We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing”
Review of Barton Creek Cave

Barton Creek Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Full-Day Barton Creek Cave with Optional Zipline, Butterfly Farm Or Big Rock...
Ranked #13 of 70 things to do in Cayo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not really knowing what to expect from this adventure, I was in awe by the incredible beauty of the Barton Creek Cave. Our guide Hugh from The Lodge at Chaa Creek told the fascinating history of this ancient Maya site with a passion that was compelling.
We were very lucky to be there early as we had the cave to ourselves.
At one point we turned off our head lamps and in front of us was a perfect pyramid of light, a certainty of a presence of long ago surrounded each of us.
The grounds surrounding the cave were very well maintained.
I highly recommend this trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank noire48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    62
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unforgettable but a little unnerving.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing setting. The entrance to the cave is surreal and beautiful. The canoe trip was great for the first 15 minutes but then the guide turned off the lights for a minute to show how dark it gets and then it became more scary for the family than fun (we went with a 11 and 9 year old). The end of the cave has a low hanging part that you have to duck to get under and there was a bat there which added to the unsettling feel. This would be a piece of cake for the more adventurous types I am sure. We would have had more fun if we could have done a shorter version for a lower price. The swimming hole outside the cave looked great but we were ready to go by the time we got out of the cave. The drive in is an experience too...past a Mennonite farm and very bumpy roads. One way in will require four wheel drive as you need to cross a wide running stream. Suggest calling ahead or talking to someone that knows the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice paddle, some good formations, but overpriced”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Guide paddled me in supposedly 3000 feet, with good commentary. Some good formations. Mayan artifacts scant. Overpriced at US65$ per person for one hour; otherwise very good rating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
424 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Relaxing way for anyone to enjoy the caves.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a cool and peaceful way to spend a hot afternoon. After driving down the usual bumpy roads, you are slowly paddled through the cave by or with a guide as he explains the various things you are seeing from bats to spider-scorpions to cave formations to Mayan artifacts. The artifacts are very limited in number and high up on some ledges so the guide must use a laser pointer and beam to point them out to you.

This was not an exciting experience, but it was much better than going cave tubing with several thousand cruise ships passengers. You can see more. The actual cave is more interesting, and it was very peaceful. The trip in the cave lasts about an hour, and then, you turn around and paddle back the same route for about an hour to exit the cave.

A nice cool way to spend an afternoon in the jungle.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level Contributor
254 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Nice, peaceful, undemanding...”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This would suit those who might find the regular caving (ATM, tubing etc) a bit demanding. Even a frail non-swimmer could do this after an interesting off-road (also not demanding) drive for several miles through quite interesting scenery. Smallish canoes paddled by driver (usually) with high power light. Artefacts are essentially not seen (as usual all on ledges above), but its all very 'nice', with easy photography.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton Creek Cave also viewed

 

Been to Barton Creek Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing