chicken reached a new standard here and only $3 US. The special of the day "Spicy Shrimp" was indeed spicy and tasty. The citrus juice drink is very refreshing, tasty and probably even better with a shot of rum in it. We will be back!
Note that they are closed Sunday and Monday, however open every other day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I would even be so bold to say that they are worth staying a extra day for.
I just wish we had tried this place first!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YourEscapeBluePrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Grilled Shrimp!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You just gotta to try their grilled shrimp! ^_^. I loved it...They are busy but not busy to care for you appetite. Try the Belizean Rice and Beans with the grilled shrimp. Oh and orange fanta. It is DELICIOUS!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kary92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenaida's also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Cenaida's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing