We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading but Still Good”
Review of Super Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Reviewed July 13, 2013

When you read up on this "resort", it leads you to believe that the Super Palm Resort is a high class resort. Upon arrival, you realize it is not. During my trip there in July of 2013, my grandfather and I were the only guests there at the time. The rooms were small but adequate. The AC worked great (which was a nice change from the blazing heat and high humidity). The food in the restaurant was average. Beware thought, Belmopan the city (in my opinion) was extremely boring. You do have to travel half an hour to an hour to get anywhere remotely interesting. Overall, great service and good facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Super Palm Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although a trip with friends always turns out to be an adventure but my visit to Belmopan Belize was one i didn't imagine.We stayed for intown for three nights as we wanted to do all the inland activities before heading to San Pedro and we were pampered like royalty at Super palm Resort. The staff went above and beyond to take care of all our hearts desires. I took a massage in the open air underneath shady trees which is an experience, you have to feel for yourself, took a tour around the land (which I must say is abundant with fruit trees), the restaurant like most of the comments below is truly exquisite with “cuisines cooked to perfection” by their international chef with a specialty every night. Situated about 5 min from town it serves as a perfect area to let go and relax which I really enjoyed. I truly recommend this place for anyone coming into the Belmopan area of Belize.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our first trip to Belize and it was made wonderful by the staff and the comforts of Super Palm resort. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. The entire staff was friendly, engaging and their number one goal was to make us feel happy even so that we felt we were among family. Even our last minute changes in plans were accommodated by the staff as they endeavored to meet everyone's needs. I should say something about the room, amenities and location. The grounds are beautiful landscape with blossoming fruit trees all around, the décor of the rooms and lobby is very nice. The beds are super comfortable; the bathroom is handcrafted with beautiful rock and tile design, clean with hot & cold water, and the A/C worked great. We used wi-fi the whole time and it worked pretty well but one of our devices (an iPhone) had spotty wi-fi reception in the room depending on where you stand. Though we went touring and had a number of great experiences, my husband and I agreed that the one thing that made this vacation a stand-out was Super palm Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My stay at the Super Palm Resort was the best time of my life! I can not wait to save up enough money to go there again. Bob and Kathy became our most dearest friends on our visit. We were there prior to all these beautiful new upgrades were added. We loved our stay there and all the sightseeing trips we took the the ruins, the zoo..where I will go back to and pat that kitty Bob!!!; cave tubing and horseback riding. That is no all there was to do we just could not fit it all in!!! I doubt I will ever have another vacation so wonderful and memorable as I had at the Super Palm Resort. The staff can not be any more helpful and pleasing. To me if you did not enjoy yourself and enjoy the stay then you did not speak up and mention what was wrong with the AC or whatever Or maybe you just did not open up to the whole special experience the Super Palm offers. It is a shame you did not experience what myself and all with me enjoyed so much. But for those that want a very special time with some very very special people ....stay at the Super Palm Resort in Belmopan, Belize. Open you heart and relax to the pleasures and the beautiful loving staff and you too will enjoy your stay at the Super Palm Resort.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful but if you do not like the one you have ask if they have another....you may ge...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilrazcal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Very hard to find - has hand written signs!!
Is I'm middle of no where. Floors very dirty. Air conditioning was shorting so we slept with it off. No TV except in the reception - extremely noisy until early hours of morning. Huge issue with Internet - they couldn't figure out password. Very expensive for what u get. Don't stay here. Staff r extremely nice - the only good thing about this place. Decor is very shabby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleenrhodesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sprreviews, Owner at Super Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. We would also like to thank you for the peace of mind review. We have actually made peace with it.
We had a lot of mismatch reviews some of them have been very helpful to stimulate and excite our last renovation by the way that just finished on the February 20, 2013. However, these reviews are not true. We apologize to say, but unfortunately these individuals do not have the courage to tell it as it is. Super palm is owned by a black family, we're not just a black family, my wife and I are work-addicted, been in the hospitality industry for more than 19 years. We have started from a small family restaurant to multi-unit businesses and entrepreneurship; we have dealt with the business world from inside out. We put emphasis to that point to let the upcoming or our potential guests to know that we have worked the work and talked the talk. We assure you that we will and always will do our maximum best to make your trip a positive time in Belize whether its just couple of nights or one of our all-inclusive packages; However, we can’t change who we are, although Super Palm is in the market to sell, but until then we’ll be here to welcome you if you don’t have a problem with our ethnic background.
We would like to take the time to thank all the guests that have suggested for us to put TV in the rooms, we assure you we are working toward that and the Swimming pool which is projected to begin this mid-year. We promise to strive to make your stay pleasant, if for any big or small reason, you become unsatisfied we would treasure if you take a minute to report it to the front desk, if the AC is not cool enough, what happens sometimes the previous guest would leave the air-conditioned on auto, so we're now trying to remind guest to change the auto mode, so if your agenda is not to close Super Palm Resort, why not report that issue immediately? If nothing is done, then it is your full right to display your frustration, but that is never the case. It takes 2 minutes’ drive from the Western Highway to reach to the Coconut line where we welcome your visit along with our surrounding nature.
We guarantee the final inspection always done in/out before you check-in.
When you're here you just become part of the family, if you prefer for us to keep way, no problem, but we are always open for a chat. For any remarks, or doubt if Super Palm is right for you, please go where you can enjoy. Belize is beautiful, very diverse, very rich in natural resources, and very green that’s what you’ll find here in Super Palm Resort Belmopan Belize. Your room will be sparkling from floor and all around the bathroom. The lobby is very cozy and relaxing, the food is fresh, tasty, healthy, and expensive; you’ll enjoy our massage services along with any tour activities you choose, the birds can make you smile, the fruit trees are flourished by season, the flowers are enormous, it is retreat, remote, out of nowhere, and only 5 minutes’ drive to town, and we love it. If you’re looking for a nice quiet boutique style setting, rejuvenate, non-crowded, clean, family oriented, be pampered, and full service vacation, then choose Super Palm Resort.
Our service is impeccable, from the beginning we have been known for a neat hotel, Super Palm still strives for that neatness, and only more updated then 1 year ago.
We will make Belize enjoyable from the beginning to the end of your travel with no surprises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you’re looking for a break from the city from the regular hustle and bustle I truly recommend super palm resort. A place where you can simply relax under a shady tree and the only sounds you hear are the musical birds. My husband and I got pampered with a touch of class and for the first time in a long time we enjoyed the luxury of being left alone without the pager going off. If you’re vacationing in Belize this place is the place to be. The cuisines prepared at Arch seafood restaurant which is right on site are exquisite and served like royalty. Just on the outskirts of Belmopan coming from the airport or Belize City, you’ll find it about a block away from the Art box; which sells Belizean arts and craft a land mark cause driving at night is a little difficult to find, because there’s no street lights all along the highways like home ( USA). Then again you’ll be in Belize so enjoy the change and grab the best of it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micheal e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here in december 2012 and it was THE worst experience we have had.

We arrived and it seemed like a laidback family owned resort with nice staff. First off we wanted to go to Belize zoo and maybe do a cave tour in their package. Since we read reviews about them helping people with giving customers the best possible price, we thought it was ok. Later with the help of the internet, we found out that it was very overpriced.

Next day we wanted to go to the golf course. We asked how much it cost for them to drive us back and forth to the nearby golf course. They wanted 120 belize dollars ($60usd) one way. We thought it was ridicoulusly expensive. We asked them to call us a local taxi instead which we knew was about 30 belize ($15usd). The taxi shows up and we asked how much before getting in. He said 100 belize ($50usd) we knew straight away this was wrong and we got the price down to 40 belize ($20usd) which was also way too much. When we left the taxi driver admitted that the staff at super palm resort told him to chrage us 100 belize. We were so shocked, it was horrible. Thats when we realised that their friendliness was completey fake.
We also wanted to book a tour to Tikal Tour through them. They quoted $210usd per person. We turned it down as we thought it was a little steep. We checked the internet on prices from San Ignacio (45min drive away) and found a company with excellent reviews for ($145 usd p.p). We also managed to get the phone number of the taxi driver that drove us back from the golf course and called him, he quoted $30usd each way. So divided by 4 people it turned out to be $160 usd per person. A saving of $50usd per person. A huge saving!
When we told them our plans for doing the tour ourselves, they were not impressed and then after that they werent as friendly and warm as they were before. Things got very uncomfortable after that, especially as we were the only ones there for our 5 night stay and they happen to be there all the time in the common area when relaxing.
We are not normally fussy eaters, but the food was very overpriced for the quality and not that great.
Also on the 2nd last day we realised that we forgot that a continential breakfast was meant to be included every morning of our stay.
They had not let us know or reminded us about that. When we talked to them about getting just a refund of our coffees we brought on 2 days (altogether 4 coffees). We thought it was reasonable on their behalf as we had already spent $70usd on breakfast, which should have been free if they had not with held that information.
They refused to give us a refund (which Kathy said she was calling her supervisor, but when she went behind the curtain we couldnt hear her talking to anyone and then she told us without the supervisor permission she was not authorized to do anything. How convinent. Also for the 5 night stay we never saw a supervisor.
After a long debate we asked for bottles of water instead as compansation, which they gave. It was more the principle than anyone.

We just want to warn anyone thinking of staying here, beware of them trying to rip you off. Also if you get a good taxi driver there, get their number as it will work out to be a tonne cheaper than using Super Palm Resort's taxi service. As you are stuck in the middle of nowhere you need a taxi to get around.
Thats why we think they can get away with it, as you are stuck in the middle of nowhere with no option.

Be aware of them being very controlling and their need to know of what you are doing at all times which was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alebale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
13.8 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
818 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
21.6 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Palm Resort

Address: | Mile 46.5 Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range: $93 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Super Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Palm Resort offers a full all inclusive package service. Full body massage, tour, transportation, laundry/ironing, babysitting, free WIFI, Free Continental breakfast, free packing and only 5 minutes drive from the Capital of Belmopan.Super Palm Resort is now featuring a unique creation of hand-crafting art work in our freshly renovated rooms; their bathroom design is spectacular, unique, gorgeous and new to the hotel industry, a master work of art. A must see! Super Palm Resort is dedicated to presenting this new outstanding work of art as an active response to all the reviews by our past guests. Therefore because of all the incitement’s the administrators have been stimulated to devise a major and unique alteration to our premium rooms; a new set of hand-made styles that can only be originally found at Super Palm Resort Belmopan Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Palm Hotel
Super Palm Resort Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing