We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cottage leaves nothing to be desired”
Casa Alta - Exterior / Sun deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Alta - Exterior / Sun deck
Casa Alta - Side view sun deck Casa Alta - Outdoor kitchen w/ gas stove and oven
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Casa Alta - Exterior / Sun deck
Casa Alta - Side view sun deck
Casa Alta - Outdoor kitchen w/ gas stove and oven
Casa Alta - Outdoor Kitchen Sink
Casa Alta - Outdoor Kitchen w/ fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster
Casa Alta - Dining Table on Screened-in Verandah
Casa Alta - Lounge Area overlooking the River
Casa Alta - Open Studio-style Floor Plan with sofa bed.
Casa Alta - King size bed
Casa Alta - Bedside table made out of wood from the property
Casa Alta - Panorama view interior w/ optional queen size bed on the right
Casa Alta - Sofa Bed
Casa Alta - Floating Desk made of hardwood found on property
Casa Alta - Floating Desk made of hardwood found on property
Casa Alta - Bathroom
Casa Alta - Bathroom
Casa Alta - Sun chair
Casa Alta - Bathroom
Casa Alta - Amenities
Home-grown and hand-picked fruits right from the trees of Casitas Calinas
Grounds at Casitas Calinas
Casa Alta - Views
Palapa with hammocks overlooking the river at Casitas Calinas
Belize River Bank at Casitas Calinas
Private beach area on the river at Casitas Calinas
Belize River Bank at Casitas Calinas
Trail along the creek at Casitas Calinas - exclusively for our guests
Howler Monkey at Casitas Calinas
Butterfly at Casitas Calinas
Tree-frog at Casitas Calinas
Iguana at Casitas Calinas
Solar System at Casitas Calinas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Belmopan, Cayo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hm-holida...
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This cottage leaves nothing to be desired”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

After having one beautiful week in Casita Bonita, I decided to book the big guest house, Casa Alta, for another week in august. What should I say? I was stunned!

The house is well furnished: With a big shower, a spacious living area with glass sliding doors, kitchen and dining area on the screened veranda as well as seats on the non-screened part of the veranda it leaves nothing to be desired. There are also some nice places on the property to relax and enjoy, for example a small palapa with two hammocks inside or the benches at the riverside. As I mentioned in my rating of Casita Bonita, you can grab your breakfast egg every morning fresh from the chicken coop - probably unique in Belize...?

With a little bit of luck you catch sight of big iguanas, howler monkeys, spider monkeys, toucans, parrots or jaguarundis...

A big thank you to the owners, Nadja and Silvan, for creating this wonderful place. I'm sure, that wasn't my last stay at Casitas Calinas :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slightly...
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful jungle vacation”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is our third time staying at Casitas Calinas. We love the location - about 45 minutes from the airport, on the Belize River, close to other attractions. We have found everyone to be helpful and friendly and concerned that we have everything that we need. If you enjoy howler monkeys, there were always a troop or two on the property in the trees.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing oasis in the jungle - and monkeys!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hard to say enough good things about Casitas Calinas. We have stayed with them multiple times, and the property has continued to improve. It's beautiful, with fruit trees, blooming orchids, and lots of wildlife. We traveled with a couple of friends and spent a lot of time in the new Casa Alta, though we slept in one of the other cabins. Casa Alta floor level is 8' in the air, with shaded parking underneath. It might not seem like much, but that 8' makes a huge difference. You feel like you are in the trees, and catch a better breeze. The living area + kitchen is screened, but otherwise open to the jungle on three sides. More than once while eating a breakfast of fresh eggs and fruit from the property we were entertained by a troop of howler monkeys in the riverside trees not more than a few hundred feet away.

The bedroom is huge, high-ceilinged and tastefully decorated, with a large glass sliding door and louvered windows to open it to the world, or close it against an evening chill.

Belize is a little country packed with tons of things to see and do, but when you want to hang out and relax in the jungle head for Casitas Calinas. We do.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakropf
Logan, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The casita is exactly what we were hoping for. I loved the outdoor kitchen! It was fully equipped with everything we needed to be able to prepare our meals each day. The dining area and a little sitting area are all connected to the outdoor kitchen. It's all screened in so bugs weren't a problem, which is a huge plus. We spent most of our evenings out there visiting and listening to the beautiful sounds of the jungle.
Inside the casita is a beautiful open concept design. The hardwoods are gorgeous! Silvan informed us that they used wood from fallen trees on the property to build the shelves,the bathroom countertop, and the very cool floating desk. They have a great eye for design!
The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Linens were all great quality! There's air conditioning in the casita, but we only used it in the evening to cool down. Some nights we just opened the windows and the breeze kept it cool enough.
I love that Casitas Calinas operates off the grid. The solar powered set up is really cool! We scheduled a tour with Silvan to show us how it all operates... He did a wonderful job of simply explaining how it all works. They have a great system in place.
Highlights from our stay at Casitas Calinas...
* Seeing the howler monkeys up in the trees right there on the property.
* Stepping into a stream that has little fish that will clean the dead skin off of your body.
* Learning about the solar powered energy that's used to power the casitas.
* Being about to collect fresh eggs from the chicken coop for breakfast.
* The peaceful environment and gorgeous views in every direction for as far as the eye can see.

Silvan and Nadja were such gracious hosts. They will make sure that you're taken care of. I would most definitely recommend Casitas Calinas to anyone wanting to experience a home away from home in the jungle of Belize.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chienfou...
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carefree Casitas Calinas”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful visit to Belize, where we had the good fortune to book the cabins at Casitas Calinas outside of Belmopan in the Cayo district.
The group included my wife and I in one cabin (with our 5 year old grandson), and our daughter, son-in-law and 17 month old granddaughter in the other cabin.
We stayed for 6 nights and had a fantastic time, using the Casitas as a base to visit the market in Belmopan, Belize Zoo, Xuanantunich Mayan ruins, San Ignacio, Blue Hole National Park, St. Helena’s Cave, and even an overnight trip to Guatemala to see the Tikal site.
The cabins were clean and comfortable, with all the needed amenities, including a coffeemaker, compact fridge, full stove, and an assortment of pots/pans/utensils. Everything was in working order, and the A/C unit was more than adequate for the size of the cabin. Water was good (and plentiful), and the grounds were splendid, with a vast assortment of tropical plants and flowers, as well as colorful birds, lizards, basilisks and the occasional howler monkey. There are numerous paths and trails that can be walked on the property, and the river that runs through it was great for a quick dip or a leisurely tube ride to cool down. The small extra fee for the ‘relax’ package includes access to the sporting equipment, A/C, and ‘starter’ groceries, which turned out to be enough for a dinner, a couple of breakfasts, several pieces of fruit, and virtually all our coffee/tea needs (and even a couple of Belikins!). You will even get 2 loads of laundry done during your stay as part of the package.
One of the most interesting parts of the stay was the power system that makes it all possible. Since Belize has a ‘less than universal’ power grid, the entire Casitas Calinas grounds is run off of solar power with a generator backup. This proved to be sufficient for all our needs, especially given that we only ran the A/C for a couple of hours at bedtime to cool off the cabin while we slept. Once cooled, the overhead fans were more than sufficient to keep the rooms comfortable overnight. The units were sized to cool the space efficiently and quickly, so there was no need to run them all day long while we were otherwise occupied. The technology is very interesting, and Silvan is more than happy to share his knowledge and tour the power plant with you if you are so inclined (WE definitely were!)
Come to relax in the abundant hammocks, enjoy the beautiful surroundings, and drift down the river. Enjoy fresh eggs from the free-range chickens in the morning and various fruits from plants located outside your door when in season. Casitas Calinas is a perfect spot to stay put or use as a base to visit Belize further. We will definitely return if we ever get back that way…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were super helpful and always available for and questions
Liked least: only stayed 6 nights... wish we had had more time!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing