We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
38
18
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
18
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe trip nice place to stay drinking water private bathroom the river free wifi thatched roof unique experience guide tours animals eco lodge adventure
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 61 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We stayed at Monkey Bay for a night just as a stop off to break up our journey. We were pleasantly surprised by everything really! We were put in the dorm room, as they realised we had 3 little kids and perhaps going to the bathroom outside would not be ideal, they offered us this room which had a bathroom inside. There was 6 single bunk beds so each of us had our own bed, which our kids found hilarious. It was sparkling clean but the showers were freezing. The food was great and plentiful as well. We did a jungle walk (basically a long walk down a dirt road to the river) with a guide, which I would probably not recommend, although the river was nice (but there is a current so you have to watch little ones).

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015

Had a super stay at Monkey Bay. This place is peaceful and quiet. A nice getaway and the grounds are maintained and very nice. Fiona is an excellent hostess and efficient office manager. Enjoyed talking with Marga and Matt about the history and Belize Study Abroad programs being offered. They are both a wealth of information on Belize, eco tourism and environment. Stayed in a dorm room with 3 bunk beds. The restrooms and showers were very nice and very clean. Dining hall was super nice. Wifi was efficient. They have a great reference library. Was given a sneak preview of new cabanas being constructed. Will definitely be visiting here again in the future.

Thanks for a great visit.

Room tip: I stayed in one of the newer dorm rooms downstairs.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank morningstar1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015

This visit to Monkey Bay was a site visit for a future student program. The staff at MB made us feel so welcome and took great care of us. Every detail was taken care of every single day. For example, most nights, we returned after dark...and found the outdoor light on our cabin on, welcoming us! The level of professionalism in planning and communicating is unparalleled. They listen for your needs and objectives, then draw upon their vast network of sites and organizations to put together an exemplary program. Food was great - better this trip than previous trips. Lodging is comfortable and adequate, but not flashy. Good internet access...although we found that Dell computers don't handle the tropics well. Running a student or group trip through MB is a no brainer...they do the work, you take advantage of an amazing international experience.

Room tip: Mountain View Cabin has best scenery as long as you don't need air conditioning.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2395Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015

On a recent trip to Belize to scout out the area as a potential site for college student study abroad opportunities, two colleagues and I stayed at Monkey Bay. Matt and Marga Miller, the owners and caretakers of the wildlife sanctuary, picked us up at the airport and provided transportation for us through the week long stay. Monkey Bay is located in a rural area of Belize, away from the resort areas, and, thus, is rustic accommodations in comparison, but beautiful, nonetheless. Visitors stay in non-air conditioned cabins or dormitories (though there was a fan available), and windows are screened, so we did not have a problem with bugs. We met in the dining hall for meals, which were delicious (chicken prepared in a variety of ways, rice and beans are staples; desserts, fruit and fruit drinks were standard accompaniments to the delicious meals. Breakfasts were fabulous, particularly the homemade yogurt and papaya or pineapple with granola; eggs, bread, and a meat were also available. Guests serve themselves typically, unless there are large numbers in attendance, and they wash their own dishes). The staff at Monkey Bay was wonderful! We had our bags handled for us, and the office staff and kitchen staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. This is a great place to take children or teens, particularly when you want them to enjoy nature and not be tied to electronics (internet was available in the dining area). Showers and toilets were separate for males and females, though some cabins have their own toilets and showers. The whole place is kept clean and tidy. There are plenty of places for groups to meet for classes or discussions (some screened in porches or larger meeting areas or thatched roof chickees). Wonderful place to take groups of students, church groups, or families.

Room tip: The Mountain View cabin has a beautiful view of the Belizean Mountains. All rooms are quiet.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at Monkey Bay two years in a row on a service project. The food is amazing, the staff are dedicated and very kind and professional. The area has been transformed to be a beautiful eco-friendly place to experience Belize. The bedrooms are all very humble and simple, but they are clean and comfortable. Monkey Bay is a nice balance between meeting the comfort needs of foreigners and bringing an authentic slice of life in Belize to its guests. The stuff teach about water conservation as well as train guests on where to find partible water and bathing facilities. One of the coolest things there is an outhouse which has been crafted to provide sustainable energy via methane gas to the property.
The grounds are beautiful there are hammocks for guests to chill out and relax. There's a basketball court as well as a fire pit for group gatherings in the evenings. The owner is often on the grounds and is a remarkable visionary.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank travelvida5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews