We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful drive”

Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Rio On Pool, Rio Frio Cave and Caracol Maya Ruin Tour
Ranked #29 of 70 things to do in Cayo
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

A beautiful drive thru the pines on your way to Caracol. Some really nice areas and rivers to cross. Good portion was burned down from lightning strikes and nature is healing itself so don't expect a lush landscape in some places.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some OK scenery”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nobody around for sure, but apart from some scenic river crossings, soso. Now if you like birding, that is a different story.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia-and-Gerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above the rainforest”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Gorgeous rivers and falls, especially Big Rock Falls! It's a steep hike up and down, but we were the only people there. If you have someone who doesn't mind carrying the provisions up and down a 15% vertical grade, it's a great place for lunch!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mosassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillisburg, Nj
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great preserve and fantastic birding”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We went to Mountain Pine Ridge Preserve with Eric Tut (from Paradise Expeditions) on April 13, 2012. Due to our limited time in Belize (and also this is our first birding trip in Belize), we visited El Pilar in the morning and Mountain Pine Ridge Preserve in the afternoon.

Eric did a superb job not only as a birding guide, a naturalist, but also a proud Belizean who will do his best to preserve his country's natural resources. He is an extrordinary young man who deserves a lot of recognition.

We stopped at an "Eric's special" spot for hawk watching (be honest, I can't even tell you how we got there, the road is rough and there are smaller dirt roads everywhere - get Eric to show you the wonder!).

As a Hawk Watch volunteer in New Jersey,we found that doing some hawk watch in Mountain Pine Ridge is a fantastic experience. We spend some time study the hawk in flight, behavior and compare all the exotic raptors to our usual North American raptors. I finally got my "Scissor-tailed Kite" with every angle (top down, down up, and perch). We also enjoyed King Vulture, Black Hawk, White Hawk, among many others.

After the amazing hawk watching, we visited 1000-ft fall where my daughter and I purchased some souvenir at Pedro Mai's station. We saw black-headed siskin, hepatic tanager, a magnificant blackburnian warbler, and an amazing Grace's warbler around the station. At the fall's look out, Eric quickly spotted OBF (orange breasted falcon). It is amazing!

Most amazing thing is the Stygian Owl and its nest site that Erica found. We had a great look at the owl and spent time studying its facial pattern and behavior before we concluded the day.

We greatly appreciate Eric's excellent bird guiding and we will be back and spend the entire day in Mountain Pine Ridge.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mraquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous jungle”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great birding, fabulous waterfalls, peaceful and serene.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryElizabeth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing