We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting adventure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This destination is not for everyone -- and that's just the way we liked it! The daytime adventures were exciting and educational. The staff and guides were friendly, knowledgeable and fun. This is best for those who like to be active (days are spent rafting, caving, hiking, rappelling, etc), like nature (because you'll be sleeping and sometimes showering in it), friendly (you go on adventures and take your meals with other guests) and can live without TV, hairdryers and long hot showers.

I loved it and so did my teenaged daughters (13 and 15) -- we'll remember this trip forever.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cathy_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 904 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2008

Ian Anderson's Caves Branch was our Favorite family vacation! We have three boys ages 15, 10 and 7 and one girl, 18. We all Loved Caves Branch. The guides were Excellent, never once were we afraid yet we experienced the thrill of our adventures! We did the black hole drop, cave tubing/exploration, horseback riding and ruins tour. The food was great! The treehouse was amazing! We didn't have any large spiders or bugs in our room. Everything was very clean. We have been to Canada, Bahamas, Alaska, Costa Rica, Oregon, and many other places and Belize is our all time favorite. If you want to truly experience an amazing vacation go to Belize. Hang out in the jungle at Caves Branch for 5 nights then go to Ambergris Caye for a few nights, you will have the vacation of a lifetime!! Don't even hesitate booking at Cave's Branch....you'll love it!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jtibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon and wish we had stayed twice as long! From the lodging to the food, to the amazing adventures and wonderfull staff- We loved every second of our stay.

We were in one of the jungle treehouse suites which was gorgeous and roomy. The jungle shower was one of my favorite features. Nice way to cool off in the afternoon.. when you're not busy with a dip at the Blue Hole. I thought the decor was beautiful. The screens really let in the sounds of the jungle howler monkey's were a favorite! A few little critters found their way in, but the hubby shoo'd them back outside and we were fine.

The food was delicious and filling and we loved the family style dining. We made friends and had tons of fun swapping stories of our adventures, drinking Belikins and playing Uno into the wee hours.

The adventures were incredible and the guides were tremendous. We couldn't thank them enough.

We definitely plan to come back. It's a great place run by wonderful people.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Caves Branch is a great place if you are looking for somewhere in Belize where you can actually find an all-inclusive option, and the adventures they offer are wonderful.

It is not, however, a place to stay if you are backpacking. Everywhere else in Belize you pay about $3-5 US for a large meal - here you pay $17 US, and there are no towns substantially close to eat your meals at instead. They do offer a bunkhouse for $15/night, but that is pretty much outweighed by the $34+ you have to pay for your food. The staff also didn't seem quite as nice if you weren't going to pay that much for food (we ate granola bars and peanut butter most of the time we were there).

We had a wonderful time on the adventures, however, and definitely thought that Caves Branch offered a lot. The Cave Drop was great! The lodging was great and the common lodge was beautiful. The outdoor jungle showers were also fun. We saw and met a lot of families there, which might be because they will definitely take care of everything for you if you don't want to try to handle figuring out things for your family to do.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chilawgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent our first night in Belize at the Caves Branch Lodge. When we arrived, the staff greeted us warmly and gave us each a complimentary drink (rum punch, which we drank plenty of while in Belize). Because it was the slow season, they upgraded us to an absolutely beautiful treehouse suite.

We had dinner there that night, which was very good, and met other tourists. Bring bug spray!

The only, well, interesting thing was that we had a HUGE cockroach (6 inches, no exaggeration) crawling around our ceiling before we went to bed that night. It finally fell to the floor and we scooted it outside (after several girlish screams from my boy:) It rained very hard that night, which sounded cool on the metal roof , and was sunny and beautiful the next morning.

We didn't sign up for any of the tours as we were antsy to travel the rest of the country, but they came highly recommended from the other tourists; Tikal especially.

All in all, the food was very good, the staff was very friendly, and the scenery is absolutely gorgeous. It was more expensive than most of the places we stayed later on in our trip, but it was worth it.

A travel tip: if you want to see as much of Belize as you can, rent a car. It's more expensive than going by bus or shuttle but we saw so much more than we would have, if we would have depended on other modes of transportation. We rented through Jabiru rentals as it was the most cost-effective. Towards the end of our trip, when we were ready to go to Caye Caulker, we left our car at the Water Taxi and they came and picked it up for us.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMIE77BellinghamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We went from Ian Anderson's Caves Branch to Francis Ford Coppola's Turtle Inn, arguably the "best" property in Belize. Our kids' (11 and 7) reaction to Turtle Inn: "it's nice, but it isn't Caves Branch". That, in my opinion, says it all. The combination of wonderful adventures, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and the pleasant company of fellow guests made our stay at Caves Branch truly memorable.

Be warned: Caves Branch isn't for everybody. The accomodations are fairly spartan (we were in a jungle suite; I believe the treehouses are more luxurious), and the shower never managed more than an anemic trickle of water. There is no airconditioning, and many of the accomodations don't have electric lights, which means that you can't read before going to bed (I defy any normal adult to read by the light of the flickering kerosene lamps). Bugs of varying size will share your room with you. Meals are served on schedule, and if you don't keep to the schedule, you're pretty much out of luck.

And guess what: WE LOVED IT. The shared seating at meals led to us talking to the other guests - none of that careful avoidance of other guests that you find at many resorts. Breakfasts were devoted to discussing the day's upcoming trips, dinners to raving over the experiences and commiserating over the new aches and pains we had sustained (and detailing our embarassment over our lack of physical fitness compared to our guides). The (pretty much) unlimited drinks made everyone chatty. When we were there, the guests came from pretty diverse backgrounds (given that everyone lived in North America), which was really fun.

The adventures themselves are reasonably challenging. We went horseback riding (very tame, and mainly to ease the kids into the action), river tubing/caving (moderate effort), Tikal (long day trip) and to the Black Hole (moderately difficult). The trips are not intended for hardcore outdoorsmen/women (they have a 4 day jungle trip where the participants get a machete and nothing else that should satisfy the purists), but they are not a sunday walk in the park either.

The guides are great: they are knowledgeable and friendly, and you are constantly learning (our best experience: a little fruit that exudes a flammable liquid; hold a light to it, squeeze, and voila, a tiny little flame thrower). They even manage to keep their amusement at the tourists' bumbling ineptitude from showing. Seriously, they are fantastic.

One final word: you are in the jungle! That means incredibly loud howler monkeys, bugs, birds, even snakes (we walked right over one one night on our way back to our suite). I don't know how some of the other reviewers said you don't see many animals. One morning bird watching showed approximately 50 different birds within a half mile of the lodge.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RaosNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We went to Costa Rica two years ago, staying in a very similar lodge and thought we would never top that experience. We were wrong! We are a family of four with two girls ages 13 and 15 and they were estatic about the trip. We stayed in a treehouse which is essentially four star jungle accomodations that made you feel as though you were literally sleeping in the jungle. We were woke up each of the four nights we by the sounds of troops of howler monkeys moving thru the lodge area. The trips we did were the black hole drop, the waterfall trip, the mayan ruins excursion, and the zoo on our way back to the airport. The black hole and waterfall adventures are not to miss if you can handle the adventure. In other words if you have trouble walking down the sidewalk on a cool day do not sign up for these trips. The guides were the best. Very attentive, informative and safety conscious. They really work hard to make sure you are having a great time and experience. We found the Belizean people to be very warm and friendly as a whole. The food was good simple fare with plenty of fruits and vegetables. The menue varried each night. We choose an all inclusive plan that covered it all except premium drinks and wine. Some of the other tours were an additional surcharge. Ask before signing up. Ian is a friendly sole with a charming wife and a son who would be a shoe-in to take over the place when the time comes. We just can't say enough about the great time we had. A trip that will be hard to beat. Thanks Ian!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank welldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
4.3 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
676 reviews
11.2 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
277 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
453 reviews
17.3 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
21.9 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range: $167 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush rainforest of central Belize, Caves Branch Jungle Lodge offers visitors the opportunity to immerse in a culture of mid-range to extreme adventures. From the guest rooms that are open to the sights and sounds of the jungle, some of which are thatched in the ancient style of the Maya to our luxurious Treehouse suites, your experience should be something that must be experienced to be believed and once experienced, truly-never forgotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing