We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Westhampton, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best trip ever”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have traveled President's week to Central America or Mexico for the last 14 years. 9 years ago I was in Belize and stayed on the coast but did do 2 trips inland ,cave tubing and the black hole out of Caves Branch. My son was only 8 and was too young for the black hole. This year he wanted to rappel. Caves Branch was kind of rough back then but when I looked it up it looked really nice today and they included 5 adventures for a 7 day stay plus the price was reasonable. I wasn't so sure about not being on the water but booked the trip. It was great! The food is excellent! The staff great! The best adventure was not the rappel but the cave waterfall. We did get to the coast twice for snorkeling and scuba diving ou of Hamanasi Resort and got to spend the days there.

Room Tip: How much time do you spend in your room? Being it was just me and my son we were in the Jungle Caban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    110
    20
    18
    5
See reviews for
316
356
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Cave's Branch the first 3 days of our 2 week vacation unfortunately it had rained very hard and were not able to do the cave tubing. But we did the kayaking instead. We had a wonderful time kayaing. I am an avid kayaker and never fall over, however I got caught up in a tree and went over. I laughed all the way down. I was glad I was such an amusement to my husband and the guide. With all the rain the river was flowing which is unusual from where we are at.

Our reservations got mixed up when we arrived, however with the staff at Cave's Branch was very accommodating and with it being out 25th wedding anniversary gave us a night 150 stairs up. What a spectacular view. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. We even organized a superbowl pool.

The day before we were scheduled to leave we did a cheese tasting and bought cheese and flew it over to the house we were to rent for the 2nd week of our stay. (Which everyone enjoyed thoroughly) Should have bought more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkydiverIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Cave's branch for 7 nights in a canopy view treehouse. It was absolutely amazing! The view, the treehouse, the friendly staff, the food and the activities, everything was perfect!
We felt at home in the minute we arrived. Our canopy treehouse was as beautiful as the website presented it. Lot's of steps (142 if we counted well) but it's worth the hike! The staff was so helpful and kind, they made our trip even more pleasant. The food was soooo good! Breakfast and supper where a good time to meet new people. For the activities, we did the black hole drop, tikal, the waterfalls, tubing, zip lining and the zoo. The guides where wonderful and made us do things we never thought we could do. It was safe and educative too. A special thank to Esperanza, Maria and Pedro!
We would recommend it to everyone!
It was definitely the best trip of our life up until now!

Room Tip: The Canopy View Treehouse is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marieriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food, the staff, the pool ... the cave tours, the cabanas, the howler monkeys.
This has a lot of Aaaaaah value.
Consider if you are looking for an out of the ordinary adventure.
Unique. Memorable. Not cookie cutter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were not planning to stay at Caves Branch, but had booked a cave tubing tour through them, driven 3 hours from Corozal distict for it, spent the night before at a hotel in Belmopan with our two young sons, only to learn that the cave tubing tour was cancelled due to high river levels from rain the day before. Ian Anderson was doing his best to accomodate those of us who were scheduled for the tour and offer something as replacement. When he heard that we had driven 3 hours with our boys, he promptly offered us one of his jungle treehouses for the night FOR FREE. I have never experienced such customer service ANYWHERE. Of course we took him up on his very generous offer and I can honestly say that we have never before stayed in such amazing accomodations. We were all in heaven. The staff was absolutely the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. The snack that was delivered right to our door in the morning was perfect, the carrot bread was still warm. And lucky for us, the cave tubing tour did go the next day. Could not have worked out better for us! Many, many thanks to Ian Anderson and his staff for making what could have been a huge disappointment for our boys into something I don't think they will ever forget.

Room Tip: The jungle treehouses are a good climb, but well worth it. We hadn't planned on staying, and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowdome2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My neice was a SCUBA diver before her spinal chord injury. Since before the accident she always wanted a trip to the Caribbean.
And so four of us ended up in the Belize jungle for the first part of our trip.
Our hosts were very gracious and accomodating in every way.
While there were some adventures we could not physically do, staff went out of their way to ensure we had an amazing experience and would plan alternatives for us.

The food was delicious...thanks to Jay
Rooms were immaculate.
Staff were friendly, outgoing and very helpful.
Our guides had our safety in mind and provided much jungle fun.
Special thanks to Lydia for keeping in touch prior to booking my reservations.
Congratulations to Ian for his cheese-making and contributions to CHESS and the youth of Belize

Room Tip: The tree-houses are great. Choose a two storey with oputdoor bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent a week at Caves Branch for our honeymoon - so glad we made that choice! As beautiful as everything looked on the website, and as cool as everything sounded, the reality far surpassed our expectations. The food is delicious...far too delicious, in fact; I think the only reason we didn't gain weight on the trip was all the exercise we got. We stayed in a canopy treehouse - quite the hike to get there, but well worth it. The owners - Ian & Ella - are wonderful people who treat all their guests as though they were personally invited to come visit, and everyone on staff is friendly, talented, and goes out of their way to help with whatever you might need. We went on four of the adventure tours - cave tubing/zip lining, Tikal, Xunantunich & Cahal Pech, and horseback riding. For every single one, the guides were terrific! We always felt completely safe, and they were impressively knowledgeable about whatever tour they were leading - not just the usual basic information. For meals, the tables are set up for groups of eight, which seems to be the perfect number for meeting new people and being able to chat with whoever you want. Sadly, we ran out of time to see as much of the botanical garden as we wanted, or to go on more of the tours...but we're definitely planning to go back! We're already recommending it to everyone we know.

Room Tip: The canopy treehouses have a fabulous view, but they are quite a hike with lots of stairs. If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
4.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
621 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
20.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
274 reviews
21.8 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
244 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Property: Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush rainforest of central Belize, Caves Branch Jungle Lodge offers visitors the opportunity to immerse in a culture of mid-range to extreme adventures. From the guest rooms that are open to the sights and sounds of the jungle, some of which are thatched in the ancient style of the Maya to our luxurious Treehouse suites, your experience should be something that must be experienced to be believed and once experienced, truly-never forgotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing