We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's all in the people”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The people make the trip. Mr. John gets to know everyone, Carolyn a lovely lady and a great artist, Carlos is a nice and knowledgable guide, Leisa checks on everyone's comfort, Jose a fun & caring cowboy, Adriel an entertaining food host, Jessica a sweet , young hostess, the efficient and pleasant front office, Lynn puts out a good meals & the cleaning crew. A convenient place to use as a central point for the ruins, cave tubing and, of course, horseback rides.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
46
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Banana Bank was nice to an extent. We liked our cottage, it was very spacious and cute. The outerwalls had huge screens (no a/c) which was ok, except the holes in the screens allowed in lots of bugs. Also, the noise from other cottages kept my kids awake at night. The food was ample and edible, but fairly bland. Lots of REI-type tours coming through. Horseback riding on the property was nice. The owners are clearly dedicated to the locals and there was a nice family feeling. Huge pool. Highlight for us was the on-property animals.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanstontwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We just returned from a week of riding and adventure at Banana Bank Lodge. We like to travel and have been all over the world but we have never felt so welcomed and well cared for at any resort. The owners, Carolyn and John Carr, are wonderful, warm hearted people. The staff felt like family and could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The food was homestyle and so good we will miss it. We had amazing rides in the jungle, through towns, by farms and through rivers. They have over 80 horses so you are sure to find one that fits your comfort level. We really felt very sad to leave even though we had stayed an entire week. We would definitely consider going back and would advise anyone who loves nature or riding to check it out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2010

One of the most exotic & beautiful places in the world...friendly people & delicious food! Can't wait to visit again!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarciSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We spent the last 3 days of an 11 day, 25'th wedding anniversary Belizian vacation at Banana Bank, and my only regret is not allowing more time to stay there. It is a wonderful place !!

We were a party of 9, age range 8 yrs to 52 yrs, and reserved 2 cabanas for our stay. They were very clean, roomy and comfortable. The housekeepers cleaned them daily, and were very polite and enjoyable. Actually, the entire staff was nothing but polite, friendly and helpful, and John and Caroline are living Belize history books, having lived 30+ interesting years there. (They really need to write a book about their lives...)

The horseback ride through the jungle is a must. Just walking around soaking in the beauty kept me occupied for hours. There is a wide variety of birds and animals on the property, many of them tame enough to pet or interact with. If the howler monkeys start roaring on the river, it's a fascinating experience.

If we make it back to Belize, (and we want to !! ) Banana Bank is a definite part of the trip, though I will plan at least a week there next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisArizona_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2009

to be in the middle of the jungle and wake up to the sound of howler monkeys was amazing. the rooms are comfortable and clean the grounds are well kept and the owner john and his staff are all wonderful, it was actually hard to leave because they had become such wonderful friends. if you stay at banana bank i absolutely insist you do the jungle hoarse back riding.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilsSt_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at Banana Bank as part of a group tour. The grounds are lovely, very scenic and it's great to watch the horses run free. The rooms were clean and very interestingly decorated but ours was very dark which in the heat of the summer is probably a good thing. Glen took us all horseback riding and was very patient with the few of us that were nervous. The food was mixed. Some of it very good some of it mediocre. We had a lunch a dinner and a breakfast there. They don't have much in the way of cocktails so bring your own. The only thing that really bothered me, and several others in our group also mentioned it, was that they had two monkeys chained at the neck and tied on runs between trees. I didn't understand why they couldn't simply make an inclosure for them. They had very nice inclosures for the birds and the Jaguar. Monkeys are very social animals and it just turned me off.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHGraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
14.5 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
602 reviews
22.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
10.9 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 12 in Belmopan
61 reviews
21.3 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure

Property: Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Address: Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rain-forest setting along-side the peaceful Belize River sits a jungle paradise. A place where horses roam, parrots, toucans, and macaws greet you with a tropical "Hello". You willbe in awe at the beauty and grace of our jaguar Tikatoo and other animals will delight your stay. Here you'll find adventure, great food, congenial hosts, exotic artwork and memories to last a lifetime. American and local cuisine dining, designer 65,000 gallon pool, 16" computerized telescope, Cafe Carolina, John Carr's Historical Collection, Carolyn Carr Art Gallery, birding experts, tour guides, cowboys and our helpful, friendly staff all ensure your stay at Banana Bank will be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bank Lodge & Horseback Adventure Hotel Belmopan
Banana Bank Lodge And Horseback Adventure
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing