We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming in a Mayan cenote!”

Blue Hole National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Day Trip To Crystal Cave and Blue Hole National...
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Blue Hole Natl. Park is gorgeous! We loved swimming in the blue hole - turquoise, clear water in a jungle setting! There is also a cave (St. Herman's) that you can hike into partway, or further if you hire a guide!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Vacationers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blue hole"
in 183 reviews
"hummingbird highway"
in 32 reviews
"refreshing dip"
in 16 reviews
"herman's cave"
in 36 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 8 reviews
"quick stop"
in 13 reviews
"cool off"
in 15 reviews
"natural pool"
in 8 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 12 reviews
"cold water"
in 12 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 4 reviews
"fun stop"
in 4 reviews
"fish swimming"
in 4 reviews
"short visit"
in 4 reviews
"short walk"
in 14 reviews
"nice swimming"
in 4 reviews
"refreshing stop"
in 4 reviews
Filter

355 - 359 of 429 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent an amazing day birding at the Blue Hole, exceptional, untouched beauty with a great trail system. Ricky, our guide from The Lodge at Chaa Creek was our birding guide and specialist. In seconds Ricky could identify any bird and point out exactly where it was for some spectacular sightings. The Blue Hole is incredible and very inviting, and Hermann's Cave was quite fascinating as well.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank noire48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Would not make a long drive just to go here, but worth stopping if you are driving Hummingbird hwy anyway. The blue hole is pretty small, not all that scenic. But good for quick cooling dip. There is a carpark right at the blue hole itself; no need to walk from vis. center if you have car.
Did the US$40 1.5 hour guided walk thru dry part of St. Hermans cave. Its a bit rugged with a few nice formations and large chambers.

1  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited Blue Hole National Park as part of an inland adventure offered by the Hamanasi Resort (stay here!!!!!). We did the cave hike, and it was much better than I expected! There were many interesting cave formations, and you feel like a real explorer as you hike, scramble and climb your way along the nearly mile-long path with just a headlamp. There are Mayan pottery shards inside the cave, and it used to be used by shamans "in training." The paths to and from the cave are really beautiful, and if you take your time you'll see a variety of birds. Afterwards, we took a much-needed dip in the Blue Hole "pool" and had a picnic lunch under the trees. Bug spray is a must, and I would recommend long pants in the cave, as there was at least one time I had to crawl on my knees. It was very warm and humid in the cave when we visited in March, so no need to dress warmly. The blue pool is smaller than I expected, but very lovely. I wish I had brought my snorkel mask to look at the fish in the water. The hummingbird loop is a nice path--bring the binos if you're a birder!

Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

a nice 1 mile climb up a path, into the jungle. the water was gorgeous but bring bug spray.lots of bird watching

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank manakin-sabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hole National Park also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hole National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing