We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a rush!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a rush!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The descriptions and pictures you will find on the internet do not do enough justice for what you are in store for! My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 days/5 nights and signed up for 4 tours. We signed up for scuba, waterfall climbing, tube float/zip line combo, and the black hole (of death) drop. They were all great, even though I have an incredible fear of heights (and could be seen crying at times, lol) The tour guides are GREAT and very supportive!!

We stayed in one of the canopy treehouses. 136 stairs each way. YIKES. But that's ok, keeps the booty firm. :) There are some small bugs that make their way into your room, not a big deal at all (and I'm not a bug-fan). The room is BEAUTIFUL and the bed is awesome. The outdoor shower was incredible. I loved every part of that canopy treehouse. Having coffee delivered to us each morning was FABULOUS....my one and only "complaint" was that the coffee was not delivered to us the day we checked out, even though check out isnt until 11am. Kind of a disappointing way to leave such an ideal vacation but it really was such a small thing, that it's not a deal breaker. We used their laundry service while there after a mud-filled day and we were very grateful that they offered this service and at a very reasonable price!

Meals here are good. They dont claim to be a resort establishment with fancy food but what they do offer for meals is more than sufficient for a picky eater. Dont let this be a concern for you, it's good and the choices are there. You sit with the other guests and it really is a great time. We met some fun people!

BRING BUG SPRAY. BRING BUG SPRAY. BRING BUG SPRAY. Ladies, hair dryer not needed (dont bother with it) and make up not needed.

We went during the first part of October which is "rainy" season. And yes, it did rain, and it rained a lot. Even with the rain, it was still a great experience, the rain is warm and most activities still went on. It was not a big deal at all.

Side note - we didn't see any monkeys but on a couple of nights, we could hear them off in the distance. I wouldn't have been scared or have even realized that what I was hearing was monkeys - they were that far away.

After checking out of Caves Branch, we headed to the beach for a few days of down time.

Thank you to the entire staff for making our trip so great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CollAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    105
    20
    17
    5
See reviews for
300
344
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Caves Branch and it was everything we could have asked for and more!! We stayed in the Riverview Tree House which was beautiful and a wonderful place to relax at the end of an adventurous day or start refreshed with the fresh air and the sounds of the Jungle waking us up each morning.

We can't rave enough about how wonderful the staff was during our stay. The staff at the resort were friendly, accomondating, and seemed to go out of their way to ensure we had everything we asked for everything we didn't. The food was great and the meals were always a great part of the day as it gave time to meet new people and hear about the different things that others had done. The tour guides will come around at dinner and you will sign up for tomorrows adventures then, no need to worry about signing up in advance. We went there thinking we would be doing one thing and ended up doing completely different excursions.

The tour guides were AWESOME!!! We did the adventure package and we finished every excurion thinking "wow, that was awesome!" We spent one day at Hopkins snorkling, the guides were very knowledgable and you could tell that they LOVED what they do.
The second day we went to Guatemala to Tikal to see the Mayan Ruins there. They are worth the drive if seeing ruins are on your list of things to do. We spent the 3rd day at the resort, it was quiet that day as most the other guest were on excursions. The staff was very attentive and made sure that our day was relaxing and enjoyed. We enjoyed the Blue Hole National Park which is just a short walk and finished our day by enjoying a massage in our tree house.
After a day of relaxing we started the next day with a birding tour of the grounds which was better than expected. We saw many differnt species of birds got some awesome pictures and were awed at the guides knowledge of the local birds. We then conquered the Black Hole, which was an intense hike followed by an amazing repelling experiance down 300' into the floor of "the black hole" which is a beautiful sink hole that has become a jewel in the jungle. The next day we enjoyed the Caves waterfall adventure which again is not for the faint at heart but an awesome adventure that you will be glad you did!!

I could go on and and on about how great this place is, if you are looking for plush and 5 star this is not the place for you, this is a really nice resort that is about adventure and experiencing Belize for all it has to offer.
Thank you Ian Anderson and your wife Ella for an amazing honeymoon, we can't wait to get back there and share all it has to offer with the kids.

++ They provide shampoo and awesome soap but you may want to bring your own conditioner if you use it. Don't bother bringing a hair dryer ladies, just some rubberbands to keep your hair back and the only day I put makeup on was the day I left.

++ Bring lots of bug spray and use it aways, jungle pants and close toes shoes are a must for most of the excursions.

Room Tip: All of the accomondations are great however the Tree Houses are AWESOME, we stayed in the riverview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atcdawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Caves Branch was one an unforgettable experience!

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Belize for 10 days - 4 of which were spent at Caves Branch. The rest was spent in Ambergris Caye, which I highly recommend as well! Having a jungle and beach experience really made us feel like we got to see a ton of Belize. Caves Branch is wonderful, and their tours are so professional and well done. We highly recommend the waterfall cave tour, and a day trip to Tikal! We both felt that they were once in a lifetime experiences. The food was simple, freshly made and delicious (also much healthier than the Cayes). We asked for juice and coffee to be brought to our room every morning, which was lovely because we often woke up pretty early before breakfast was served. The room was open air, but completely netted in. We stayed in room 16, which turned out to be the shortest walk, with a beautiful view. The jungle is incredible, and we were totally mesmerized by its beauty. Our experience was certainly an adventure, but also incredibly romantic. During the days you are roughing it, but your nights are serene and private.

We were in the jungle for 4 days, and I highly recommend you bring at least two large cans of bug spray - 40 Deet and up. It was a lifesaver, and you're definitely going to need it more than once throughout the day. Also, if you want to do the cave tours, I recommend some sturdy hiking boots. You'll be happy you splurged. We said more than once that we were glad we had them. Also, you're going to need a flash light to get back to your room after dinner.

We had messages in our room a couple times, and loved the wonderful staff. Everyone at Caves Branch are friendly, and very punctual. Remember to bring tip money for your tour guides. They are trained professionals, and deserve the tip! Its better to have Belize dollars instead of American, so exchange some cash at the airport.

We loved everyone and everything at Caves Branch. Thank you for making our honeymoon an unforgettable and incredible experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaquelBiancaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at caves for the 2nd leg of our honeymoon. We had booked a jungle cabin and stayed in it for one night before being upgraded to a tree house. The tree house was fantastic and would recommend paying the extra to stay in one, they are very very cool and by far the most luxurious jungle accommodation we have ever stayed in. We stayed for 4 nights and did 3 trips, the cave tubing, the black hole drop and the waterfalls trip. They were all amazing especially the black hole drop and the waterfalls trip, don't be put off by their higher rating of exertion as you can go at a pace that suits you although they will get the heart rate pumping!
The food was great and breakfast and dinner you have with all the other residents and is a chance to catch up on the days events and compare notes.
All the people we met were really cool and fun which added to the experience.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. We can't think of anything we would have changed about our experience at caves and hopefully will one day go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I searched around a lot to find the most safe.. adventerous trips we could do, to celebrate my little sister's 50th birthday. We could not have found a more wonderful place to test our nerves, under completely safe circumstances with the most terrific of guides. We did the Waterfall Caves tour and the Black Hole Drop. Both were a test of our spirit... a test of our physical ability... and a huge uplifting experience once we had finished it. We were not "babied", "pushed" or "led up the path", we were allowed to do it in our own time, with guides we completely trusted. Many was the time we could have given up, but with gentle kind encouragement we continued. So glad we did. If you want somewhere to PROVE to yourself... you still GOT IT, then these two tours are a must. Thank you Caves Branch, for providing two of the most exciting experiences of my life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkinuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Caves Branch for one night at the end of July 2012. Our accomodations were very comfortable (family of 5 with 3 teens) and we had a room that was beautiful--large king bed, and lower level with a bunk bed and separate twin--perfect for kids. We thought the baths were lovely and used both indoor and outdoor showers. We loved the pool and enjoyed walking around the gardens. The were in the midst of construction on a new cheesemaking area (I think) but that had no impact on our stay. Food was excellent but slightly pricier for dinner than we had expected--there aren't many other options in the area to choose from if you don't have a car. Staff was very helpful. We did have a slight mix up when we left for Ambergris Caye with what we thought was a flight change but it all worked out in the end.

We booked one adventure tour that we all really enjoyed--the waterfall caving expedition. This involved about a 30 minute walk (easy) through the jungle to the cave where we put on caving harness, helmets etc. Then about 30 minutes into the caves we started swimming (crystal clear water, warm, lots of spectacular formations, and NO crowds--just the 5 of us our 2 guides and a lovely Dutch couple). We climbed 7 waterfalls ranging from maybe 8 feet tall to about 30 feet over about 1 1/2 hours and then jumped down (or you could be hooked in and belayed down if you chose) the waterfalls on the return trip. We all loved this--quotes from our teens (boy 17, girl 16, boy 13) were "this is the best vacation ever". Really a super activity for adventurous people (we do lots of hiking, climbing etc). We would have liked to do several other activities but did not have time as the remainder of our trip was for scuba diving on the Caye and those accomodations were booked before we found Caves Branch. If I were doing it again, I would spend 4 days on Cayes scuba diving and 3-4 days inland doing riding, ruins tours, zoo, and more caving etc. I would return to Caves Branch and have recommended it to friends. We are not big resort people and really enjoy more adventurous travels. This was excellent for our family and what we like to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was an absolute amazing place to begin out Honeymoon adventure! Upon arrival, the staff and every experience was top notch. We stayed in a tree house suite overlooking the jungle. Although we didn't spend too much time in our room we still got to enjoy the roof top tub at night, the outdoor shower, the hot coffee and pastry every morning delivered to our door, and the orchestral jungle sounds to lull us to sleep each night!! This place provided the remote feel of a Jungle lodge, with a family style, adventurous atmosphere. We did two adventures; the waterfall cave tour, and the cave tubing. I highly recommend them both! While the cave tubing was a fun way to explore some of the caves and the jungle at a leisurely pace on the river, the waterfall cave tour provided the adrenaline, mayan artifacts, history, and many many many natural forms that you rarely get to see anywhere else! The staff was great and the family style meal times allows you to meet people from all over the world! I would recommend Caves Branch to anyone who wants a taste of adventure/adrenaline and is open to making new friends!

Room Tip: Tree house jungle suites are perfect for the honeymooners or those who want to stay in jungle luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
4.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
21.9 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
17.3 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Property: Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush rainforest of central Belize, Caves Branch Jungle Lodge offers visitors the opportunity to immerse in a culture of mid-range to extreme adventures. From the guest rooms that are open to the sights and sounds of the jungle, some of which are thatched in the ancient style of the Maya to our luxurious Treehouse suites, your experience should be something that must be experienced to be believed and once experienced, truly-never forgotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing