We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant bunkhouses near to Belmopan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant bunkhouses near to Belmopan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at Monkey Bay for roughly 2 weeks whilst on fieldwork with university. The chicken bus goes straight through from Belize City via Belmopan (approx 2 hours, but 30$BZ cheaper than a taxi), and we could hop off right outside Monkey Bay - perfect! Luckily, I managed to shotgun the room by the wash facilities which was a lot cooler and comfier than the wooden bunkhouses where my fellow students stayed!

We had 3 meals a day prepared for us; breakfast and dinner were always superb, with a wide variety of food on offer. If you needed wifi, you could only access it around the central office area. The showers were something else though - be prepared for the shock of your lifetime early each morning! Showers and toilets were very clean though and well kept. They also offered a laundry service for 10$BZ, which was perfect at the time as we travelled in rainy season, with no opportunity to dry your clothes!

However, the location is approximately 10 miles outside of Belmopan and is in the middle of nowhere, so apart from Amigo's bar across the way, make sure you have something to entertain yourself. Also, I strongly recommend long sleeves and trousers after 5pm to avoid sandfly bites (they itch like hell) - I learnt the hard way on my first night there, sitting outside for 15 minutes in shorts and a t-shirt, but looking like I had chickenpox for the next 2 weeks.

Overall, brilliant place to stay and good value for money. The food was always superb!

Room Tip: Get a room with concrete walls if you can - its slightly less humid at night, and better protection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
12
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

No monkeys at Monkey Bay, but an excellent place for the weary traveller to take a break. Clean rooms and very friendly staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your time here. All the wonderful fruit trees are labelled. This is close to living nearer the earth. Dining is available on-site, with two restaurants and bars within walking distance. Take an hour hike to the river and enjoy a fantastic dip to freshen up.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mhoneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I came to Belize to volunteer at a local government school down the street from Monkey Bay. I had no idea what to expect, but I was thrilled with my experience. First off, the food is some of the most fresh and delicious food I have ever eaten. I fantasize about wishing I could eat it every day. The staff and tour guides were always friendly, smiling, and making sure everyone in the group was enojying there time. The staff also has a very vast knowledge of the surrounding area and wildlife. The grounds were clean as well as the lodging areas. There is a strong sense of family on the compound that makes it feel like home. Anna was amazing at setting up our trip intinerary and even brought us to walk through the local villiage she lives in. Chester, Mitch, Lincoln, Justin, Kenny, and all the otehr guides were always making us laugh and willing to help us with anything we needed. We also had some locals come and play music for us around the fire. There is a cool little bar right down the street (just a short walk up the road). I never visited but I heard good things from others who went. There is also an amazing river a short bus ride away that is perfect for an afternoon dip. Overall, I cannot wait to go back to Monkey Bay again.

Room Tip: The rooms I stayed in had fans and plenty of windows we could open. There are some single rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliab1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper Landing, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not only was the staff at Monkey Bay incredible, but the accommodations and services were awesome. I stayed here for a week during a volunteer service trip at the local school, and could not have been more happy to come back to Monkey Bay at night after a long day of work. The food was absolutely amazing, as well. It might be a bit rustic for the luxury vacationer, however I found the sustainability and location of it to be worth the minor inconveniences. We were in the large rooms which were more dorm style, because of how many of us there were. The water is all based on a catchment system from the rainfall, so there are designated faucets for drinking water. There was not air conditioning in most of the rooms, however the breeze usually keeps it at a bearable temperature. The only thing I was not warned about was that you should bring your own towels--preferably a quick-drying one. The humidity makes it very difficult for thick towels to dry. Overall, it was a really great experience staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MlcAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our high school has chosen Monkey Bay as our base for ecological and cultural explorations in Belize. We bring 25 ninth graders for an 8 day trip in February. We were met at the airport by friendly and informative guides, the bedrooms, showers and bathrooms were all clean and safe. The meals were always nutritious with many options, and they made the students VERY happy! Monkey Bay staff arranged expertly guided trips to Mayan sites, caves, canoe trips on the Sibun River, overnight trips to Cockscomb Jaguar Sanctuary, snorkeling in the Cayes and local farms. Our guides (Juan, Chester, Justin, Mitch) were all natives of Belize with a tremendous range of knowledge and experience to share. Monkey Bay also arranged for us to perform service projects at a local elementary school, which was a life-changing experience for our students. Our trip ended with a Creole drumming group helping us celebrate our new-found love for Belize.
And if that was not enough, when one of our students had a relapse of a medical problem, Monkey Bay founders Marga and Matt Miller quickly arranged EXPERT medical attention and drove us to the hospital personally. We could not be happier with our experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay in the Mountain View cabana. Co-founder Marga gave us an impromptu tour of the grounds and all of the flora and fauna and was terrifically helpful. Right next to good food and near the zoo, Monkey Bay is simple and sweet.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Monkey bay was a friendly and relaxed hostel an hour outside Belmopan. It served us very well as a base as we commuted to the local hospital in the city. The location was fantastic and the staff (especially the owners) were very friendly and very happy to help. The rooms and facilities were clean and overall it comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncanturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
11.9 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
20.8 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.8 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
9.5 mi away
Yaxche Jungle Camp
Yaxche Jungle Camp
#4 of 11 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yoli's Bed & Breakfast
Yoli's Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 16 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

Property: Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Address: Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary is an environmental education center offering Belize Study Abroad experiential learning programs and training opportunities while serving as a model of conservation land Stewardship. Our goal is to guide our guests and students in experiencing the natural wonders of the tropics and life in a developing country, recognizing the diversity of human potential through other cultures. We do this from a peaceful natural setting within a 1070-acre private protected area at our Monkey Bay campus where we experiment with sustainable living technologies and conservation land management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing