We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dream honeymoon!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in a Spanish Casita, which was beautiful. We had our own private porch with a gorgeous view. There was always fresh flowers as well, and they decorated our room so pretty every night. It was also very clean.
There is only one option for food when you are not on a tour- the resort. It's not cheap, but worth the price for the three course meal for dinner every night. We ate so much good food!
We definitely recommend taking the free hike the resort offers. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly, and the view is spectacular! We were also some of the first people to swim in the new pool, which is amazing. It's beautiful and so much fun to swim while surrounded by mountains.
We took one tour, and that was to the local Mayan ruins, Cahal Pech. It was fun and informative and we would recommend it.
The one thing that I would say is that the resort is in the middle of nowhere, which is restful and beautiful, but also means there is not much going on at night or if you are not on a tour. I would recommend bringing a good book or two or a couple of games to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    53
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
127
371
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the lodge in August 2013 and had an amazing experience. If you are the sort of person who likes to wind down once in a while by connecting with nature (without having to live in total wilderness) then this is the place to be. The rooms and utilities are great, and the service is awesome. The surrounding jungle is pretty, there is a nice hike right around the corner which takes you to the top of the bell tower and gives you a great view of the valley, and the sleeping giant mountain. The nights are supremely serene, with sounds of the jungle surrounding you and clear and beautiful skies right up above. There are lots of things to do close by, the neighboring resort offers a number of adventure tours, definitely go for the cave waterfall rappelling tour- it is a must. And of course snorkeling- incredible underwater scenery-, Belize has to be one of the best destinations in the world for snorkeling or scuba.

One last thing is, this is not an all encompassing resort that you would find say in Cancun. If you are looking for something on those lines, then this is not the resort for you. If you want to go down and lose yourself in nature for a short while, then go all in!

Special mention to Shakira and Brian who do a great job of taking care of their guests!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank umd2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family and i stayed at the Sleeping Giant Lodge for 5 nights and absolutely loved it.

Everything about this trip was perfect. This place is a hidden treasure, on over a hundred

thousand acres of private forest. We were greeted at front desk with a rum punch by the lodge

manager Giovanni, who immediately took us to our beautifully designed and decorated Casita,

for a chance to relax and decompress before dinner. The casitas are impeccably clean and well-
kept with hand carved wooden furniture. We adore the outdoors bath tub where we soaked in

every night and look at the stars.

The first day we did a trip to Xunantunich which was excellent. We saw several spider & howler

monkeys and coatimundi. The second day we did the Waterfalls expedition which was about 90

minutes of caving thru fabulous caves and then up a series of underground waterfalls... which

were incredibly beautiful. The tour guides are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We could

not say enough great things about Erin, he pointed out all sorts of flora and fauna along the

trail on our hike to the Gazebo the third day. On our fourth day, we visited the Actun Tunichil

Muknal and this was without a doubt the highlight of our trips.

The restaurant is fabulous and service is second to none. The mixes of natural landscaping at the

Sleeping Giant are gorgeous. The pool was a nice added luxury, it felt wonderful to relax and

soak in the hot tub after a long day of adventuring.

Overall, we had an unforgettable experience with exceptional service and would return here in a

heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I visited Sleeping Giant on our honeymoon. They provided all travel accommodations (for a fee) to and from the airport which was very helpful. The food was amazing, the views spectacular, the cabana out of this world, and service top of the line. We were upgraded to their cabana which had a private outdoor bathtub, a shower with an outdoor view, a private porch, and a private place to hop in the stream. We also attended two cave tours during our stay that were fantastic as well. I would recommend this resort as a must-go-to if you are visiting Belize!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrgdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

sleeping giant was a small, quiet property. my wife and i were there on our honeymoon. the staff was outstanding and most employees referred to us by name. i felt they really tried to make sure we were happy and taken care of. The food, service, and grounds were all great as well. the casitas were outstanding; ours was new! the woodwork was beautiful. our only complaint was no bug screen over the outside tub which could have been more enjoyable in the evening, otherwise the room was better that expected. Plan excursions for the days because there is not much to do otherwise. the hike to the gazebo nearby was tougher than we expected but worth the climb once you got to the top. its no small gazebo either! and most important, bring bug spray because there is no gift shop or supplies around. cell service was scketchy and no tv, but we didnt need either on our trip. It was absolutely worth the stay and the service there only made it better because we enjoyed the plants and quiet nature of the property. The expansions there should be great. more casitas and the pool were still under construction. im sure its hard to build a pool in a rainforest, but when they do get done, it should be amazing... rainy season lasts till november so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: casitas are great, regular rooms are located on bottom floor of main building. the casitas are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank c t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We traveled end of October 2013 for our honeymoon, in which was Belize rainy season. The views are breathtaking at any angle. Freshly picked tropical flowers flood your private casita that are grown right outside the windows. The food by Chef Giovanni was amazing, particularly the steak for dinner and blueberry pancakes with freshly squeezed O.J. for breakfast. The service and staff at any hour of the day was amazing and very catering. Although we didnt get to do many excursions due to the rain, we did the zoo- which was an experience with many animals roaming freely. Our guide Darrel did all the animal calls to get them to come over to see us! Local stop on way back by Amigos bar and grill, yummy food and drinks! We also ziplined, which was the best of the trip! Definitely addicted to doing that experience again when we go back. Only advice is bring bug spray and ALWAYS zip every bag and keep shoes and open bags put away! I carried a tarantula back with me in my only opened bag of dirty clothes! EEK !!! Have something to do after 9 pm, the bar closes for early am excursions! We just brought our own card games and night caps :) ! Enjoy the breathtaking views and wonderful hospitality. Its a wonderful experience! They were building tree houses and swimming pool when we were there, its gonna be great, cant wait to revisit.

Room Tip: Try the casitas, they are your own private bungalow! Just be careful of night creatures and small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Crystafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon (Sleeping Giant for 4 nights and Almond Beach for 4 nights), and Sleeping Giant was fantastic. They are still building some parts of the resort, and you can tell the goal in a year or two from now is a continual add-on of buildings and things. It doesn't interfere with anything though, and honestly, it's kind of nice how small it is now. I'd say if every room had two people in it, there would be ~20 people or so max at this place.

My wife and I stayed in one of the casitas, and it was outstanding. The flower pedals on the bed, and the swans/elephants made out of the folding/rolling of towels was actually quite impressive. Whoever does the towel animals is talented, seriously. The casita is one large room, with a separated spacious bathroom, and an outside garden tub on a little patio. The outside porch-type area with the hammock and chairs and little table was ridiculously quaint. My wife and I both spent plenty of time in the hammock, which ours was right beside a running brook that runs through the property.

The on-site staff are extremely nice and accommodating, and the actual grounds themselves are beautiful. The food was really good too.

The tours that my wife and I did from here were the bird watching and the Mayan ruins (at Tikal), and both were great. The other two days we just lounged around and napped and hung out. The rooms don't have TVs, and honestly, I loved that they didn't. It gives plenty of time for talking and hanging out with whoever you're staying with.

Also, a few logistical notes are that you really don't have a choice of where to eat here. There is nothing that is just down the road or just off-site. You could eat some of the oranges from the trees around, but other than that, the on-site restaurant is the only place you'll get food. As resorts go, it's actually great priced, but it's not super cheap. But it's really good. Also, there are no clubs, shops, stores, etc. around either. When you go to Sleeping Giant, you go to Sleeping Giant and nowhere else unless you sign up for one of their daily tours. This isn't a positive or a negative, but just so everyone knows.

Room Tip: Casita #7 is right beside a little babbling brook and is absolutely wonderfully situated right up ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
19.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
279 reviews
21.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
273 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
19.5 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Giant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Giant Lodge

Property: Sleeping Giant Lodge
Address: Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleeping Giant Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge is a full service, Jungle lodge located in the foothills of the Sibun National Forest Reserve and surrounding by over a hundred thousand acres of untouched wilderness. The lodge offers a range of accommodations, amenities, adventures and all inclusive packages. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge - A Grand Jungle Expedition! About Sleeping Giant Lodge: -Official Base Camp for NatGeo Expeditions in Belize -Six "6" Time Traveler's Choice Award Winner 2015 for Belize & Central America -Spa Services -Complimentary Kayaks & Bicycles -Heated pool w/ Hot Tub -Gazebo Lookout Area -Sibun River- cleanest river in Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleeping Giant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Giant Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing