We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

First let me say that the staff were wonderful. The owners are very friendly and I loved their pet boar, Juanita. The rooms were quite outdated and could use a bit of maintenance - you can tell this place was absolutely amazing when it was built in the 80's but hasn't changed much since. For that reason I felt it was a bit expensive. Our bathroom had a curtain instead of a door, which I wasn't crazy about, but it was clean at least. My entire group agreed that with a little paint, maybe some new corrugated plastic for the shower roof, perhaps new bedding, Banana Bank could be incredible once more. The horseback ride we went on was fun and our guides were very knowledgable. The food is family style and was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
46
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Where else can you step out of your room and come face to face with a jaguar? And have a pig follow you around like a dog?

The rooms were outdated, but they served their purpose. There was an encounter with a sizable cockroach, but I think that is almost to be expected in Belize. (I stayed in a very ritzy condo later in my trip, and they also had cockroaches).

I would not recommend this hotel if you want to sleep in during your stay. The birds in their aviary are beautiful, but start to be quite noisy around sun-up.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I just got back from an 8 day vacation at Banana Bank Lodge. We bought the "all around" inclusive package. Having read a review of it being dirty and not maintained, I looked closely when we arrived. The grounds and all the buildings were very clean and well kept. We stayed in one of the suites in a main building. But we spoke with other guests who were in the cabanas and regular rooms. All good reports. The food is all homemade and served family style in the thatch-roofed dining hall. yummy. I have to eat gluten-free and they provided for me well. The staff and guests are all very friendly.
We were so busy with the daily caving, ruins and/or horseback riding that we didn't get into the nice pool very much. It too was clean and just right in temperature. Their website is outdated and doesn't show it's character and the phone number listed is incorrect as of last 3-3-2012. But be warned, there is no glitzy nightlife on the grounds. After dinner you can go on a night horseback ride, look at the sky through the 14" telescope, go to the Cantina until 8:30pm or swim. No television, just nature and really good pina coladas. It was wonderful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The atmosphere was satisfactory but the accomodation was marginal. We had bugs and critters all over the sheets and beddings with worms crawling all over the side walls. The shower seemed as though it has not been cleaned in awhile. There is a general moldy smell or rotting wood as you enter the room. My wife had a great deal of difficulty sleeping because of constant coughing from the molds, which I assume is from the old wood paneling and structure.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites located above the office...they seemed much cleaner and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Yeah, couldn't resist that one. We just returned from a few days in Belize, and the Banana Bank is definitely worth a look if you want to stay inland from the Cayes. We used it as a base to go onto Tikal, cave tubing etc.Owners John and Carolyn Carr are lovely people, staff was attentive and friendly. We visited with them every day at meals.
If you are looking for '5 star' treatment with waiters scurrying around in uniforms, then this ain't it! But if you want an unpretentious lodge with a local flavour, then this is certainly worth a look. We would return in a second. Very kid-friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My teenage daughter and I spent a few nights at this ranch during our trip through Belize and were pleased with the experience. My daughter is an experienced rider and found the horses were of great quality and class. What's even more wonderful is that they roam about the huge property, more or less like wild horses would. The staffs were amazing and the family setting felt very welcoming. Meals are home cooked and the owners join you for supper with great stories about their adventures in Belize. The owners have a passion for animals (birds, jaguar, and monkey) and that is observed throughout the ranch. Some of the structures aren’t in perfect shape but it almost adds to the rustic feel of the property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanikaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

It's a dramatic arrival, banging a gong to summon a boat to cross the river (though the sound is more frying pan than Japanese emperor). Then it's a stride across beautiful open grass, with cabanas tucked around the place and horses trotting in the background.

We had great fun every meal time. It's a "family-style" sit with anyone affair, which meant chatting to other guests and staff - really interesting, open, welcoming people. The food was plentiful and delicious too.

We went on a guided horseback ride through the jungle. It was exciting and varied, going through jungle, teak plantations and open field. Cesar, our guide was friendly and had many interesting things to say. The cabana was beautifully decorated and they were spaced well apart from each other. We enjoyed the pool.

Cons
- We didn't go on any of their other tours, but the prices seemed more expensive than San Ignacio, despite being closer to some of the attractions. (Around 20-40 USD pp more expensive, we reckoned.)
- They keep a leopard in a small pen. I think it was rescued from somewhere, but still. It looked really depressed, and didn't have anywhere near as much room as the animals do in Belize Zoo.
- The toilets near the pool were dirty for two days in a row.
- The mosquito net on the bed was a bit dodgy.

Book ahead. Even in low season, the place was full. It's popular with groups. We were sadly only able to stay for two nights.

Room Tip: Book ahead, get a cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilllles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
14.5 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
22.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
12.3 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
10.5 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure

Property: Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Address: Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rain-forest setting along-side the peaceful Belize River sits a jungle paradise. A place where horses roam, parrots, toucans, and macaws greet you with a tropical "Hello". You willbe in awe at the beauty and grace of our jaguar Tikatoo and other animals will delight your stay. Here you'll find adventure, great food, congenial hosts, exotic artwork and memories to last a lifetime. American and local cuisine dining, designer 65,000 gallon pool, 16" computerized telescope, Cafe Carolina, John Carr's Historical Collection, Carolyn Carr Art Gallery, birding experts, tour guides, cowboys and our helpful, friendly staff all ensure your stay at Banana Bank will be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bank Lodge & Horseback Adventure Hotel Belmopan
Banana Bank Lodge And Horseback Adventure
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing