We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
165
65
23
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
65
23
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike's place canoe trip mayan artifacts unique experience natural wonder human sacrifices history lesson life jackets river crossing an adventure bumpy ride zip line canoeing paddle stalactites bats skull
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mike's is awesome! Arranged a ride to get us from San Ignacio. The drive to Mike's is bumpy, but scenic. At Mike's, we met Jose our cave guide. He was amazing; very funny and knowledgeable! you don't need to bring anything but your camera on the canoe. They provide lights and pfds. Lunch at the restaurant there was delicious! Then we met Carlos y Carlos for zip lining. Less than a 10 min hike up to the platform. Carlos was very informative and friendly. It was a great time, great service, great experience!

Thank lindseypesek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We, pickup our firends at their guest house in San Ignacio, and drove 45 minutes to Barton Creek Cave.
We took our friend to visit Barton Creek Cave on the upper part of the Baton Creek Area passing nearby a Mennonite conservative community of Barton Creek.

We cross a creek to reach at the parking area where NICH booth is.
We secured our entrance fees and geared with life vest, lights,and canoe. We instructed rules and regulations of the site. We gave a brief history of this majestic cave. We then paddle our way onto the cavern of this beautiful cave system.
They happily expressed their preferences of doing Barton Creek Cave because it was easy and relaxed tour especially for James that had surgery on his hipbone.

Thank Javier Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

David has become a true friend of ours in a short time. David's Adventures can be found on the edge of the San Ignacio market. His big and loving smile drawn you into his store. We got to know David through our friends in San Ignacio. We, a young couple, decided to go to Barton Creek with David instead of the well-known and overtourist ATM Cave. We have never regretted that. David is the first guide to organize tours to Barton Creek, but perhaps even more important: David has fought for years to make Barton Creek a protected environment so that this living cave is protected every day in order to the cave can grow further. The ride to Barton Creek is an experience on itself: an hour through the jungle of Belize, driving through the landscape and the habitat of the melonites. David knows the melonites well and tells you beautiful stories about this unique community. At the cave you step into a canoe. The only thing you do next is enjoying the beautiful image of the cave and the breathtaking views. David himself spent 2.5 days in this cave and knows the ins and outs of the cave. He knows exactly where the earthenware / skeletons are and where you can or can not go. Everyone, if you want a truly unique experience with the most energetic and authentic guide, we recommend only one person: David.

2  Thank Tessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Barton Creek Cave was amazing and my favorite part of our trip to Belize! We did not do ATM so I cannot compare but I'm glad we chose BCC over ATM. It was more intimate as we did the extended tour which is only offered to guests staying at Mike's Place and I know we would've had more people had we done ATM. Highly recommend to anyone who has never gone spelunking and would like to try it. You do need to be in relatively good shape in my opinion for the extended tour for guests. There is swimming, hiking, rock climbing, etc. I'm hooked now! For those who want something more relaxing there is also a less intense experience on the regular tour made available to everyone. You will see Mayan artifacts, a skull and beautiful rock formations in the cave. So glad we did this!

1  Thank Ishita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Nice cave! Cold cave water makes for a refreshing Swim. Getting to Barton creek has its challenges. You must cross a river to get to Barton creek. It is low in dry season so vehicle can pass with ease. But in rainy season, the river rises and passing becomes difficult. It's nice to take a canoe in the cave and also swim the river which passes through the cave. All around a nice adventure if you are up for one.

Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Portillo tours conducted our group's cave-tubing experience. We enjoyed the help of our guides, the beautiful and clear water, the amazing caves

Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

This was our first cave in Belize and we loved it! We are family of four (2 teens) and we are not athletic enough (and I am too claustrophobic) for ATM but I found this cave captivating and just beautiful. We had a fantastic guide which can make or break a trip like this, but I am so sorry I cant remember if it was Andy or Edgar from Crystal Paradise Hotel. Our guide knew so much about Mayan history, lore and practices the cave seemed to come alive with his stories and my teens loved seeing the actual skull! We were the only ones in this cave so it was so quiet and calm and spiritual! Our guide had very strong lights (recommended!) so you could really see a lot of detail. And yes, the lights were turned off for a moment and it became darker than dark! I would highly recommend this cave! BTW because of the high ceilings I was able to handle it with no problems with claustrophobia!

1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We visited Barton Creek Cave with BZM Tours out of San Ignacio. We got a really remarkable experience. We departed and arrived before most other tours and hotels arrived. Holding the spotlight, our wonderful guide quietly and smoothly paddled us through the mysterious cave, pointing out artifacts and remains. At one point where many canoes turned around, we laid down flat to press on further going into the cave as far as possible, experiencing the mystery of complete darkness while getting a taste of this magical underworld of the Mayan people. This was one of the more memorable experiences of our trip to Belize!

1  Thank cliffordicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

You wear life vests. It's serene. Do it. Love it. Worth it. Your Guide will point out Mayan artifacts. Your kids will marvel at the human skull.

Thank fumbally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

A great introduction to Belize Caves viewed from an open canoe. We had decided to do this instead of ATM. Our guide (Carlos) paddled us in and gave a great insight into the cave system which is 8km long but this tour goes a maximum of 1km in,beyond which passage by canoe is not possible. When the portable lights are switched off you get to experience the darkness which is something else.
We also had Lunch here which was ok.
The trip to Barton Creek is along a long bumpy track with a water crossing so 4x4 highly recommended.
We also had lunch there which was tasty.
My wife,who wasnt keen on going into the cave spent the hour watching hummingbirds.

1  Thank Shaun536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews