We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Combination of Adventure and Relaxation for our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2009

I did a ton of research before picking Ian's Cave Branch and we were very glad we chose it.

We got a treehouse suite because of so many reviews saying it was worth it - and it was. With the screens instead of windows, you can hear the combination of so many insects chirping at the same time. Loved falling asleep to the sounds. Actually didn't have too many mosquito bites until we went to Ambergris Caye which was weird.

The tour guides were passionate and made the adventures awesome - cave tubing/exploration was the highlight of our honeymoon, just unreal. TIkal was a great experience too but took a full day.

The Pool and Hot Tub were a great way to end each day. You can stay as late as you want & there were never too many people around. They will serve you drinks at the pool :) It really is as gorgeous as the pictures show it.

One of my favorite things: no clock in our room. Somehow we were not late to anything. It was so relaxing to have no idea what time it was. We are big coffee drinkers - their coffee in the morning is some of the best we have ever had. Most of the food was A+.

I was so glad we arranged transportation from the airport through them. Our plane was delayed by a couple hours but they were still waiting for us when we got there.

Overall an perfect experience!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emily519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 887 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

Caves Branch Jungle Lodge is an amazing place. We had read about it in PADI's Sports Diver magazine. You can look it up online for the article. This is a top of the line Jungle resort, make no mistake. We stayed in the Treetop Suite which brings you in close to the sounds of the jungle each night. The people there, Ian Anderson and his wife are permanent residents on the property, go out of their way to make your stay and your guided adventures safe and memorable. We did the Black Hole Drop, Cave tubing and Mayan ruins tour. Each was amazing in its own way. Very strenuous to be sure but very rewarding. Then you come back to your jungle home to relax in stylish comfort. We highly recommend a stay at Ian Andersons Caves Branch.

Thank jam1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We started our 10 night - 11 day honeymoon in Belize with a 4-night stay at Caves Branch.
We took full advantage of our stay with an outing each day and meals in the dinning area.
We stayed in a Treehouse Suite and the views were amazing. It was a bit of a hike to get to the room, and you definitely need to keep on a flashlight, or headlamp at night to keep a look-out for snakes... we never saw one, but it is an issue in the middle of the jungle.
We loved our bed, it was really cozy, and the outdoor shower was pretty cool.
I was surprised that we had full electricity in the room, outlets too. They also keep a water bubbler in each room to have fresh drinking water.
Day one we stopped at the Zoo on the way from the airport to the Lodge and then stopped for lunch of Rice and Beans... so yummy.
Day two we were SUPPOSED to go on the zip-line/cave tubing adventure, but apparently in the days before getting there, an angry business partner cut down the zip lines! I was really sad about this, but instead we went on a cave tubing + cave hiking adventure that was still a lot of fun.
Day Three we went to the Mayan Ruins of xunantunich - so beautiful and really worth the trek. We were going to go to a second ruin that afternoon but somebody in our group was petrified of heights and we were told that once you've seen Xunantunich, nothing else in the area compares - so instead, we went to get ice cream! se la vie?
Day Four we did the Waterfalls adventure - This was by far my favorite! it tested our physical abilities and fears but was the most memorable experience.
Then we added a "jungle night walk" onto our package because we were told that on FULL MOON - you have more chance of seeing more animals... well, about 5 minutes into our walk it started POURING and we were the only stupid animals without protection! We did get to play with a tree-frog and a large iguana, but that was about it and NOT worth the price.
Each afternoon we spent time at the pool hanging out with the other guests, reading, playing cards, etc.
I think it helps that we are a very outgoing couple - because you are constantly spending time with other travelers whether it be at the dinning area or on your adventures or at the pool during the day.
The staff was so much fun to spend time with - they all are so nice and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We realize that some of the staff really want to get to be buddy-buddy with the guests because they want to come visit and have free-lodging when they come.. smart strategy that has really worked for some of them!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherainLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed for eight days from Sept 20-28 after carefully researching destinations throughout Belize. Since I'm not much of a beach person, I really wanted somewhere that would give relaxation, adventure, and a really unique stay for me and my husband's one year anniversary. Boy, did Caves Branch deliver.

The Treehouse suite was gorgeous. If you're going for any sort of special occasion, I recommend splurging on it. Seriously, it rivalled a number of the luxury hotels I've stayed at in terms of space, construction and cleanliness (and in the middle of the jungle, that's saying something).

Another reviewer has called this summer camp for adults-- that's a really good description. Breakfast is each morning at 8am, and you eat at tables with other travelers, trading stories, chatting about your adventures, etc. Also, the food is fabulous-- everything is made fresh each day; soups from scratch, fresh bread, tons of veggies (and for any vegetarians out there, I'm an ovo-lacto vegetarian, and there was WAY too much for me to eat. Book with confidence, you will not be going hungry).

The adventures are simply incredible. We went kayaking, visited Xunantunich and Cahal Pech, did the River Cave Expedition, the Black Hole Drop and snorkeling. All the excursions we went on were great, and the guides were incredibly knowledgable.

The staff at the lodge were particularly wonderful. They answered any questions, took my shoes to be dried after they got wet (numerous times), and were there morning, noon and night for anything you needed. They really seem to care that you have a wonderful time, and it shows.

If you're looking for fun, adventure and something different, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The folks at Caves Branch Lodge met us at the airport and drove us to the lodge. Check-in was fast and easy followed by a quick tour. We chose not to go with the Tree House Suites after a half a week of being spoiled in a luxurious Ambergris Caye Condo. We were upgraded from a Jungle Bungalow to a Jungle Suite. Comfy bed,Indoor and outdoor shower, ceiling fans, and mesh separating us from the jungle. I loved the "sounds" of the jungle. (people buy cd's with the sounds we heard, just to go to sleep. I loved it. My wife got used to it, LOL). Meals are family style. We went with an activity/food/drink package; Food was good and we met some very nice people. At dinner, staff seeks you out to find out which of the many exciting activities to partake in the next day.



During our brief stay, we went with a Cave Tubing/ Cave Exploration adventure [with Ching] which was awesome. My wife was apprehensive about climbing in dark caves with bats but we both loved it and highly recommend the tour. We also did a cool tour of the ancient Mayan ruins of Xunantunich [with Abel]. It was kind of like summer camp for adults (children are welcome) but not in a bad, corny way. It was a lot of fun. The jungle, both the wild side as well as the manicured, were wonderful. Grounds were great,botanic garden, pool,etc all good. I hope to return. I didn't need it at all but you may want to bring bug spray and do bring a flashlight!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at Caves Branch in March. it has taken me a long time to get this review posted. sorry. We had a great time. this place is so surreal. it is so beautiful right in the jungle. its so peaceful. their packages are well worth it. And so adventurous. The pool and swim up bar was just getting built when we were there and looked like it will be awesome. its done now i hear. we stayed in a one bedroom treehouse which overlooked jungle and river. it was amazing. the nightlife was so cool. you could see monkeys and hear them and we saw cat (forget their real names) in climbing in the trees. Harmless of course. Keep in mind if your not the adventure type you many not be comfortable with the walls in the room being mainly screens. but we loved it. and dont think its as rustic as it sounds. our treehouse was quite elegant. the outdoor shower was one of my favorites. anyways the place is absolutly beautiful. the tour guides in belize are paid by their government to be knowledgable people. its their job. and they are very good at it. you will not get this type of tour service anywhere else. The owner of Caves Branch is actually from Vancouver, Canada. The tours we did we highly recommend. My husbands fav was the cave tubing. (keep in mind certain times of year you cannot do cause of the water levels) the Waterfall caving expedition is a must. Inside caving and climbing watefalls. bring good runners! the other tour we did was a very long day but very happy we did it cause its once in a lifetime. we went to guatemala to the tikal ruins. (belize ruins are unexcavated unlike mexicos and other places) they are still very natural and untouched. huge and amazin. seeing the culture in guatemala was also an experience. WE will go back!!!
Tip: this is what we did and highly recommended! We stayed 4 nights at Caves Branch and then wanted to Beach it for the rest of the week. So we went to Belize city and flew with Tropic air to the island of San Pedro (Ambergris Caye). There is so many places along the island to stay...and if not in town they are all beach front. they are smaller more personal resorts compared to huge all inclusives in mexico for instance. Go there for your snorkeling. Nothing compares to the snorkeling here!!!!! Do Mexico Rocks and Tres Cocos. Just a Tip. Its a Must! We stayed at Caribbean Villas. also very nice. Quaint!
Good location. great owners. We spent more money to stay in the treehouse at Caves Branch so did not want to spend too much for our accomodations on the Island. But it ended up being really nice. for only i think 114/night. we were in a perfect spot.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sneids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

What a surprise. We went to Belize for the diving, but felt we should experience the Belize jungle too. I am so glad we did. We had an excellent time here. We reserved one of the nicer rooms. I am happy we did this. The basic rooms are quite rustic and share bathrooms. Be prepared to get wet and muddy everyday. Bring appropriate clothes and shoes. It was obvious some families were not prepared and I imagine that it made their time much less enjoyable. Dinner is family style, so you make a lot of friends quickly. All of the adventures we signed up for were excellent. The guides were well trained and friendly. I would absolutely recommend a stay here if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustinTripCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
4.3 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
659 reviews
11.2 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
276 reviews
20 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
16.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
409 reviews
8.9 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range: $158 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush rainforest of central Belize, Caves Branch Jungle Lodge offers visitors the opportunity to immerse in a culture of mid-range to extreme adventures. From the guest rooms that are open to the sights and sounds of the jungle, some of which are thatched in the ancient style of the Maya to our luxurious Treehouse suites, your experience should be something that must be experienced to be believed and once experienced, truly-never forgotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing