We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect REAL experience for Belize”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not only was the staff at Monkey Bay incredible, but the accommodations and services were awesome. I stayed here for a week during a volunteer service trip at the local school, and could not have been more happy to come back to Monkey Bay at night after a long day of work. The food was absolutely amazing, as well. It might be a bit rustic for the luxury vacationer, however I found the sustainability and location of it to be worth the minor inconveniences. We were in the large rooms which were more dorm style, because of how many of us there were. The water is all based on a catchment system from the rainfall, so there are designated faucets for drinking water. There was not air conditioning in most of the rooms, however the breeze usually keeps it at a bearable temperature. The only thing I was not warned about was that you should bring your own towels--preferably a quick-drying one. The humidity makes it very difficult for thick towels to dry. Overall, it was a really great experience staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MlcAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our high school has chosen Monkey Bay as our base for ecological and cultural explorations in Belize. We bring 25 ninth graders for an 8 day trip in February. We were met at the airport by friendly and informative guides, the bedrooms, showers and bathrooms were all clean and safe. The meals were always nutritious with many options, and they made the students VERY happy! Monkey Bay staff arranged expertly guided trips to Mayan sites, caves, canoe trips on the Sibun River, overnight trips to Cockscomb Jaguar Sanctuary, snorkeling in the Cayes and local farms. Our guides (Juan, Chester, Justin, Mitch) were all natives of Belize with a tremendous range of knowledge and experience to share. Monkey Bay also arranged for us to perform service projects at a local elementary school, which was a life-changing experience for our students. Our trip ended with a Creole drumming group helping us celebrate our new-found love for Belize.
And if that was not enough, when one of our students had a relapse of a medical problem, Monkey Bay founders Marga and Matt Miller quickly arranged EXPERT medical attention and drove us to the hospital personally. We could not be happier with our experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay in the Mountain View cabana. Co-founder Marga gave us an impromptu tour of the grounds and all of the flora and fauna and was terrifically helpful. Right next to good food and near the zoo, Monkey Bay is simple and sweet.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Adamsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Monkey bay was a friendly and relaxed hostel an hour outside Belmopan. It served us very well as a base as we commuted to the local hospital in the city. The location was fantastic and the staff (especially the owners) were very friendly and very happy to help. The rooms and facilities were clean and overall it comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncanturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ok Im going to start with good. It used to a great place for young people to get to know how people live in Belize. The tours to the ruins, caves, ect.. are great, the staff friendly. The accommodations minimal, but resonably priced. The food was great, a little pricy but no complaints. Some Student groups would volunteer in the various communities in the area, doing home stays and working on improving school play grounds, ect...
But then they changed most of the staff an it seems that they have raised the prices of the accommodations, and reduced the quality of the service. The room we were in had no fan, and only one power outlet. We were tired so we borrowed the fan from the library, (Leaving no outlet in the room to charge a phone) an went to sleep. The next day we had a terrible rash, maybe from the laundry soap or water? I don't know.. I don't like giving places a bad rep, but this stay there was not satisfactory, the room price seem'd high, especially with no fan!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent a night here in Mountain View, which is perfect for a couple or small family. The Millers are wonderful hosts and it's a sanctuary, indeed. Dawn is very beautiful, the food is great, and it's a terrific place to spend the night when traveling in Belize.

Room Tip: Stay in Mountain view, if possible
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_Starwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at the sanctuary for a week, doing some volunteer work as a short-term intern (usually they have a minimum stay of four weeks) with three friends. The atmosphere at Monkey Bay was relaxed and very friendly. Breakfast served at 8am, lunch at noon and dinner at 6pm. Each meal has a buffet-type structure where you serve yourself. Their meals have a lot of variation but often based on traditional foods, including rice and beans, fry jacks. The accommodation was simple, but we rarely spent more time than sleeping in there. I shared a room that had two bunk beds with two friends. Having a spare bunk was really nice because the room would have been really cramped with a fourth person. They have two fans in each room, which help a bit during the night but it's still very warm! Shower and bathroom facilities are shared. They have taps with drinking water, which was very valuable, as well as internet connection. We went on the jungle trail during the day and saw quite a bit of wildlife (although you see more during the night tours), including grasshoppers, lots of birds, and the highlight was seeing a toucan (very rare, the first time our tour guide had seen one in the wild!). A stop at the river on the way back is very refreshing! The sanctuary is really close to the zoo, which is definitely worth a visit!!! We spent about three hours at the zoo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lui1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
13.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
23.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
9.6 mi away
Jaguar Creek
Jaguar Creek
#2 of 13 in Belmopan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary is an environmental education center offering Belize Study Abroad experiential learning programs and training opportunities while serving as a model of conservation land Stewardship. Our goal is to guide our guests and students in experiencing the natural wonders of the tropics and life in a developing country, recognizing the diversity of human potential through other cultures. We do this from a peaceful natural setting within a 1070-acre private protected area at our Monkey Bay campus where we experiment with sustainable living technologies and conservation land management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing