We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise at the Jungle Dome Belize” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belize Jungle Dome

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belize Jungle Dome
Ranked #2 of 16 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise at the Jungle Dome Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

Jasper & Jay from Massachusetts

We have just returned from our third March visit to the Jungle Dome the home of Green Dragon Adventure Travel in Belize.

We were frazzled from our three day delay on our flight due to snow in Boston. Our spirits were quickly limited when David, one of the staff, was waiting for us right after clearing customs at the International airport in Belize City. He greeted us with a smile, and stowed the luggage in the van. There are no interstate highways in Belize, so you get to see some of the ever changing scenery on the 60 mile drive to just outside of the capital of Belmopan.

The Jungle Dome is in a remote spot on the Belize River, so you won’t have to deal with crowds, but not to worry there is plenty to do. The owners Simone and Andy with the capable assistance of their manager Karen will make you feel welcome right from when you enter the gate.

There are only four units with a fifth room available if a group should book the entire Dome which allows the staff to give you personal service. Andy and Simone wanted us to move from our usual poolside suite #2 (just steps from the pool overlooking a grand view to the river) to their newest unit #5 located on the second level. When we saw the view from the private deck of the gardens and river, we knew we would try it. The suite itself was like a large studio apartment with a living area that has satellite TV, a small refrigerator, coffee maker and fresh baked goods. The separate sleeping area had a king-sized bed that had a welcoming bouquet of fresh flowers on the bed. To seal the deal for us the bathroom had a large tile shower. It is perfect spot to relax and enjoy the birds singing. If you are lucky, you may even hear the Howler monkeys. These small animals sound like roaring lions.

There will be no shortage of things to do. On the other hand if you want to just hang out by the pool and catch some rays, the tropical scenery is great. Karen and Andy will personally work with you to fill your days with new adventures. Just ask and they will find the perfect activity from touring the many Mayan ruins, kayaking on the rivers, exploring either wet or dry caves to snorkeling or diving in the warm and blue waters off the coast.

Upon returning from your outing you can take a dip in the pool before having your dinner overlooking the gardens. The meals will be a highlight to your stay. Simone and Andy are originally from Europe, so they wanted to train the local staff on how to provide the service level that travelers have come to expect today. They even brought a chef in from Europe to teach the ladies how to prepare meals to delight the guests. The biggest problem we had was not to over eat. If you require a special diet, just let them know. They can accommodate anyone from a vegan to a child who will only eat one special item. It’s always fresh and local. You can even have a glass of wine, cocktail or smoothie from the Tree Top Café to enjoy before or during your dinner.


The Jungle Dome is not for everyone. If you want the bright lights and night life of a city, large crowds or heavy traffic, Belize is not for you. If you want to explore new territory, get personal service from people who care, and value for your holiday; then the Jungle Dome is for you.

Finally if you really want to feel good and help the children of Belize, ask Simone about the Jaden Foundation. You’ll be glad you did.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLJJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    13
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
99
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

I booked the 5 night surf and turf package through the Jungle Dome, we couldn't have been more pleased.
Their website is excellent, they indicated which tours were appropriate for younger children, full descriptions of tours with pictures or video. Karen, the manager, was extremely helpful not only through the booking process but throughout our stay.
Our room was spacious and equipped with a refrigerator stocked with refreshments, they had Directv and wireless internet! The property is very family friendly. I travelled alone with my 5 yr old and he was able to exlpore the property safely and play with other children without my having to hover over him. Every morning we woke to the birds chirping and sometimes the howler monkeys howling!
The meals were large, delicious and varied. All guests sit together as a group. It was great getting to know one another. Parents could enjoy adult conversation while children played a few steps away. The one complaint I did have which coudn't be helped were the insects but what was I thinking "that there weren't any in the jungle?"
Our tours were private. If you did go with others it was the other guests at the jungle dome. The guides are very knowledgable and went out of their way to maximize our experience. Everythng was so well organized. When we left the Jungle Dome for the beach portion of our trip we missed the intimacy and warmth from the Jungle Dome! Although the Beach experience and tours were also excellent.
The Jungle Dome is a unique experience which I would recommend to all. If you are the type who does not like to go outside their comfort zone then it may not be for you BUT if your looking for a unique and challenging experience this is the place. I hope to return and would recommend The Jungle Dome over and over again!

  • Liked — Unique
  • Disliked — the insects!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank macmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

Before arriving in Belize I was concerned about what we were getting into, such as our accommodations, food and tours. When starting the ride off the highway toward The Jungle Dome my concerns grew even larger (40 years of suburban life), until we arrived at your gate. To my surprise we pulled into your little slice of heaven. Starting with a friendly greeting from your family, a quick tour and a cold Belikin my vacation was started.

Every tour we took from the Belize Zoo, CheChem Ha Cave, Xunantunich, Cave tubing, Zip line, Tekal, Riding at Green Acers and swimming in the Blue Hole was exciting, interesting and enjoyable. All of our guides made sure we were well informed and made us feel welcome.

Thank you so much for making our stay so easy and enjoyable. I hope we get a chance to visit again!



The Bloemke Family
Villa Park, IL

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bloemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

We had such a great time at this resort! Nothing had prepared us for how beatiful it was - a really funky house and pool set in the middle of green lawns and lush vegetation. The rooms were big and comfortable, and beautifully decorated with real individuality. We are keen sightseeers, and had booked several tours to see the Mayan cities at Xunantonich, and Caracol, and over the border to Tikal in Guatamala, and they far exceeded our imaginings - the ruins, in their jungle settings, were simply stunning, and the guides provided by the Jungle Dome were without exception outstanding - well-informed, friendly, and they went out of their way to help us have experiences we will remember for ever - like the tarantula lured out of his burrow for a photo opportunity, and the taste of my first termite (unexpectedly minty) ! The trees are full of birds - parrots, toucans, vultures, all very exciting to a Brit who is used to little brown birds, and we also saw lots of monkeys, and a family of coatimundis,in the fields and jungle around the Dome. We went kayaking, and horse-riding, and explored some awesome caves. All our trips were really enjoyable - impeccably organized - the transport always started when they said it would, the lunches on a full day trip were either provided in a lavish picnic by the Dome, or cooked fresh for us if there was a restaurant on site, if we were hot and sticky a scenic swimming spot was always found, and we were delivered back again in time to relax in the pool or the treetop bar before our evening meal. Which was almost the best moment of the day. Meals are taken together at the Jungle Dome (though we could have opted for a separate table if we preferred), but while we were there no-one did prefer - it was such fun, and so sociable, to meet the other guests and hear about their trips and adventures and tell them about yours. And all the other guests were friendly and interesting - maybe the boring ones never get round to booking here! It is very family friendly, and when we were there there was a lovely mix of young couples, singles and families, all sitting round the table and talking long after we had reluctantly pushed our plates away. The food was delicious, and cooked and served by people who seemed to really like their work and their guests. ,
To sum up, this is a really special place. The atmosphere is unlike any other holiday I have had, it felt like visiting friends, and I am so glad we went. It was our son (young, fit, active )who recommended it to us, and I had been slightly dubious that a holiday that he had so enjoyed would be right for his not-quite-so-fit-or-trendy parents, but he was right - anyone could enjoy this resort, you can be as active, or cultured, or restful as you choose - you would have to be very strange not to have a good time here!

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere - like staying with family
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

Our vacation at the jungle dome was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. The property and the surrounding areas are beautiful. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable.
The food was excellent, and we enjoyed sharing meals with the other guests and hearing about their adventures. The owners and all the staff were friendly, helpful, and fun. It felt like we were staying with friends or family.
All the tours we took were great. We especially enjoyed having Carlos as our guide for 2 of the tours.
We'd recommend the Jungle Dome to anyone traveling to Belize, and we hope to make it back one day.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

We have just returned from Belize, a beautiful country. We booked our trip through the jungle dome, spending half of our time in Ambergris Caye and the other half at the Dome itself.

For the Ambergris portion we stayed at Banana Beach. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was perfectly serviceable and the view (we had an ocean front room) was great. The hotel has great plants. The restaurant was not the best, but the bar made excellent drinks. We booked a number of snorkling and boating trips through their Monkey Business tour office and were never disappointed. If you go, try to go to shark ray alley with Lil Alphonso. He is a trip and very knowledgeable. As best we can tell, he is the only guide to chum the waters. We saw tons of sharks. The snorkling, in general, was amazing. There isn't much of a 'beach' for lounging, but if you like to get out on the water you will not be disappointed. I would also recommend going into town for your meals. The food is better and the local scene is great.

Next we flew back to the mainland where we were picked up by the Jungle Dome crew. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Our room was lovely. The food ranged from good to excellent, and was never bad. They arranged adventures for our family every day: cave tubing, zip lining, kayaking, exploring ruins, the Belize zoo, etc. We had many excellent guides, again, all arranged for us by the Dome. We particularly enjoyed our time with the Link family, kayaking and then a delicious lunch back at their house. Meals at the Dome were eaten family style where everyone could exchange notes on their days' adventures. Dinner was often preceded by soccer on the horse/soccer field with packs of local kids. Our son has some fairly severe food allergy issues and they took excellent care of all our needs.

All in all, we couldn't have had a better time. Our six year old is so sad to have to say goodbye to her new friends in Belize. I hope we will be back soon.

  • Liked — Natural beauty
  • Disliked — No complains
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Family-of-4-Katonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2007

Loved this place!! The location of this property is great if you're doing tours in the Jungle. The rooms are comfortable and the food was great! I ate way too much but it was hard not to. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They fill you in on everything you need to know about your tours, what to wear, when you'll be picked up, what to expect, when you'll be back. It's hassle free. I would highly reccommend this property to anyone who is staying for a few days in the jungle.

  • Liked — roomy and comfortable and clean
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BcLike2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
14.5 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
22.5 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
22.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
12.1 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Jungle Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Jungle Dome

Property: Belize Jungle Dome
Address: Mile 47, Western Highway | Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Jungle Lodge in the heart of Belize with Tree-Top Cafe and Swimming Pool. Set in Jungle surroundings offering Day Trips including Horseback Riding, Mayan Temples Tours, Caving, Cave Tubing, River Trips, Kayaking, Swimming with Sharks, Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Manatee Watching. Family Adventure Vacations and highly recommended All Inclusive Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belize Jungle Dome Hotel Belmopan
Belize Jungle Dome Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing