We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Hideaway”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My journey to Belize started with driving from Belize City to the Hummingbird Lodge. Miles and miles of beautiful jungle, crops and orchards lined the roads. Once you hit Hummingbird Highway, the drive is beautiful. It was not too hard to find the lodge during the day. We came in at night, which i do not recommend doing. Once we found the white painted rocks marking the turn in, we drove up the long fruitful driveway to an open clearing dotted with a few houses and freshly mowed grass. The hosts, Michael, and his son, Cameron, greeted us through the pouring rain and helped us unload our luggage for our three day stay. The location of the lodge is absolutely beautiful. A river wraps around the entire yard and has multiple swimming holes and tons of wildlife. We spotted toucans in a tree on the property our first morning and a tiger heron by the river. The lodge has over 150 different kinds of edible plants on its grounds. Its also located close to the Belize Zoo. The caretaker of the land, Jaime, was extremely nice and answered all of our questions about the jungle around us!!!! Overall, you will not regret visiting this lodge. Friendly people, amazing wildlife and an unforgettable experience await.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robdawg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hostel is cosy and minimalistic. A huge lawn and a lovely creek in the backyard to swim in. We camped in the garden, and the whole place was charming with it's small paths to the nice and outdoor toilets, junglehouse on the way on the lawn and with the jungle noises everywhere. The host Michael and his son were very welcoming and easy to talk to, and the gave us a ride to the city to buy groceries and a ride to Belmopan when our stay was over.
Good opportunity to get a taste of the jungle life with scorpions in the outdoor sink and the loud noises during the night.

Room Tip: The garden is nice to camp in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabineovesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

:) Great hosts who are super helpful!
:) Beautiful jungle nature!
:) A wonderful creek right on the property for swimming and cooling down!
:) Good facilities!
:) Easy access by public transportation
GO THERE!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was the most enjoyable stay on outstanding first backpacking trip through Belize. I enjoyed almost every place I stayed in Belize, but the Hummingbird Lodge was the best. It's not only the facilities (which are great), but it was the people who ran the place. Who thought I'd find such kindred spirits in the jungles of Belize? Guess you never know. Kind, understanding, helpful at all times, and very interesting as individuals. This place is not a resort. If you are into that kind of thing, stay away. But if you're looking for good accommodations, great surroundings, and an excellent atmosphere, you cannot miss this place if you are traveling through Belize. Michael, Cam, Jaime, Virginia, MUCH LOVE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hummingbird Lodge and Hostel partway down Belize's Hummingbird Highway is in a stunning setting. The buildings are in a clearing in the jungle along with coconut, banana and mango trees, pineapple and other native plants. A clear river with a fabulous swimming hole runs in a semi-circle around it. Beyond the river is the dense jungle and the Maya Mountains. We were there four nights; the staff was helpful and friendly. Campfires at night-even a movie for those who wanted to participate. There's a cozy bunkhouse and a few private rooms, and some guests camp in tents. Toilets are composting (no smell), in keeping with the eco-hostel theme. Showers are outdoors. Kitchen is hostel-style: a fridge for guests to keep their own food and do their own cooking. Wear light long pants and sleeves for bugs. Recommend it highly for the adventurous traveler.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The gang at Hummingbird were such a great bunch of people to hang about - I felt part of the family - it made it easy to stay on for that extra day. Which became a week.

And I guess the surroundings and wildlife were a plus, too - It might be on a highway, but this is Belize, and you'll be living on the edge of the jungle where a waterhole is shared with toucans and otters against a backdrop of always stunning sunsets.

Thanks for the smiles and positive energies ^^

Room Tip: Don't forget your bugspray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was there for 2 nights, and had a great experience. Some of the bugs are nasty, but hey, you're in the jungle! Also, where else in the jungle will you find potable water and hot showers? The people are friendly and the dorms were clean. While I was there, some cyclist stayed the night in a tent, and seemed to be having a good time. Wish I could have stayed there for the pineapples to ripen, but they were still small. Additional cool stuff includes swimming holes and waterfalls. It's also pretty close to the caves, about 20 min drive to cave tubing! There's a full kitchen to prepare your meals as well, so overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
5.6 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
17.9 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Yaxche Jungle Camp
Yaxche Jungle Camp
#4 of 12 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 12 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
2.1 mi away
Toucan Ridge Ecology & Education Society (T.R.E.E.S.)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel

Property: Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel
Address: Mile 29, Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Guest Lodge & Hostel Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing