We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations. Price a little steep”
Review of Bull Frog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bull Frog Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations. Price a little steep”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel was nice. Not 5 star but nice. The rooms were clean. Air conditioner worked great. At $110 US for 3 people for a room of this quality was a little steep. It is $30 for each additional person over 2 per room. I could understand this if it included breakfast but it did not. I would stay there again because there are not many other choices. I know, I looked.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speckred17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
9
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed in a regular (as opposed to economy) room at the Bullfrog in in early July. I met a friend in Belmopan, and I am not keen in staying in people's houses so I stayed at the Bullfrog Inn.

The regular rooms are spacious (the economy rooms are smaller but have the same ameneties including AC and TV I'm told) and they have nice comfortable beds. The bathroom was large with a tub and not simply a shower - great for a nice soak after a long day walking. They had plenty of bath linens including flannels for your face (washcloths) often lacking in many Central American hotels.

The room had a desk, lamp and table. It was great for getting a little work done. The wireless access is only in the dining room and bar area, but with my external antenna I was able to pick up a pretty good connection in room 19 - fairly close to the dining room.

There are plenty of rooms overlooking the parking if you want to keep an eye on your car, and there is a small balcony as well if you want to take morning coffee there.

The television had more cable stations that I get at home. US, Mexican, Guatemalan, of course stations from Belieze, as well as two Japanese language stations and a Chinese language station. I think there were 107 stations. I didn't spend too much time watching TV as I can do that at home.

It is very convenient to the government offices, and across the street is a pharmacy and doctors' office. There is a shopping plaza with a dry cleaners perhaps 1/4 mile away.

The room does have some older furnishings but they were clean and in good repair. The bed was not too hard like many others in that part of the world and the pillows were very good.

I had dinner in the restaurant and I had one of the greatest Bacon Cheeseburgers I have ever had, along with two Belikan beers, and a Chicken Boca (a bowl of their version of McNuggets). It was less than 20 USD.

If no one is at the check in desk, wander over to the bar as that is where the manager is in the evenings. (Working not drinking) The rooms had plenty of locks on the door and were quite secure. The off street parking is good as well. The US Embassy is 1/2 mile away as is the British High Commission, and Brazil, El Salvador, Venezuela, Mexico, and India, (The rest are Belize City.) The general hospital is steps away.

You are about an hour's drive from the Guatemala border, and perhaps 90 minutes - 2 hrs from Tikal by car if the border crossing is quick. All of the staff I saw were at least bilingual and some trilingual. The staff was pleasant and attentive.

I heartily recommend this hotel if you need a break from the road or just want a reasonable place to relax.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank mdoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The Bullfrog will always be a vivid memory for me. Belize is a small country and Belmopan is the world's smallest national capital (by popluation). So, it makes sense that there isn't much of a market for 5 star hotels.

The best I can say it that it was adequate. It is an old motel that desperately needs updating. The room was cleaned everyday but the carpet looked like it was 40 years old. The restuarant was open on time and the food was edible. The bartender was unattentive and let me wait for my next drink repeatedly. I was fortunate to get a room on the very end so, ambient noise was never a problem for me.

There aren't many options in Belmopan. This may be the best in town.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The hotel is very old and desperately in need of renovation but it's really your only option in Belmopan. The restaurant is descent and the people are friendly. I wouldn't recommend for anything other than a business trip (which is probably the only reason you go to Belmopan.)

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — No business facilities, rooms are very outdated
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank creekgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stayed at the Bull Frog Inn during my business trip to Belmopan. Very cozy little place. Rooms were clean and very well lit.
Riight next to the lobby is the bar and the restaurant.
Breakfast was good, very inexpensive and filled me until dinner. Hotel is located 2 blocks from the US Embassy in Belmopan.
Staff was very helpful in giving safe options for nightlife (not alot of things are open during the week in Belmopan).
I recommend this place for business travelers or if your making a 1-night stop in the capital.

-Manny D.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank spenbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belmopan hotels
18.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
602 reviews
7.3 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
6.3 mi away
Rock Farm Guest House
Rock Farm Guest House
#3 of 17 in Belmopan
30 reviews
8.4 mi away
El Rey Hotel
El Rey Hotel
#5 of 17 in Belmopan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Frog Inn

Property: Bull Frog Inn
Address: 25 Halfmoon Ave, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bull Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Frog Inn Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing