We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
37
18
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
18
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe trip nice place to stay private bathroom drinking water the river free wifi thatched roof unique experience guide tours animals eco lodge adventure
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 60 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2016

This was an awesome little excursion. We purchased it in port and ended up going with another couple from another ship. The four of us had a great time together.

The guide was able to call the monkeys down out of the tree and could even get the alpha male howling at us. So cool to see them out in the wild like that!

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank xplnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

I have used Monkey Bay now over a dozen times, as a basis for a field course that I teach, as a site for research, and as a family holiday anchor point. It is a wonderful and safe environment. If you are looking for a central point from which to explore or do work in Belize, I would highly recommend this location. They have a range of accomodation from very rustic to extremely comfortable cabins (with an equal price range). The food is great on site, with easy walking distance to two other eating establishments. Safe, clean, friendly.

Room tip: Check with managers as to whether a student group will be present at the same time decide on how distant or close you want to be located.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2016

I came to Monkey Bay 25 years ago. It was rustic, but clean and peaceful.
Today, they offer a full range of accommodations as well as Student Abroad Programs, As well as Environmental Education, field trips and really good food.
A must see for a first timer in Belize. Go have a swim too...

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarefootSkinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016

The people of Monkey Bay and the fellow volunteers and students we met made our time here something we will never forget. We have new forever friends and we are so grateful for their hospitality and support during our summer of service in Belize. Marga and Matt lead a wonderful team of people who are there to help you get the most our of your time in Belize, be it service, education or adventure.
Getting used to completely different culture, climate, flora and fauna is not always easy but we sure had fun and learned so much. Be open to new experiences and take every opportunity to challenge yourself with daring adventures - You'll be so happy you did.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BoulderBieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We stayed at Monkey Bay for a night just as a stop off to break up our journey. We were pleasantly surprised by everything really! We were put in the dorm room, as they realised we had 3 little kids and perhaps going to the bathroom outside would not be ideal, they offered us this room which had a bathroom inside. There was 6 single bunk beds so each of us had our own bed, which our kids found hilarious. It was sparkling clean but the showers were freezing. The food was great and plentiful as well. We did a jungle walk (basically a long walk down a dirt road to the river) with a guide, which I would probably not recommend, although the river was nice (but there is a current so you have to watch little ones).

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews