We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great Experience

We had a great time seeing all of the beautiful butterflies and learning about the full life cycle... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
andrewlombardo
via mobile
A fascinating butterfly factory

We visited on a very hot day 40 Celsius. The tour was fascinating and they took us through where... read more

Reviewed April 15, 2019
adventureismyname
,
athens, greece
Read all 128 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cayo
from $90.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
88
31
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
88
31
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful butterflies life cycle different species humming birds various stages under new management stages of development beautiful estate love nature viewing area great place to visit answered all our questions bird watching couple of hours long drive knowledgeable guide take pictures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2019

Greenhill Butterfly Farm is a beautiful, peaceful place to visit. Nestled in the hills outside of San Ignacio it is well worth a visit. We arrived a little early and were greeted and welcomed in to see the beautiful butterflies and the ‘nursery ‘ for the caterpillars as they go through their life cycles. We stayed for a couple of hours enjoying the butterflies and watching the emerging new butterflies nd also sitting in the hummingbird gazebo thoroughly enjoying the many, many hummingbirds visiting the feeders. It is the kind of place that is hard to leave, they do a great job.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank FSMWNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbutterflyfarm, Owner at Green Hills Butterfly Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

Thank you for the great review.
Everyone puts in a great deal of effort at Green Hills. Your comments make it all worth while.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful estate and butterflies and informative short show-and-tell of caterpillar to butterfly stages don't make up for a USD$20 per person ticket price. I would expect that price in the States, not in Belize, but perhaps that's what you get for a new, absentee Colorado-based owner.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank bjktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbutterflyfarm, Owner at Green Hills Butterfly Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Rude and very inaccurate posting by someone with an obvious personal grudge.
Normally people comment on what great value Green Hills represents and fully appreciate the great expense we go to in our efforts to preserve the Flora and Fauna of the dwindling Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

Today we traveled to a delightful place in the jungle, at mile 8 of the Pine Ridge Road in Belize. in the newly re- opened Green Hills Butterfly Ranch we found amazing things. The buildings have been rebuilt and brought up to date. The inside of the Butterfly House is great, it has beautiful jungle setting which even has a small pond to cool you, no no swimming allowed although it would be a great idea. The Butterfly house has 7 species at the moment and growing. There are somewhere near 2000 of each species so that they can raise butterflies for world zoos etc. A very knowledgeable guide will take you around and show you each habitat and each of the butterflies, what they eat, how long they live. Once you have taken as long as you wish wandering through their garden your guide will show you the hatching system they use to keep their House full. Just part of the property is worth the entrance fee, however there is more. The gardens have been trimmed and different plants abound each with its own story. Then there are the hummingbirds we counted eight or nine different hummingbirds that come to their feeders. The sound alone is overwhelming, the butterflies make virtually no noise and the hummingbirds are noisily little birds roaring through sky all around you. I was missed by inches several times as they flew by. The humming birds are all free to fly where and when they want to no cages. If you love nature and you are out in this end of world I recommend you come and see this place the people here are happy to tell you all about there little charges. My wife took over 400 pictures while we were there for about 3 hrs. After you have taken the tour you are able to wander around the grounds looking at all the plants taking more pictures of the hummingbirds that are around or go back into the Butterfly house to take more pictures, If you have any questions about this Butterfly Farm please ask me I will be happy to tell you about our great time there. Would go back yes we would we actually plan on returning here next year when we are down again

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank DrMucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbutterflyfarm, Owner at Green Hills Butterfly Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

We really appreciate you positive report. People like you make everything we do worthwhile.
We are actually working on 20+ species at the moment. We have plans for more.
All of us at Green Hills look forward to welcoming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Under a mile walk from Mariposa Lodge, near San Antonio and San Ignacio. They breed the butterflies from egg to adult, explain and show samples of all stages of development for different types. Then you can spend as long as you like in the lovely butterfly enclosure as thousands fly around and land on you. There is also a viewing area for many different hummingbirds. Great for families. Entrance isn't cheap but worth it. We went in an evening and returned the next morning to see different types of butterflies being active.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

This attraction was not on our itinerary but our driver/guide recommended it as we were passing fairly close by. We were so pleased he did, and had a wonderful visit with expert information from Robin, the owner. We saw so many species and were shown the different stages of pupae to caterpillar development. The enthusiasm of the staff for the complete environment was evident. The humming birds were also exquisite and easily photographable from vantage spots. We were also pleased to note very clean, flushable toilets!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbutterflyfarm, Owner at Green Hills Butterfly Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you again. Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews