We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Blues Lake National Park

Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was living in Belize for quite a while and the last new I heard was that the entire lake had drained. I did go visit and it was amazing to see a giant pit where once stood a lake I visited when I was a child. It was great to revisit the site and see that the water returned and refilled the lake. Definitely a majestic sight to behold.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHendrikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Springs, Alabama
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“No Water! "Dry Creek"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

While looking at property in the area around 5 Blues Lake, we were made aware of a very strange phenomenon - 5 blues lake disappears and reappeears! It has been apparently dry for the last 3 years with the exception of a few short time periods. The lake, it seems, is a part of the Dry Creek water table - a creek that has portions with water, and portions without, and areas where it varies from time to time. It seems the area has some mystical properties! - not really. It is proposed to be related to the overall water table in the area and possibly the nearby cinotes. Apparently, nobody really knows for sure. It might be back next month though! Ask in the area though before you go, because it is a ways off the road, and could be a huge waste of your time.
P.S., the signage here, as in ALL of Belize, is poor at best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once upon a time in Belize...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Since the previous visitor had such a difficult experience with 5 blues Lake, I thought I would report on its previous state of affairs from almost 10 years ago.
5 News Lake National Park was always a small village run operation with one or two official Park Rangers staff and occasional volunteer groups.

Over the years the condition of the nonprofit group and the park itself deteriorated. Eventually there was no more work done to help keep the trails clear. And recently I heard that 5 blues Lake actually was drained in a mysterious natural incident, but also that it appeared to refill later.

At its best, 5 blues lake was a beautiful karst system lake with slightly murky turquoise water, beautiful wildlife, and a diving platform built from the side of a small cliff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never Found the Lake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Several guide books highlighted Five Blue Lake National Park off of the Hummingbird Highway as a beautiful and refreshing stop on a hot day. The books indicated we should get a map from the visitor center (shack is more like it) in the small village of St. Margaret. We should have known better when the Visitor Center was closed, but we ventured down the 6 mile ROCK road VERY SLOWLY, only to find a road wash out. We left the truck and proceeded on foot to attempt to find the cenote of five different colors since we already had invested so much time. Two roads, one traveled and the other overgrown with weeds, split off after traversing the creek. I finally found an old sign with the National Park logo on it on the overgrown road, but there was no indication how far we had to go. We decided not to risk the rental truck traversing the water and still don't know how far we were from our destination. Our guide on the next day's tour said the lake had dried up a few years back. Would love to hear a good story about this one. Sorely disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CoraPueblo_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Blues Lake National Park also viewed

 

Been to Five Blues Lake National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing