We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Barton Creek Cave
from $87.18
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
202
76
26
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
202
76
26
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike's place canoe trip extended tour unique experience mayan ceremonial stalactites and stalagmites rough road human sacrifice dry season an adventure river crossing complete darkness water level swimming hole rainy season human remains tour group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 313 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perhaps not as "well known" as the ATM Cave, I think Barton Creek is beautiful and interesting in its own way, and should not be missed. Although it does not contain many Mayan ruins (although our tour guide was able to point out a piece of skull and shards of pottery as we floated by), the cave is eerily beautiful, and is worth seeing. My fiance and I had the opportunity to visit the cave during the off-season, so we were the only people in the cave during our entire ride. We also visited after several days of rain, which stirred up a lot of bats inside the cave. It was actually pretty awesome, floating down the empty river with all the bats flying overhead, as our tour guide told us how the Mayans would use the cave in their rituals.

While this tour may frighten some young children, especially if you visit during the rainy season - as we were told the rain is what stirred up all the bats - it is a really unique tour, and the cave is incredibly beautiful. This is something definitely worth seeing.

*Quick note - some have mentioned this as well, but the only negative that I found here were that the required life jackets were absolutely revolting - smelled terrible and covered in mildew/mold. Would recommend bringing your own, if at all possible.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank AlexGrrrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took a horse ride (M.E.T) to Barton Creek so we could have an afternoon in the cave. The guide (Carlos) was interesting & clearly knew his cave! He could answer whatever we asked. The cave is a "wet" one which means a trip by canoe- this means you can't access the Mayan ceremonial areas, but the cave is quite atmospheric anyway. It is unlit but we were given 3 torches (triple redundancy) which was just as well as one went out. We were the only canoe in the cave, so really got the atmosphere- we saw 2 canoes leaving the cave as we arrived by horse. Don't know how representative this is as we went in "low season". You can also bathe in the pool at the entrance. A good cave for all ages. We had a packed lunch provided by the hotel, but you could buy food/ drink there.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank chaletaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our guide from Pooks Hill Lodge took us on our adventure here and I am very glad they did. Pooks hill provided our own life jackets which I greatly appreciated because the ones at Barton creek looked real dirty....

The cave is beautiful on the inside, and it is just a great experience to canoe through a cave. Very interesting...

I say keep your finger on the trigger because Barton Creek provides you with spotlights....Two out of the three of ours died, when the last person pulled their finger off their trigger we were left in the dark for 5 minutes before we could get the light back on....

but other than that it was great :)

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank stormdreamer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location of Barton Creek left us in awe every morning. It was like living in the jungle, bathing in the creek and only having few supplies, electricity only a few times a day. It was the perfect place to slip away from reality. Although the drive there was very long, we had heard it was a drive but we were not expecting that distance and also the sun went down on our way so we were driving in the dark, we were not sure if we were going to make it to our destination!
The only downfall was the expense of the meals and the activities they had available. I would suggest to bring snacks/ meals of your own because although the meals they provide are delicious they were a little pricey. Also one time for lunch (them knowing we did not have food of our own) they set up lunch for their family and did not ask if we were eating, then when we came up because we saw lunch was served they said "oh, your hungry?" and of course got us some food but it was a little awkward. Also they had a book of some day hikes to caves and such but they were really expensive - $40/pp? it was ridiculous to charge that much for a day hike. My boyfriend and I were budget conscious back packers so we did not sign up for anything.
But on another not there was lots of beautiful forest around that you could walk through (they said there was a path, that we tried but got a little lost so we turned back) and there are miles of orange trees so we picked oranges and made orange juice!
All in all, beautiful unique place to check out and relax for a day or two but gets a little boring by day 3 we were itching to leave!

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank leta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

David is an excellent tour guide. He is very knowledgeable and respectful. He is reliable and on time. His Barton creek cave tour was fun and the Pine Ridge excursion was very fun with a terrific waterfall and fresh water swimming pool.
His ATM and Tikal tour guides are equally great. I highly recommend David for your Belizean excursions.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Ginniraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews