We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Green Hills Butterfly Ranch
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
92
34
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
34
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful butterflies life cycle blue morpho great place to visit feeders species lifecycle zoos belize owl nature export robin rainforest trees caracol
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 135 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

The butterfly farm was a small but awesome experience. Our guide was friendly and patient. He was super knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We were allowed to stay as long as we wanted and definitely worth the price! Also the hummingbirds were amazing

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Raffikz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic time with are visit , with the new owners have done a lot of work on the place since are last visit and what a transformation everyone was super friendly some amazing butterfly’s and also so many different kinds of hummingbird had a fantastic time if you come to Belize it is place to visit .

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Mst19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018

The ranch has just opened under new management. The staff were great as we were snowed the various stages the incubation takes. The butterfly house is large and being there later in the day the owl butterflies were active. We had butterflies even on our faces

The bonus are the hummingbirds. A covered viewing area has been built and you can sit and watch dozens of birds feeding and they fly within inches of you. I

Our driver had not been to this ranch before and he rated it the best in the area.I

Excellent value and a highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank Ivor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

We took quite a long drive from San Ignacio. The price in Lonely Planet was 20 blz dollars. When we arrived we found out that it’s actually 20 US per person. Only for Belizeans it would be 20 blz dollars.

We were on a budget so we left. The place didn’t look very professional. No signs where to go while on the property.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 329www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin G, Owner at Green Hills Butterfly Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

We have no control over any outdated information on Lonely Planet. Green Hills is under new ownership and has recently been extensively refurbished. We re-opened on November 1st.
The entire property is very well signed. The dedicated staff are well trained and thoroughly professional. Most visitors comment on what tremendous value for money their experience was at Green Hills.
We are a commited conservation operation, the admission charge barely covers the salaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

If you are in the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest area of Belize, don’t miss the Green Hills Butterfly Farm. Robin Greaves, the owner, has done a fabulous job creating indigenous butterfly and hummingbird habitat on his vast estate. You will be dazzled by the breathtaking beauty of his creatures. And you will see the stages of butterfly development from egg to butterfly. We just happened by one October day not realizing that Robin would not open until November 1st, yet he was a generous an interesting host—A British pilot with global experience, including various flying jobs in Africa with a lifelong interest in rare butterflies.

The property is a lush rainforest, providing opportunity to spot a wide variety of birds, including toucans. And his howler monkey tenants often stop by for a visit. It was an enchanting morning and we wanted to share our experience!

Nancy Antoon

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Discover191568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews