We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Belmopan.”
Review of Villa San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa San Juan
Ranked #6 of 17 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Belmopan.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very clean and in a good location near the bus station. Omar was very professional and hospitable. However, he didn't help us organize our tours. We were expected to book them ourselves. It's a very ticky tack criticism in an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KineticCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
2
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a spacious, clean, modern home/B&B with very nice and friendly hosts. Breakfast was excellent. We only stayed one night as we were catching a flight home the next day and it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We feel very lucky to have stayed with Omar and Ellen at their home/B&B in Belmopan. We spent our first two nights in the country with them. They were very gracious hosts and the first people who introduced us to the warmth and openness which we have found tobe common among the locals we have met during our two week stay here. Their home is bright and clean, the pool was lovely and it was great to be able to use the kitchen. They provided helpful information and suggestions for the time we were there as well as for our trip south to Placencia. Ellen's breakfasts were fantastic! And Omar deftly got my laptop and iPad connected to Wi-Fi as soon as we arrived. This was so much nicer than staying at a hotel. I think whether we return for a short or long stay to Belmopan, I would hope to stay with them again. In fact, we wished we had stayed a few more days as Belmopan is a fairly central place from which to go to various parts of the country such as San Ignatio, Orange Walk and Corazol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Villa San Juan exceeded my expectations in every way. This stay was a month long and prior to arrival, I was a bit apprehensive about my first trip to Belmopan. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the facilities at Villa San Juan were clean and relatively new. My suite had a full sized everything, i.e., kitchen/gas range/fridge/washer/dryer. The bed was comfortable and each bedroom has its own television and air conditioning unit. Bathrooms are large and clean. The outdoor patio and swimming pool were also very nice. The facilities are only half of the Villa San Juan equation.

Each morning we were treated to a home cooked breakfast with freshly brewed coffee. The breakfast always included fresh fruit and fruit juice. The hosts were available but not intrusive. On occasion they would stop in with a tasty treat of some sort. This may be as simple as a pitcher of coconut milk that Omar would harvest from one of the poolside trees or maybe a delicious hand crafted dessert. I enjoyed this stay enough that I hope to return with my family in the very near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed with a group at the Villa San Juan for a week in July 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. The Villa was a 'home away from home' - comforable, classy. And the meals were excellent - well-balanced and characteristic of Belize. (We were introduced to the frutit pitaya.) We felt as if we were at a luxurious hotel owing to the treatment of the owners and the professional manner in which the arrangements were handled. Also, I thoroughly enjoyed the pool which has an interesting design. Given the opportunity, I would definitely return some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Villa San Juan while on our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it! Omar and Ellen are wonderful hosts. Very accomodating and helpful (and Ellen's breakfasts were always great-- she even packed us a travel breakfast on the day we had to leave too early to sit down for a proper breakfast).
We absolutely loved staying in Belmopan. It is centrally located and allowed us to visit so many places very easily (San Ignacia, Xunantunich, ATM Cave, Belize Zoo, cave-tubing, national parks) and we easily made a day trip to Caye Caulker on the coast. Belmopan is very quiet and not very touristy (as opposed to San Ignacio, where you are accosted by vendors with every step) but has everything you need, including amazing street food. My wife and I had fantastic Belizean feasts for lunch at some of the countless food stalls and roadside stands, usually for around $10BZ ($5 US... for both of us)!
The grounds at Villa San Juan is a great oasis. Beautifully kept, with an awesome pool to relax in after a hot day exploring in the jungle! We would highly recommend staying there. You have quick access to so much of the best that Belize has to offer while avoiding the tourist and cruise ship crowds.
We would highly recommend the Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM cave) tour, which is only 20 minutes away and probably the coolest thing we have ever done! Also take a drive down the Hummingbird Highway... there is beautiful unspoiled countryside everywhere.

Thanks to Omar and Ellen! We can t wait to return to Belize and Villa San Juan (maybe on our 5 year anniversary!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
169 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here based on Trpadvisor recommendation. It was a good decision. The place is located in a quiet neighborhood, the rooms are comfortable and the service provided by the owners is very good. They are nice real people. I would certainly return here.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belmopan hotels
12.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Rock Farm Guest House
Rock Farm Guest House
#3 of 17 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super Palm Resort
Super Palm Resort
#4 of 4 in Belmopan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
2.3 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Juan

Property: Villa San Juan
Address: 3639 Tangelo Street | Cohune Walk, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast near Belmopan City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Juan Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing