We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot to Stay For ATM”
Review of Pook's Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pook's Hill Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Spot to Stay For ATM”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Thanks to the staff at Pook's Hill for a wonderful night and booking the best possible tour of ATM. We arrived just as the sun was setting and the staff immediately accommodated us with a seat in the open air lounge and a frosty beverage. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic and the rooms were beautiful. I only wish we had more time to stay!

The arranged tour early in the morning was also fantastic as we beat all the tour groups coming in from Hopkins, Belize City, etc. We were the only people in the cave for nearly the entire tour! Well worth the stay for this magical experience alone.

Room Tip: Only thing to note is bring ear plugs if the deep jungle sounds (especially the howler monkeys) woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    31
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
137
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were there in March - good time to go - no rain or major humidity - We stayed in #10 which is larger than some of the others & you cross a bridge/stream so it is away from the rest of folks except one other casita ?#11. We went to ATM w/ tour group & it was great to be the first ones thru the cave before lots of others. We loved the healthy food/clean rooms/comfortable bed. As others have said, it is NOT a resort but indeed, friendly & closest to ATM cave.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wherenext066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Pook's Hill was just the most amazing place to stay. First there's the tranquil jungle setting, lovely thatch cabanas, yummy food, extremely friendly and knowledgable staff and guides, home from home relaxed atmosphere and Vicky, the owner, who is an exceptional host and one of the most interesting people we've met in a long time. We went on several guided trips from the Lodge: Tikal, ATM cave, Black Hole and Belize Zoo. All were brilliant. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If it is jungle and nature you are looking for, Pooks is the place to go!! Any negative comments about Pooks were likely written by individuals who did not know what they were booking and expecting the traditional resort style accomodations. Pooks is anything but traditional in the standard sense.The Owner and Staff at Pooks are some of the friendliest and helpful you can fine. The guides are knowledgable and the absolute professionals in their field. Pooks is what a nature resort should be. There are few luxuries- i.e. there is no air conditioning, slow internet no swimming pool. It is a 6 mile dirt road into the lodge so one is isolated once you are there. But that is the perfection of Pooks. The nature trails are incredible. The wildlife is vast (lizards, birds, monkeys, butterflies) and ever present and the tours are some of the best we ever experienced. If you do anything, make sure you do the ATM. Because it is close to Pooks you will have it all to yourself. See Xunantunich and do the Cave Tubing and Zip Lining. We went in July and I think staff outnumbered guests. As expected, it is very hot and humid in July with rain coming in only periodic, short bursts.
I highly recommend Pooks as long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We Definitely Recommend Staying at Pook's Hill!

We took three teenagers with us and stayed three nights at Pook's Hill. It was the kid's first experience of staying in a Jungle Forest. The trails and River were great for hiking and exploring.

We took the tours of Caracol and ATM Cave that were arranged by Pook's Hill. Both were great, but the real advantage is Pook's Hill's proximity to the ATM Cave. Pook's Hill will make you get up extra early for the ATM Cave tour - it is well worth it. We were the first group to arrive at ATM Cave - that made all of the difference. As we were exiting ATM Cave lots of other groups were arriving. It would have been a much different experience if we had arrived later.

A few extra points:
The rooms were cleans and the beds were comfortable.
The owner is very knowledgable about the history and archeology of the area.
The location is remote and the road getting to it is pretty rough.
The staff was friendly and accommodating.
The drive to Caracol and ATM are very rough. My wife thinks that better vehicles are needed; I thought the vehicles were adequate.

But, as said before - We Definitely Recommend Staying at Pook's Hill!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Jefe_Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is one of the most unique places to stay in Belize or Central America. Hospitality is incomparable thanks to owner Vicki, always present, as well as Mike and George, who are perfect guides for the jungle walks. Comfortable and cozy rooms, extremely pleasant and tranquil atmosphere and with only 2 hours' drive from Belize City airport it is a perfect start to Belize. No bugs at all despite proximity to the rainforest.

Room Tip: Really, does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My two daughters and I were looking for a comfortable place to rest our heads as we wanted to explore the many treasures the country has to offer. Pooks Hill exceeded all of our expectations. Run by an accommodating and talented staff, every day was full of affirmations that things can be done well. The food was fresh, creative and full of vegetarian options. The well designed paths felt as though you were on your own private adventure... the water pressure was perfect and because they are so immersed in the community, they have the respect of the locals who can make every outing a perfect adventure. If you will be exploring the ATM, staying at Pooks Hill allows the earliest access which can completely change your experience. While our experience at Pooks Hill was with family... both daughters commented that it would be the perfect honeymoon spot. Agreed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
12.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
616 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
807 reviews
14.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
7.0 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
7.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pook's Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pook's Hill Lodge

Property: Pook's Hill Lodge
Address: PO Box 14, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pook’s Hill is a small eco-lodge situated within the primary rainforest of Western Belize. It borders a 7000 acre reserve and the Roaring River, and is only 4 miles from the ATM cave. Eleven thatch cabanas surround an ancient Maya site and look out over the jungle canopy. Each has a private bathroom with hot water and 24 hour electricity. Pook’s Tours offers a full range of day tours to attractions in Western Belize as well as transportation services to or from any destination in Belize and Tikal in Guatemala (it is a two hour drive from Belize City). Pook’s Hill provides visitors with truly unique jungle experiences in a breathtaking natural setting and is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the treasures of Western Belize. All management and operations at Pook’s Hill are carried out according to sustainable business practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pook's Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pook`s Hill Hotel Belmopan
Pooks Hill Hotel
Pooks Hill Cayo
Pook's Hill Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing