We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the local food”
Review of Erva's

Erva's
Ranked #5 of 81 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery
Seymour, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved the local food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went for lunch and really enjoyed it. Authentic fresh local fare. We had some of the specials and they were wonderful. Great friendly service from a really courteous waiter. Clean restaurant and bathrooms. Definitely on my hit list for next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CT-wni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    130
    40
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pizza is Great.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The place is clean,
our waiter was one of the most courteous and efficient we've had, anywhere. The pizza took a while but was well worth the wait. The crust was very crispy, just as described, the ingredients fresh and very flavorful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belizeinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible. Refreshing to have such good food again”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Gurmo looked after us as soon as we stepped in. We found it on trip advisor and after a great, fresh, fantastic meal my boyfriend and I had to leave a review. The menu states that food will take bout 30 minutes to cook, but that's perfect if you are able to sit and enjoy a couple o beers or the signature cocktail of gurmo's ...the mosquito bite. Theyr fantastic. We were fortunate enough to hve a couple of guys start playing some music in the restaurant- not in an invasive way, it was a great ending to the meal. I'm a Brit, the boys an Oz, there was a great atmosphere of holidaying/touring people who were in need of a good place to eat. Gurma's restaurant is a must and you are treated like an old friend as soon as you arrive. Thank you Belize.
Burgers, salads, chicken in beautiful vegetable sauces, fresh seafood and so much more, google the menu on their website x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aries070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went to this restaurant once but had heard about it many times. Order the special! Whatever their special is will be delicious. I had the Chaya special (a local leaf kind of like spinach but super nutritious and high in protein for vegetarians). Hope I will get a chance to go there again. They may take their time to come to take your order (remember you are in Belize and slow down!) and the food will not come out immediately because it's all being made fresh. I ate on the porch (which is right at the edge of the street). A quintessential sliver of San Ignacio life and culture. Make sure you try this place before you leave! It's authentic Belizean cuisine yet not just your average rice and beans!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank EliasandTheGute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Its about two streets back from the main road. The service was a bit slow, typical central American service. The food was excellent! Worth the wait. As a lot of the reviews recommended we tried the Chaya and it was as good as everyone said. The hummus and eggplant pita was also very good (it was like a little sandwich). Definitely a must try!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erva's also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Erva's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing