We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for the Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull Frog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bull Frog Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Bull Frog Inn is nicely situated in Belize's small capital city of Belmopan. It is located on the "ring road" that encircles the inner workings of the city, the government center, town hall, Mexican and British embassies, parks, recreational areas, market areas and residential areas. Other embassies, such as the huge American one, are located just outside of the ring road. I think it is the smallest national capital in the world.
There are about 28 rooms and they have undergone recent renovation and they are very clean, if a little bit spartan. The restaurant provides surprisingly good local fare meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner at very reasonaable prices. There is a bar that can be quite busy of an evening. I have seen guests at the Bull Frog from all over the world and some of the guests are not only repeat visitors, but they often stay for extended business trips, which I have done myself on several occasions over the past 8 years. There is no exercise room, but the aforementioned ring road provides the perfect exercise track with its 2.2 mile circumfernce.
It is a good stopover point for visits to magnificent Mayan ruins, the amazing little national zoo, river recreation, rain forests, the road to southern areas of Belize and is about an hour's drive from the main airport in Belize City.

Room Tip: I like the little row of four rooms that is separate from the main building, 22, 23, 24 and 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
9
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

There are two hotels in this god-forsaken city, and the other one was on its last legs a long time ago. Bull Frog is clean and there is tile work that is being done to upgrade the appearance. However, it is VERY expensive. I stayed here rather than going on to San Ignacio due to time constraints, but if you can avoid Belmopan, do it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p31893189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST.JOHN'S ANTIGUA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

this little inn is a nice quiet place close enough to the George Price Center . The Inn has its own bar and restaurant , taking into mind that the place is a way out. The rooms are modern , however the beds need to be change as some have gone thru world war three . They appear clean however i was told that some do have mold , the showerhead in my room had green stuff around it . They did not change floor towels every day . they did not clean every day bathroom on a daily basis. The food was great but the wait was ridiculous ....The staff was very friendly .... My experience was not bad but it was not the best. Overall the property was very clean ... it is stay-able ... good for business trips get in and get out .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPENCEY268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
157 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This property is really basic like others I have visited in Belmopan. The room is comfortable although there was some construction taking place. The wifi internet is NOT reliable at all. Take this into account if you are traveling on business. The food in the restaurant is good and prices are good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got into Belmopan after dark on a Thursday night and this is the place we found. We were hungry and tired, so expense wasn't at the top of our list. However, now that I'm home and looking at the bill I am definitely having Buyer's Remorse. Although the room was clean and comfortable it was definitely overpriced. We stayed in much better places in all parts of Belize at much cheaper rates. Be prepared to pay 180 Belize for a Motel 6 equivalent. Our dinner was good, but for the the life of me I can't remember what I ate. Maybe I was just tired and really hungry. Breakfast was good the next morning and then we were off the new adventures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilstrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms are very large and comfortable with free Internet, but in the words of Roger Miller, "no phone, no pool, no pets". It caters to business people, and there are always a half dozen ex-pats in the bar-lounge area in shorts and sandals working on their laptops. It gives a certain frontier air to the place. Service is responsive, with a friendly indifference. The restaurant is OK, but with a limited menu, and biased towards fried foods.

The location is convenient to the town centre and embassies. BTW, the population of Belmopan is under 10,000.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so you may want a room on the 1st or 2nd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed3463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been staying at the Bullfrog periodically since 1989. It's an acquired taste for sure...a bit funky at times. I go to Belmopan on business so I need someplace to get breakfast, internet, and a clean room. They deliver at a reasonable cost. I seldom eat lunch or dinner there. Corkers, Chon Saan, Oasis, or Caladium are better and only a few minutes away. On the rare occasions that I eat lunch or dinner there i tend to lean towards the simpler, more local stuff (their stew chicken is usually quite good).

The rooms are basic, although they just upgraded the TVs from the the 1980s 18" tubes to flat screens.

The staff are always pretty good and helpful if pressed.

I'd recommend it for people staying in town on business or passing through. It's one hour from the airport so good for an overnight prior to flying out or coming in. I've stayed with people who have traveled the developing world, and the reaction has always been positive compared to other similar places in Central/South America.

Room Tip: Ask for a "deluxe" room. Make sure you get a room where the A/C controls are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
18.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
13.6 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.3 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
7.2 mi away
Super Palm Resort
Super Palm Resort
#4 of 4 in Belmopan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.9 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Frog Inn

Property: Bull Frog Inn
Address: 25 Halfmoon Ave, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bull Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Frog Inn Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing