We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Property and staff were excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Giant Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Property and staff were excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of honeymooning in Belize. We went with a jungle and beach package so we started our vacation at the Sleeping Giant Lodge. We had such a great time. The lodge was beautiful and well kept. Our room had fresh cut flowers, the cutest towel animals, and a large comfortable bed. We stayed in a Spanish casita. The room also had a beautiful deck that was right by a creek. One evening, there were flower petals in the shape of a hear with champagne waiting for us. It was also very private.

The food was amazing. We had an all inclusive package while we were there which was great because there was nothing nearby and the food was delicious. Everything I ate was amazing. The first day we arrived after lunch was usually served, but they provided us with lunch anyways. This was the only lunch we had because we had excursions the other two full days we were there. The bartenders were fun. Local rum and beer were also included and we enjoyed our fair share. We hung out there in the evening before we retreated to our deck to enjoy the night. The breakfasts and dinners were great. The dinners were multi-course and we were both very full from them.

We had two adventure tours included in our package. We went with the zip lining/ cave tubing and the black hole drop. They were both a lot of fun. The hike was challenging with the black hole drop, but the guides paced it very well. We also took out the kayak on the river behind the lodge. We were sad to leave but looking forward to the beach. I would go back and recommend this place in a heartbeat! Every staff member was kind and friendly.

Room Tip: The spanish casitas were large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniP954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
348
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A group of 7 if us spent 4 nights at Sleeping Giant Lodge several weeks ago and found it to be a wonderful place to relax, eat excellent food - and birdwatch! Staff, including Emerson, the manager, and Brian went out of their way to make us all feel at home and to accommodate our needs. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. This trip was geared towards birdwatching, and you did not need to leave the lodge to see a wonderful selection of tropical birds. I highly recommend Sleeping Giant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMGRiverton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this rain forest lodge. My husband and I was welcomed by Brian 3 times who showed us around the lodge area while we waited for Emerson (manager). While checking in, Brian got us drinks and a plate of sliced mangerines (3 times larger and sweeter than a tangerine). Emerson proceeded to show us around the grounds and our room. Everyday our room was decorated with fresh flowers and towels were folded into various designs... pinwheels, elephants, sailboats. It is a great location to start your various tours, caving, ruins, hiking, or just relaxing.There is biking, kayaking, swimming in the river, right at the resort. It is a small resort making it more intimate. The food was excellent. What really made our stay was the staff. Those we met - Brian, Emerson, Cleveland, Amelia, Tom, Arlen, and those we did not meet including housekeepers, and groundskeeper are the ones who truly made our stay memorable. They are "Sleeping Giant." We are looking forward to our return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room located in the lodge below the bar. Since it is small and intimate, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhbrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Springs, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our stay at the Sleeping Giant was just fantastic! The environment is great. The staff are great. The food was amazing. The experience was one of a kind! Very relaxing, yet lots to do. The day trips that they offer were hard to choose between. We were not disappointed by any of them - and, the guides were great - very welcoming and educational. We have been all over the world and were extremely surprised to find such an awesome vacation so close to home. There are so many places to see in this world that I have never thought about going back to one; Belize and the Sleeping Giant has changed that! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Casita. How charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Respite, peace, silencing the world around. This lodge, everything about it from the people and service to its remote location and rooms, offered a wonderfully unexpected vacation. Everyone was very friendly, incredibly helpful, and respectful. There are some fun tour opportunities while at this lodge including horse-back riding, cave-tubing, and others. Take one! Then come back to the rainforest and relax, refresh, and push life's little reset button!

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I love traveling and when we came upon an amazing opportunity to spend a week in Belize we took it. The Sleeping Giant is a 5 star resort! The landscape is breathtaking, almost "postcard-esque". The staff was very friendly and the food was some of the best I have had anywhere. Since we stayed there near the end of October, which is considered their off season, we had nearly no occupants staying with us at the hotel. Pretty much had the place to ourselves! And by the way end of October is a great time to visit. We were a little afraid it would be raining the whole time, but in fact we had no rain at all. Beautiful! Our bedroom was gorgeous with a waterfall shower and new towel animals made every day for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to visiting again soon in the future.

Room Tip: Take the kayaks down the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Sleeping Giant Lodge is the perfect getaway for anyone traveling to Belize. It is off the beaten trail, per say, but the ride from the airport was easy and full of beautiful scenery. While at the lodge, there are plenty of amenities to keep one occupied, including kayaking, bike rides, volleyball, and (my favorite) the bar. If (or more, when) you and your group feels like branching out and going on a cave tubing adventure or horseback riding or whatever you want to do, you can be there in no time and Sleeping Giant will insure your adventure is set up properly.
The estate itself is meticulously maintained, we couldn't find a single thing to complain about! More can be said of the amazing wildlife, culture, and beauty that surrounds Sleeping Giant, but one must explore it themselves to really get a good feel!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Spanish Casitas, which are small studio-like houses secluded from the main l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaytronS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
21.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
19.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
19.5 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
12.7 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Giant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Giant Lodge

Property: Sleeping Giant Lodge
Address: Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleeping Giant Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge is a full service, Jungle lodge located in the foothills of the Sibun National Forest Reserve and surrounding by over a hundred thousand acres of untouched wilderness. The lodge offers a range of accommodations, amenities, adventures and all inclusive packages. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge - A Grand Jungle Expedition! About Sleeping Giant Lodge: -Official Base Camp for NatGeo Expeditions in Belize -Six "6" Time Traveler's Choice Award Winner 2015 for Belize & Central America -Spa Services -Complimentary Kayaks & Bicycles -Heated pool w/ Hot Tub -Gazebo Lookout Area -Sibun River- cleanest river in Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sleeping Giant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Giant Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing