We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome cave tour!

Orlin was an awesome tour guide! He was friendly and funny and we had great conversation the whole... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2022
Becca N
,
Sorrento Coast, Italy
Great Outfit! Family Business Run Right!

This Guide service was very personable and easy to work with. We reserved our preferred day and... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2022
houstoniantx2017
,
Houston, Texas
via mobile
Read all 149 reviews
  
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
148
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
148
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleeping giant mayan history herman's cave great conversation caving tour an excellent guide lots of fun blue hole national park belize jungle pedro xunantunich lodge bird float formations shoes hopkins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 149 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2020

My significant other & I went on the cave tubing tour at Herman's Cave with our guide, Pedro. Pedro was extremely knowledgable about Mayan history and especially their perceptions of and usage of caves... He told us about how the ancient Maya used the cave as their desperation increased along with the drought, how they believed the cave was part of the underworld, and further along on our trip, he pointed out a room above where human remains have been found and thus sacrifices were likely performed there. He also knew a lot about the geological parts of the tour- explaining how stalagmites & stalactites form, how long they take to form, why some look different than others, etc. I didn't think I would be terribly interested in that part of the tour but he made it interesting! He was very friendly and had a good sense of humor as we tubed in the cave- sometimes in the total darkness, which was a bit eerie in the best way! I really recommend this tour, it was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank invincible_summer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 15, 2020

Visited one of the Mayan Ruins in the early part of day and was capped off with cave tubing, which was beyond words. Pedro was our guide and he was friendly and knowledgeable about the Mayan history. He asked if we were interested in going further into caves, which being an adventurous person I was all about that. We ended up going an extra 100 meters through narrow passageways. We got to see where the water was coming into cave under the rocks, and when we turned out our lights and floated for about 5 minutes in darkness it was so an amazing feeling. One of the highlights of my trip. Would definitely recommend UpsideDown Tours.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Metalchick27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2020

Our family of 5 visited lovely Belize in March 2019. We split our week between the jungle and Ambergris Caye. When all was said and done, we all agreed that our private tour of Mayan ruins with Upside Down Tours was our most memorable experience. From the moment we were picked up by our tour guide, Marvin, at the Sleeping Giant Lodge until the moment we returned, everyone had a wonderful time. Marvin is a very knowledgeable local, with a special interest in Mayan history and local flora and fauna. His calm wisdom and encyclopedic knowledge combined with a genuine interest in the enjoyment of his guests made this hands down our favorite activity of the trip. We climbed to the top of a Mayan temple, explored its architecture and hidden rooms, learned the history of the Mayan people from ancient times to the impact on modern mestizo culture and sampled traditional (delicious and safely prepared) food at a locals restaurant for lunch. Marvin taught us about the circumstances of his local community and efforts to preserve the natural resources of his home country. We even got a bonus tour of a local chocolate maker’s establishment and learned about the role cacao has played over the centuries. One taste of fresh cocoa nibs and homemade chocolate prepared from scratch before our eyes completely changed our perspective on this food favorite. My high. Chill aged daughter was so inspired by the activity that she devoted much of her college application assay to what she learned from Marvin. It was truly an amazing experience. We strongly recommend Upside Down Tours in Belize.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank 677thet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

The Mayan Ruin Tour is a must see. Spending the day with our tour guide Marvin was like being back in school on a field trip. So fun! The information he shared about the Mayan History was extremely interesting. He then took us to lunch at a popular restaurant with the locals. Yummy! On the way back to the SGL, we stopped at Lamanai Chocolate and Coffee house. Thanks Marvin!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank KellieS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
upsidedowntours, Owner at Upside Down Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2020

Glad you had fun and thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2020

We booked an impromptu trip early one morning to St. Herman's Cave. Our guide (Orlin) was excellent and made for an enjoyable trip. It is an easy and interesting walk to the collapsed area of the cave with many nice cave formations along the way. We appreciated Orlin's knowledge of the plants, birds and Mayan culture.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank 173sandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews