We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Magical experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel
Chico, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Magical experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beginning to end it was an amazing experience. Jaime was a delight and his son won our hearts forever. Beautiful setting. Clean, safe and hospitable accomodations.Relaxing. Felt like we were experiencing the real Belize. Laid back and caring people. Locals brought us dinner a couple of nights. Jaime treated us to amazing meal of Gibnut and breadfruit. Hiked to the waterfall for a surreal experience. Swimming pool is the best kind-clean and clear creek swimming. Mario took us on a fantastic cave tubing adventure that was worth every penny and then some. He is passionate about his country and shared so much. Gorgeous setting with a year round creek circling the property. Basic accomodations with everything in close proximity. Flexible on where you want to stay. We shared the bunk room with our friend and it was plenty big. Huge kitchen, clean showers, well cared for property...we will be back and will share with anyone just how wonderful it was! Thank You!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks whilst volunteering at the local hospital during our medical school elective. We loved it! Jamie was fantastic and let us stay in the owners private house because we were staying so long. We had our own kitchen, bathroom, lounge and porch to lounge on during our days off. Despite being a 30-40 minute bus ride from Belmopan it was well worth being somewhere so remote for the peace and spectacular views.
The creek and swimming pools are beautiful and if you fancy a little jungle trek you can follow the trail to a hidden waterfall and bask in the beauty of the jungle. Go here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy-Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a really nice time relaxing at the haven for a couple of days. The dorm beds are pretty standard but clean enough, you can use the kitchen which needed a good clean but it was fine.

Jamie who has been there running the place for the last couple of months was great. He made us dinner one night with the bread fruit they grow in the huge garden area. He also took us on a walk through their 90 acres of forest they own and showed us some of the jungle skills he's learnt over the years from Mr. Jones (lives down the road from the Haven and that's the place to tell the bus driver to stop at on the hummingbird highway to get to the haven). Jamie is really passionate about getting everything from natural resources and living off the jungle which was really nice to see.

We also did a cave tubing tour with one of Jamie's friends called Mario, who turned out to also be a big ball of knowledge when it came to the caves, the history of the place and Jaguars. Our cave tubing tour was $50 US per person which seemed expensive at first, but then once we started listening to Mario and were actually on the tour it was well worth it.

Toilets are all natural, you'll see the maggots eating away in the bottom...but it's good for the compost!

Food can be had down at Mr Jones' restaurant (just a shack really but Jamie will phone ahead and tell them you're coming), or there's a shop past Mr Jones' in the nearest village which is actually a good 2 and a half miles away. Again chuck Jamie a little cash and he will happily give you a lift in the van over there.

Overall this is a recommended stay to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had planned to stay one night at the hummingbird because of the great location. We ended up cancelling our other bookings in order to enjoy the nature, the people and the harmony unique to this place. It is the only place we are planning to revisit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusLeijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I arrived at Hummingbird Haven with the intention of staying 3 nights, but doubled that time because I felt like part of a family and it was so peaceful. This property is an eco-friendly retreat where you will get to spend time with the Belizean family that works there as well as hanging out with the super friendly and informative Michael, a long term resident of the co-op. Of course don't forget the property is on gorgeous river with swimming holes less than 100mtrs from the bunkhouse and a short climb to amazing waterfalls. The only things you need to bring are your sense of adventure and some food. which is not provided and the nearest village is about 5kms away, although Mr Jones next door is happy to cook dinner and also provides beer. Oh, by the way Michael you were right on all counts about Che Guevara

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My journey to Belize started with driving from Belize City to the Hummingbird Lodge. Miles and miles of beautiful jungle, crops and orchards lined the roads. Once you hit Hummingbird Highway, the drive is beautiful. It was not too hard to find the lodge during the day. We came in at night, which i do not recommend doing. Once we found the white painted rocks marking the turn in, we drove up the long fruitful driveway to an open clearing dotted with a few houses and freshly mowed grass. The hosts, Michael, and his son, Cameron, greeted us through the pouring rain and helped us unload our luggage for our three day stay. The location of the lodge is absolutely beautiful. A river wraps around the entire yard and has multiple swimming holes and tons of wildlife. We spotted toucans in a tree on the property our first morning and a tiger heron by the river. The lodge has over 150 different kinds of edible plants on its grounds. Its also located close to the Belize Zoo. The caretaker of the land, Jaime, was extremely nice and answered all of our questions about the jungle around us!!!! Overall, you will not regret visiting this lodge. Friendly people, amazing wildlife and an unforgettable experience await.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robdawg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hostel is cosy and minimalistic. A huge lawn and a lovely creek in the backyard to swim in. We camped in the garden, and the whole place was charming with it's small paths to the nice and outdoor toilets, junglehouse on the way on the lawn and with the jungle noises everywhere. The host Michael and his son were very welcoming and easy to talk to, and the gave us a ride to the city to buy groceries and a ride to Belmopan when our stay was over.
Good opportunity to get a taste of the jungle life with scorpions in the outdoor sink and the loud noises during the night.

Room Tip: The garden is nice to camp in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabineovesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
5.6 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
17.9 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Yaxche Jungle Camp
Yaxche Jungle Camp
#4 of 11 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 11 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
2.1 mi away
Toucan Ridge Ecology & Education Society (T.R.E.E.S.)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel

Property: Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel
Address: Mile 29, Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing