We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Barton Creek Cave
from $87.18
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
202
76
26
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
202
76
26
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike's place canoe trip extended tour unique experience mayan ceremonial stalactites and stalagmites rough road human sacrifice dry season an adventure river crossing complete darkness water level swimming hole rainy season human remains tour group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 313 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing setting. The entrance to the cave is surreal and beautiful. The canoe trip was great for the first 15 minutes but then the guide turned off the lights for a minute to show how dark it gets and then it became more scary for the family than fun (we went with a 11 and 9 year old). The end of the cave has a low hanging part that you have to duck to get under and there was a bat there which added to the unsettling feel. This would be a piece of cake for the more adventurous types I am sure. We would have had more fun if we could have done a shorter version for a lower price. The swimming hole outside the cave looked great but we were ready to go by the time we got out of the cave. The drive in is an experience too...past a Mennonite farm and very bumpy roads. One way in will require four wheel drive as you need to cross a wide running stream. Suggest calling ahead or talking to someone that knows the area.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank 60ChrisM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Guide paddled me in supposedly 3000 feet, with good commentary. Some good formations. Mayan artifacts scant. Overpriced at US65$ per person for one hour; otherwise very good rating.

1  Thank GregoryS632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a cool and peaceful way to spend a hot afternoon. After driving down the usual bumpy roads, you are slowly paddled through the cave by or with a guide as he explains the various things you are seeing from bats to spider-scorpions to cave formations to Mayan artifacts. The artifacts are very limited in number and high up on some ledges so the guide must use a laser pointer and beam to point them out to you.

This was not an exciting experience, but it was much better than going cave tubing with several thousand cruise ships passengers. You can see more. The actual cave is more interesting, and it was very peaceful. The trip in the cave lasts about an hour, and then, you turn around and paddle back the same route for about an hour to exit the cave.

A nice cool way to spend an afternoon in the jungle.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank LibbyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This would suit those who might find the regular caving (ATM, tubing etc) a bit demanding. Even a frail non-swimmer could do this after an interesting off-road (also not demanding) drive for several miles through quite interesting scenery. Smallish canoes paddled by driver (usually) with high power light. Artefacts are essentially not seen (as usual all on ledges above), but its all very 'nice', with easy photography.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a very fun trip for our senior group. Some of us were worried about ATM so we were told to come here. I am so glad we did. Danny from Belize Nature Travel was an excellent guide of the caves. He shared the history of how the cave was used by the Mayans. The actual cave itself is amazing and I doubt I will ever experience anything quite like it again. This is a must for all and particuarly those with families or seniors who want a less strenuous cave experience.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank GoldCountry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews