We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family spent an all-too-brief time at Caves Branch over the Christmas holiday. I cannot say enough about how great the trip was. To begin with, the staff was top notch. To a person, they were, knowledgable, helpful, patient and very, very pleasant. Accomodations were super. Food was great. The adventures we chose were indeed that - things I certainly wouldn't have considered doing without the expert guidance of their staff. (I personally have never even dreamed of dropping off a cliff before!) It is a must-do for couch potatoes with a bit of starch in their spines. You will love it.

Thanks, Caves Branch!
the Bunins

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    108
    20
    17
    5
See reviews for
307
354
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Jan 27th - Feb 1st 2013. We are 48 and 51 years old respectively. We stayed in the tree houses (room 23) It was a little hike to get to our room but well worth it. The room was amazing. 2 showers, a soaking tub, living room and bedroom. There is no ac but it was not needed. Ceiling fans and large open (screened) windows made it very comfortable while sleeping. There is also no TV (a major concern of mine) so we brought a portable DVD player and some DVD's to watch before bed.

We went on the cave tubing / zipline adventure which was awesome. The caves were amazing. The trip was a little long (7 miles) but still a lot of fun. Just be careful as some of the rocks are a little slippery and I had a little fall. The next day we rested by the pool and had a few pina colada's (which were amazing). Day 3 we went to the "belizian" ruins. We wanted to go to Tikal originally, but this adventure was a little closer ( 1.5 hr ride vs. 3 hr ride each way) The ruins were very interesting and guides were very informative. They allow you to climb the ruins and even go "inside" them, which was really cool.

The food at the hotel was VERY good. Breakfast served at 8Am, lunch 12:30 and dinner 6PM. Everyone eats together (about 30 -40 guests). Food is fresh, cooked and immediately served buffet style.

My favorite part of the vaca was meeting so many nice people. Starting with the owner and staff (Ian,Larry,Dillon, James, Pablo, Carlos, Kareem and others) to guests from Tampa, New York, Colorado, Edmonton, Sweeden, Finland and Michigan.

We loved this place and will return. Thanks Ian and the whole staff. WE had a great time.

Tom & Debbie

Room Tip: Tree house's are beautiful. Just make sure you can do the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolfey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Caves Branch for our honeymoon Jan.4-9, 2013 and it was awesome! We stayed in a jungle suite. It was great! We had a nice sitting area, front terrace, indoor and outdoor shower and the screening all around the suite made it really easy to enjoy the jungle surroundings. It rained every day while we were there but that didn't deter us from the adventures. We did the zoo and zip line our first day and really enjoyed it. The guides were extremely knowledgable about all the animals at the zoo and the zip lining was beautiful. We did a Mayan Ruin tour the second day. Our guides were excellent. They had so much information and were able to answer any questions our group had. Not to mention the ruins themselves were amazing. Our last tour was the Black Hole Drop. This tour is not for the faint of heart! It's an intense hike followed by a 300 foot rappel. I am terrified of heights but I enjoyed every minute of it! Unfortunately we couldn't do the cave tubing and waterfall caving we were originally planning on doing because the river was too high due to all the rain but we still had an awesome time! The meals were excellent and I don't think I've ever experienced better customer service anywhere! All the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We had a wonderful trip and met so many great people. I highly recommend Caves Branch! We will definitely stay there again the next time we travel to Belize!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyPansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just back from a five night stay in a tree house at Caves Branch. What a great adventure! I can't say enough about the staff from the owners Ian and Ella, the guides and all of the support staff......they took care of everything. The guides were amazingly knowlegable about their various adventures and ensured that we all had a great time. We enjoyed all of the adventurous activities including snorkling, zip lining, the zoo and cave tubing! The experience of being in the jungle was breathtaking! We saw a variety of birds, monkeys, iguanas, etc. also heard the howler monkeys! I very much enjoyed meeting such a wide variety of people who were doing adventures and attending seminars.

This is the place to stay if you are going to Belize!!

Room Tip: Stay in a tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went down on a "guys trip" to have a week of adventure. This place was better than I could have ever expected. You are in the jungle at an eco resort so you have to remember you are not at the ritz. Yes, there are some bugs and rooms do not have A/C. We stayed in the 2 BR treehouse which was great. Ceiling fans over the beds make it very comfortable. Beautiful decor, deck with insane views. Outdoor shower looking out to jungle was very cool. They have a great pool, plenty of cold beer. Every adventure we went on was amazing. Wished we could have done every one they offered. Staff are very friendly and ready to help out any way they can. Cannot think of anything more I would have wanted from stay. Make sure you have a flashlight for walking back to rooms at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPburdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Cave Branch Jan 1-4, 2013 in a 2 bedroom treehouse and it may be the best and most memorable stay we ever have. First, we drove up and couldn't really tell if we were in the right place, but an employee with a luggage cart waved and greeted us. Aside from a lack of signage at this part, I have nothing but praise for this lodge.

After we checked in and signed the liability waivers, we were shown to our room, our luggage was already there. The room had a large sitting area with a sofa and a couple chairs, along with a bunk bed. Turns out, we could have slept six here. The room has no windows, it is all screened in and the view was wonderful. It is dense rainforest and you can barely make out nearby cottages. There is also a view of the river. At night it is pitch black, but you might see some fireflies and you will hear the jungle critters. When/if it rains at night, you will hear nothing but the steady patter of raindrops.

The place is run a lot like a summer camp. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at very specific times and at long tables, so get to meet your fellow vacationers. I'm not the most friendly sort, but I really enjoyed meeting and chatting with others at mealtime, so don't let the dining style be a turn off. The meals are buffet style and have a small but satisfactory range of selections. The food is good, above average, but nothing amazing.

What is the amazing though are the tour options. There are many things to do try out and they range from easy to exhausting. Our kids 10 & 14, found everything we did very fun and no stress at all. We were taxed a little, but the other family we were with made it through easily. So even being out of shape was no problem. We did the cave tubing & Mayan artifacts tour (loved it), the Mayan ruins tour, educational and worth doing, but not thrilling, and the waterfall cave tour (our kid's favorite, though we felt a little rushed and this one taxed us - but we'd do it again).

The lodge also has a botanical garden, which was a pleasure to walk through, but do yourself a favor and take a guided tour. The tour and the information you'll learn makes it so much more enjoyable.

the two pools were great and the large jacuzzi a welcome end to a vigorous day. The bar was simple but did the job.

My kids both said this was the best vacation ever and we've done many trips, including Disneyworld, Disney Cruises, France, England, Italy, Carribean cruises and more.

I was so surprised by this place, meaning that it was so much more than I ever expected. I felt pampered and comfortable and yet remote and rugged. The rooms are beautiful, both inside and out. Also, I loved the piping hot, torrential outdoor shower in our treehouse, that was a treat.

Room Tip: Choose one of the treehouses for a really special stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you want jungle adventure, this place for you. It is expensive, but it includes a set number of adventures, food, rum drinks, and non-alcoholic beverages. The staff was extremely pleasant and friendly, the adventures were cool and challenging, and the food was the best all-inclusive food I have ever had. A huge bonus was family-style dining with other guests, who you would get to meet, drink with at night, and then have trips and adventures with the next day. A wonderful atmosphere and a fun way to vacation. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were honeymooners and had booked the jungle cabana, which was great for its rustic appeal, but wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
4.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
601 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
274 reviews
21.8 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
423 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
372 reviews
11.2 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Property: Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush rainforest of central Belize, Caves Branch Jungle Lodge offers visitors the opportunity to immerse in a culture of mid-range to extreme adventures. From the guest rooms that are open to the sights and sounds of the jungle, some of which are thatched in the ancient style of the Maya to our luxurious Treehouse suites, your experience should be something that must be experienced to be believed and once experienced, truly-never forgotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing